Player Loyalty and character has been our strength

So slowly but surely we are finding out that everything was not rosy between the Board, or at least MN and RL. I just hope this doesn't extend into affecting the relationships between the club and players. Lyon seemed quite adept at forming and maintaining "the bubble". With some of the comments coming from the players in the days after his defection, you can't help thinking they are on the ex-coach's side.

I just hope it doesn't result in defections or requests to be traded. The great strength of this group over the past decade has been its unity and obvious commitment to one another. No defections despite huge offers and pressure from rival clubs. They made a pact and they have stuck to their word. I just hope that bond hasn't been weakened by the heart-breaking events of last week. Roo, Dal, BJ , Kosi and Joey have all been seriously courted by others in the past, but have stayed for less because of the word that RL dared not mention, "loyalty"! I wonder how they felt when he dismissed that concept as irrelevant in his initial presser.

The most important group in any football club is the players. Coaches, administrators, Boards and other support staff are always coming and going and can be replaced swiftly, mainly because there is an enormous pool of candidates ready and eager to enter the industry. Without the players though, there is no show and they are the ones who sacrifice the most, both physically and psychologically every week.

The way you get players into your club, the restrictions on their movement and the investment that is made in their development, means you have to be a lot more patient and prudent in your dealings with them. Many take 4-5 years of nurturing before they reach their potential (BJ for eg). After all the criticism of the club in the past few days, I wanted to point out the one thing that has become so good about it and makes me feel some confidence in the future is that we still have a talented list of players, and a magnificent leadership group that will hopefully stand tall in this latest so-called crisis. I just hope the defection of RL has not torn the fabric of that marvelous group.

good post.

Maybe, just maybe, it will all be a motivating force for the playing group to stick around (dependant on Pelchen's call!) and shove it up Lyin'!

Considering the playing group had the motivation of a wet sponge for half of this season, it's not like they have been "up" for 3 consectutive years.

They've had their mental break, and should be ready to go full steam ahead come round 1 vs the Shockers in 2012.

saintspremiers wrote:Maybe, just maybe, it will all be a motivating force for the playing group to stick around (dependant on Pelchen's call!) and shove it up Lyin'!
My first impressions were, RL was putting himself under enormous pressure, and taken it off us to some extent. Also that it could galvanise the playing group, not from a 'shove it up Ross' perspective, but that gave a lot of guys the chance (pending Pelchen, as you mentioned) to re-set and start again, without the added pressure of reproducing 2009/2010 every year. I hope it does.

The sanctity of "The Bubble" has been attacked by a really, really massively big Prick.

Now we will see if our internal character is strong enough to withstand being deflated by this Great Big Prick's attack.

degruch wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:Maybe, just maybe, it will all be a motivating force for the playing group to stick around (dependant on Pelchen's call!) and shove it up Lyin'!
My first impressions were, RL was putting himself under enormous pressure, and taken it off us to some extent. Also that it could galvanise the playing group, not from a 'shove it up Ross' perspective, but that gave a lot of guys the chance (pending Pelchen, as you mentioned) to re-set and start again, without the added pressure of reproducing 2009/2010 every year. I hope it does.
If you're expecting that we will do better becuase you think there is no longer any pressure on us then we have buckley's chance mate.

degruch wrote:
If you're expecting that we will do better becuase you think there is no longer any pressure on us then we have buckley's chance mate.
Did I say we'll play better? I just want to keep some players. Are you reading between the lines again?

After all that has gone on and a re-defining of the list known to be coming up, it would be hard to expect that the Players were not having a think about their situations.

The good news is that the saints players have stuck together well over past years, so hopefully, the top 6 will stay for the next couple of years, to develop a refreshed team around.

However, I think that the Lyon, Scully events have changed the landscape a lot in people's minds. The issue of "money" is now about to raise its head as the major influencer in players' moving.

Junction Oval wrote:However, I think that the Lyon, Scully events have changed the landscape a lot in people's minds. The issue of "money" is now about to raise its head as the major influencer in players' moving.
I think money will always be a motivator, for people who are chasing it...you haven't got forever to collect in AFL. But, just as I'm happy with my job, my boss, the short trip to work, stability, etc. and don't go chasing a high-flying career, players will be the same too...I don't reckon it'll change anything.

degruch wrote:
Did I say we'll play better? I just want to keep some players. Are you reading between the lines again?
No I'm not but becuase Ross isn't around, players will stay becuase there isn't the added pressure? Is that what you are saying?

degruch wrote:
No I'm not but becuause Ross isn't around, players will stay becuase there isn't the added pressure? Is that what you are saying?
Not because of Ross, because the weight of expectation has gone - the expectation that every season will be 2009. Remember Monty's 'free swing' comment in regard to the finals...they feel the pressure of that expectation, now it is openly acknowledged we're starting again. Additionally, players roles may change, some will get new opportunities, a fresh start. Sure, some aren't going to look on this as a positive, some are going to leave, but I reckon it could also galvanise the core group.

I'll let ya know in a few months.

degruch wrote:
No I'm not but becuause Ross isn't around, players will stay becuase there isn't the added pressure? Is that what you are saying?
Not because of Ross, because the weight of expectation has gone - the expectation that every season will be 2009. Remember Monty's 'free swing' comment in regard to the finals...they feel the pressure of that expectation, now it is openly acknowledged we're starting again. Additionally, players roles may change, some will get new opportunities, a fresh start. Sure, some aren't going to look on this as a positive, some are going to leave, but I reckon it could also galvanise the core group.

I'm sorry but I don't understand your post.

Monty's free swing? It didn't even get us past week one.

You're assuming that supporters and players expectations are alligned. How would you know what the expectation is and what else is going on unless you are inside the club?

If players can't hack pressure of expectation (whatever that is) then they should leave too.

degruch wrote:

You're assuming that supporters and players expectations are alligned. How would you know what the expectation is and what else is going on unless you are inside the club?

If players can't hack pressure of expectation (whatever that is) then should leave too.
:lol: Mate, if you don't get the concept of the pressure of expectation (as per Monty's comments) then I don't think anyone's going to get through.

You have fun sticking up for Ross, I'll continue to state some positives the rest of us can hang some hope on.

degruch wrote:

If players can't hack pressure of expectation (whatever that is) then should leave too.
:lol: Mate, if you don't get the concept of the pressure of expectation (as per Monty's comments) then I don't think anyone's going to get through.

You have fun sticking up for Ross, I'll continue to state some positives the rest of us can hang some hope on.
yeah, right...players preform much better when there is no expectation on them. Just ask the four teams fighting it out in the Prelims.

Good for you for sticking to your guns and thinking that you know exactly what's in players heads and hearts and what makes them tick.

SaintPav wrote:Good for you for sticking to your guns and thinking that you know exactly what's in players heads and hearts and what makes them tick.
Adversity has NEVER ever played a part in bringing a playing group together, you're right.

Now we know Sports Psychology isn't your bag...so (dare I ask) your thoughts are?

You believe the fresh start will have no benefit to the playing group whatsoever?

You believe the core group will split over Lyon's departure?

You believe we are expected to finish top 4 next year?

It's pretty easy to take pot shots at others when you don't seem to quite know what they're talking about, where's the discussion then?

PS: Monty alluded to the fact that the playing group was happier going into the finals series without the pressure of the last 2 seasons, with the pressure off it would be like having a 'free swing' at the opposition...his words, not mine. In retrospect, I'm sure he'd rather have won a few more games and got the double chance...but it does prove my point.
Last edited by degruch on Wed 21 Sep 2011 5:58pm, edited 2 times in total.

I'm not convinced that what the players (Riewoldt, Goddard & DalSanto) have said publicly since last Thursday is a 100% reflection of their thoughts. I am sure they all would have been advised what to say by our Media Dept !!

degruch wrote:
SaintPav wrote:Good for you for sticking to your guns and thinking that you know exactly what's in players heads and hearts and what makes them tick.
degruch wrote: ...and (dare I ask) your thoughts are?
Fisrt time your bringing these issues up.
degruch wrote: You believe the fresh start will have no benefit to the playing group whatsoever?
Hope so.
degruch wrote: You believe the core group will split over Lyon's departure?
Hope not but don't think so. BJ leaving is a big risk. But that could work in our favour too.
degruch wrote: You believe we are expected to finish top 4 next year?
Obviously no but that doesn't mean it will help or hinder us. BJ said he wanted a coach who would put them under the pump.
degruch wrote: It's pretty easy to take pot shots at others (especially when you don't seem to quite know what they're talking about), where's the discussion then?
How's that taking a pot shot? You're being very sensetive but you make statements like they are fact when you are just guessing.
degruch wrote: PS: Monty alluded to the fact that the playing group was happier going into the finals series without the pressure of the last 2 seasons, with the pressure off it would be like having a 'free swing' at the oppositions...his words, not mine. In retrospect, I'm sure he'd rather have won a few more games and got the double chance...but it does prove my point.
He was trying to spin it into a positive because there would have been pressure on them regardless. It's a bullsh!t standard line.

The pressure of expectation is a myth becuase it can't be proved anyway. If what you are saying is right, well there was no pressure on in the GF in 2010 as the dirty filth were massive favourites but we still didn't win. Players just wanted the chance for redemption. They climbed the mountain after a gruelling year but lost. They were mentally gone after that.

I know the admin's got a bit on it's mind at the mo. What with finding a coach, finding support staff, finding sponsors etc.

But with what has happened in the past 6 - 7 days, including the departures yesterday, I believe it's very important that the club grab Lyon's infamous words and run with it.

Everything has changed so quickly. We need to get the players and the fans excited by what lies ahead.

Acknowledge it. Embrace it.

Yes it is the end of an era. But it's the start of a new one that we hope will prove even more successful.

2012 - The New Era Starts Now!

Dr Spaceman wrote:I know the admin's got a bit on it's mind at the mo. What with finding a coach, finding support staff, finding sponsors etc.

But with what has happened in the past 6 - 7 days, including the departures yesterday, I believe it's very important that the club grab Lyon's infamous words and run with it.

Everything has changed so quickly. We need to get the players and the fans excited by what lies ahead.

Acknowledge it. Embrace it.

Yes it is the end of an era. But it's the start of a new one that we hope will prove even more successful.

2012 - The New Era Starts Now!
Sounds like too much expectation to me. Players may fold. I'm really worrried.

ShakenNotStirred

Ball left for $$$. :roll:

Sing it loud and sing it proud but most of all hang around for this club will rise to claim the prize and then we will realise its not such a surprise. :-)

degruch wrote: It's pretty easy to take pot shots at others (especially when you don't seem to quite know what they're talking about), where's the discussion then?
How's that taking a pot shot? You're being very sensetive but you make statements like they are fact when you are just guessing.
Nah mate, you've been stirring the pot on this forum with your Ross Orgasm, and you've had little input until now...don't pull the old 'very sensitive' line again, last time your kebab got all soggy from sooking into it. :P

degruch wrote:
Nah mate, you've been stirring the pot on this forum with your Ross Orgasm, and you've had little input until now...don't pull the old 'very sensitive' line again, last time your kebab got all soggy from sooking into it. :P
God, you’re a stubborn little pr!ck...Input? Did you see my previous post.

Pressure of expectation....blahhhhhh....you watch way too much Game Day. It's a cliché now piss off you snot nose ignoramus.

degruch wrote: Mate, if you don't get the concept of the pressure of expectation (as per Monty's comments) then I don't think anyone's going to get through.

Here here!!

The Ross supporters were also applauding and cheering that Ross recruited Pattison at end of '09 and Polo at end of 2010, but...................... put yourselves in the shoes of Roo, BJ, Dal and Lenny at the end of 2010...How would you feel when you learnt about some of the names coming to the club...Do you think it would've been pleasing for them that Rossy recruited another recycled player???

Oh, and the Ross supporters also think that it was mainly due to Polo that the team performed well in the latter half of h&a, not the brilliance of the core group and the work ethic of the youngsters including Steven.

Scollop wrote:
degruch wrote: Mate, if you don't get the concept of the pressure of expectation (as per Monty's comments) then I don't think anyone's going to get through.

Here here!!

The Ross supporters were also applauding and cheering that Ross recruited Pattison at end of '09 and Polo at end of 2010, but...................... put yourselves in the shoes of Roo, BJ, Dal and Lenny at the end of 2010...How would you feel when you learnt about some of the names coming to the club...Do you think it would've been pleasing for them that Rossy recruited another recycled player???

Oh, and the Ross supporters also think that it was mainly due to Polo that the team performed well in the latter half of h&a, not the brilliance of the core group and the work ethic of the youngsters including Steven.
yep, I said all that and more.

Scollop wrote:

Here here!!

yep, I said all that and more.