I don't hate the Cats anymore

Gotta love a team that beats the Pies in a GF!

HSVKing

I think it was just Thompson.

Soon as he left, I thought, "hey, they're alright!"

They walk amongst us...

HSVKing wrote:I think it was just Thompson.

I think that this is sweeter than them beating the Pies (only just).

The smug p***k Thompson realizing that he is not as good as he thinks he is. He tried to compromise their team by pushing their best player out and then up and leaves himself. Coincidence? I don't think so.

Re: I don't hate the Cats anymore

saintspremiers wrote:Gotta love a team that beats the Pies in a GF!
We already do.

Dal_Santos_Gal

HSVKing wrote:I think it was just Thompson.

Yep and I can't stand Essendon because that smug git is there.

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€

dont reckon there as cocky

I like them better when they're not beating us in a GF…

Still bitter about the father-son years… cost us a flag in the end IMO

Not the clubs fault though, good breeders!

I still hate em.

Nah, still hate Geelong. Just not as much as the Filth.

They broke our hearts in 2009. Only two years ago. I still hate them for 1991 elimination final. That filthy dog act of Ablett Sr's, knocking out Burkey in that match encapsulates my whole dislike for Geelong.

However, I used to enjoy the train trips down to Kardinia Park if we played them there. Their fans were like the rural version of Filth supporters though.

I just dislike them less than I dislike the pies.

tweedaletomanning

They are the lesser of two evils

I've had some miserable days at the footy thanks to the Geelong Football Club (particularly one day in 2002 at Kardinia Park and another in 09) some of their supporters were quite cocky, but compared to the whole psyche of THAT club, they are almost worthy of being my second team!
No, I don't "hate" Geelong, I envy their success, and respect the way in which they took their whole organisation by the bootstraps and dragged themselves into the position that they occupy now. There is absolutely NO benefit in simply "hating" Geelong, rather than that mode of thinking we need to examine most scrupulously the manner in which they transformed themselves, and from there search out the most efficient methodology for EMULATING them.
I respect Geelong in the same way in which I respected the Brisbane Lions and the way in which they transformed themselves as clubs!

HardSaint

Nup I hate 'em equally

Right down to that surly cats supporter production manager I used to have to deal with at a printers we used to use.
Just didnt know when to shut up, and always pushed it too far. Thought of himself as a tough guy, but carried on like a child

We stopped using that printing firm in October 2009

I remember trekking out to Kardinia Park and almosr getting into a fight with Sheep shagger fans for booing Daryl Sommers when tossing the coin - jeezus you inbreds, get a sense of humour

Our Banner's flying high from dawn to dark
I couldn't give a F***

Oh I think you give more than a little "F***" about the "banner flying high" at Kardinia Park mate :wink: :lol: :lol:

DK27

Up until the GF I hated both clubs the most of all other clubs in the league. I particularly disliked how Milburn, Mooney, Ablett and Chapman always staged for frees. Remember Milburn claiming to have touched the ball in the goal square in 09 GF? Last Saturday I saw none of it. just a totally professional side working hard as a group with belief.
I think the new coach has laid down the law on this staging issue and it has improved the team as they focus on what they can control and nothing else.

I have new found respect for the Cats!

Ross Lyon brought a similar approach to St Kilda. I hope our new coach continues this. Never complain about a decision, unpiring in general or the MRP decisions. Just get on with the game. Under Thomas we were constantly bleating about these issues and it gets you no where and wastes a lot of emotional energy.

DK27 SPOT-ON!!! Thats what I'm talking about, Geelong failed to make finals in 2006 and the whole house of cards seemed poised to collapse under the weight of off-field scandals (Steve Johnson's antics, Bomber Thompson's (ALLEGED) extra curricular activities, etc etc) The club took responsibility for its situation and conducted a brutally honest review of its entire operations, the result; the beginnings of the most successful period in its history! Now I LOVE the St Kilda football club, but that love and loyalty does not make me blind to, or not respectful of, the achievemnts of other clubs.