Dempster and Sainter K

I was a skeptical hippo when it came to Dempster.
But I am now a full blown convert. So hats off to Sainter K.
I don't think its so much Sean improving but the coaches finally understanding his best position and his strengths and weaknesses and playing to his strengths. When he got to the club the coaches seemed to think he was a genuine utility who could play mid fwd and back. In reality only very few AFL players in history can fill those rules well. Kouta/Hird/BJ etc.

Sean was often lost when played fwd and in the middle.
Either way - he has certainly secured a spot in our core side. Probably one of the first picked these days.

Once the coaches were comfortable with his position - then the man himself grew confident in himself.

A lesson for all I think.

I can't believe how good he has been this year.

And always think of SK when he does something great.

Will be interested to see next years prediction.

Re: Dempster and Sainter K

Con Gorozidis wrote:I was a skeptical hippo when it came to Dempster.
But I am now a full blown convert. So hats off to Sainter K.
I don't think its so much Sean improving but the coaches finally understanding his best position and his strengths and weaknesses and playing to his strengths. When he got to the club the coaches seemed to think he was a genuine utility who could play mid fwd and back. In reality only very few AFL players in history can fill those rules well. Kouta/Hird/BJ etc.

Sean was often lost when played fwd and in the middle.
Either way - he has certainly secured a spot in our core side. Probably one of the first picked these days.

Once the coaches were comfortable with his position - then the man himself grew confident in himself.

A lesson for all I think.
+1 con mate +1

mentioned before

when dempster came, I couldn't stand him.

Now, well RL has done it again and dempster is gunning it for the saints.

Dan Warna wrote:mentioned before

In 2010, SainterK prdicted that Jimmy would become a regular. He did it agian in 2011. Wonder who he thinks will bob up in 2012?

I have always thought of him as a "quiet achiever." I think that some of his mis-kicks from time-to-time have spooked posters. Once people have cottoned on to the jobs that he does and the "one percenters," he has come up in supporters' opinions.

Well done Sean, keep up the good footy. :D

"Please step into my office"

Dan Warna wrote:mentioned before

In 2010, SainterK prdicted that Jimmy would become a regular. He did it agian in 2011. Wonder who he thinks will bob up in 2012?
SainterK is rarely (if ever) wrong... therefore probably unsurprisingly not a 'he'! :wink:

I've always thought he was a good player, so no surprises for me!

NEXT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

I love it Joffa :lol: :lol: :lol:

Roo on game say today said Dempster was highly respected by the players.

mick13

fingers wrote:Roo on game say today said Dempster was highly respected by the players.
He looks like the type that just goes about everything quietly and dilligently. And is now reaping the rewards.

IIRC a number of people didn't have him in our best 22 at the start of the year. Proved them very wrong.

Not sure how many games Schneider and Dempster have played for us...Must be around 60 for Schneider and 40 for Dempster. But yeah, I reckon we're gonna get 100+ games out of both of them.

Not a bad trade.

fingers wrote:Roo on game say today said Dempster was highly respected by the players.
Video up
http://au.sports.yahoo.com/afl/gameday/
under weekend wrap
Matthew Richardson and Nick Riewoldt join the boys to discuss the best and worst of the weekend footy results. ( al I get under Link)

sorry I can't work out how to isolate the direct link

if anyone can give me a hint because I wish save this one

InkerSaint

In one of Ross' interviews on 3AW around 3 weeks ago, Dermott Brereton mentioned that he had thought Sean didn't belong in the team after the round 9 Hawks game but had since produced an amazing turnaround in form. Ross replied that Dempster was an elite trainer and would be top 3 or 4 at any club in the AFL.

Skills are a funny thing. There are very few players who look good when their confidence is down, and Sean had plenty of company at the start of the season in that regard and indeed was nowhere near the worst of the bunch.

Where's this week's obligatory thread about the club needing a new kicking coach?

To Sean's absolute credit he has become a vital contributor, and to SainterK's credit she called it early. Kudos.

Not really surprised by his improvement. He was becoming a really good player before he did his knee.

It's good to see him getting back to that form.

Q5

Dempster has now played more games for us (63) than the Swans (54), and Schneids is close to it - 98 for Swans, 87 for us. Another season, and we get father son with young Kobe! Love both of these players and what they've brought to our club.

Sean's role for our 1st final is already earmarked - Goodes

Dempster always looks like he is trying but looks so deadpan while doing it your not sure what he's thinking. He has really never been bad just maybe a little robotic looking at times, he needs to run around high-fiving and punching the ground a bit. Took saints fans a while to adopt him because of the lack of animation I think.

Our season really started badly with the close Geelong loss and then limping to a draw and a knee to Lenny. We looked stunned after Lenny went down and our midfield had nothing to stop the ball flowing through it. All our backs looked under enormous pressure. Our turn around which has allowed Dempster, Goddard, etc to get back to their best is a solid contribution from the mids.

RW&B

PJ wrote:Sean's role for our 1st final is already earmarked - Goodes
I think he is a perfect matchup for O'Keefe. Wouldn't mind two Dempsters!

"I'm a better coach when Nick Riewoldt is in the side" - Ross Lyon 2007
True Blue Sainter

Always liked Dempster.

Is close to the most reliable player on our team. Will do his job and try his utmost each and every week without fail! Keep on going Seany D!

The Saints are coming!

Has had a good year.

Can anyone remember how he went in rounds 1-5?

He was freaking terrible. Bad as bad could be bad.

Good on him for digging himself out of the hole.

He was never as bad as some on here rated him back in 2009-10, but he's not as good as some on here are suggesting either.

Let's face it, he probably wouldn't get a regular first team game at any of the other top 8 clubs. Gwilt, on the other hand, probably would get a game at several other leading clubs.

Dempster was a premiership winner at the Swans and they let him go more or less on a free transfer to us. I doubt that either they or us have paid him the big $$$.

He's super fit, he's experienced, he positions himself well. But, let's face it, he's a tallish player who can't play tall, his skills are ordinary, he isn't quick and has little physical presence. He's ok. That's it.

He's a real good stopper.

That little Boomer can do a lot of damage unless someone wears him like a glove. Not only did he hardly get a sniff, he did his na na.

Great effort by Dempster

avid

He's always been a tight stopper, but now he's playing positive football while he's doing it!
I hated his negative style.
Can't believe I'm saying this -- but now I'm loving him too!
Is there a true, inside story about his change of mind-set, or are we all just speculating in wonderment?