Harvs on 3AW

Did anyone else hear the interview by Gerald Healy and Beaver with Banger on 3AW this evening, If you didnt hear it do yourself a favour and listen to it when it comes on line. Was about 6.45pm. You will never doubt the great mans love and respect for the Saints. Will one day return.

he's going to be on SEN tomorrow afternoon..

Re: Harvs on 3AW

tony74 wrote:Did anyone else hear the interview by Gerald Healy and Beaver with Banger on 3AW this evening, If you didnt hear it do yourself a favour and listen to it when it comes on line. Was about 6.45pm. You will never doubt the great mans love and respect for the Saints. Will one day return.
I heard Gerard Healy. Is he any relation to Gerald ?:lol:

Saintbrat. I know you are really good at providing links for audio's etc. Try to link it if you can. The wife and I listened to it and it really was a special interview. It made you certain of his feeling for the Saints and his understanding and non bitterness of the coaching decision

tony74 wrote:Saintbrat. I know you are really good at providing links for audio's etc. Try to link it if you can. The wife and I listened to it and it really was a special interview. It made you certain of his feeling for the Saints and his understanding and non bitterness of the coaching decision
3AW are not as good as SEN or MMM- they don't update till the techies ' gets around to it the next day-if lucky...

will if i see it- although stkildathunda will probably get to it before I get a chance- unfortunately I need to work :wink: although some days..................

st sandy

The interview was great. For 5 minutes we listened to Harves discuss his love affair with the saints. He is one of us no doubt. I agree with you Tony, it sounds as though he will be back one day. Did not mention his new employer at all. Fantastic

Something that surprised me was Harves comments that "too much was read into his decision to progress his coaching career elsewhere". What...the media jumping on a non-story to make anti St Kilda headlines!!. Come on Robert surely this cannot be true.

st sandy wrote:The interview was great. For 5 minutes we listened to Harves discuss his love affair with the saints. He is one of us no doubt. I agree with you Tony, it sounds as though he will be back one day. Did not mention his new employer at all. Fantastic

Something that surprised me was Harves comments that "too much was read into his decision to progress his coaching career elsewhere". What...the media jumping on a non-story to make anti St Kilda headlines!!. Come on Robert surely this cannot be true.
as I noted in another thread- no matter how hard he may try the fact that he was 'supposedly' dissapppointed - was out there for several days before he commented and therefore for some journo's that's the fact...
maybe if he does enough interviews and reinforces it enough they will change their minds

this is also one area that Harves did need to practice... A senior coach needs to work with and react quickly to 'perception' with fact...or close to.

mcadam05

here he is if you can over look the fact this is Collingwood TV its pretty good stuff

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx

st sandy wrote:The interview was great. For 5 minutes we listened to Harves discuss his love affair with the saints. He is one of us no doubt. I agree with you Tony, it sounds as though he will be back one day. Did not mention his new employer at all. Fantastic

what bothers me about the whole thing, is thsat it took 2 weeks for robert to say anything. he just let Stkilda 'hang' in the media. he could have stopped the innuendo 1 week ago ! but nup he just let media make too much of it.!

not a great start Robert!

Just reckon too many ppl on here were too quick to jump all over him and label him a sook. The man played 380 odd games for us, and not once put himself before the team. Suddenly his personality changed over night and he's a sook? :?

a guy rang in afterwoods on 3awand said that if rob harvey wanted to become a coach he should have become a coach for Sandringham. that me moved to collingwood only for the money. Being an assistant to Buckley would be similar to being an assistant to Watters. both young and inexperienced. except Watters has at least coached his own team for 2 years.

and what could he learn from buckley? being one of 8 assitant coaches?

saintly wrote:a guy rang in afterwoods on 3awand said that if rob harvey wanted to become a coach he should have become a coach for Sandringham. that me moved to collingwood only for the money. Being an assistant to Buckley would be similar to being an assistant to Watters. both young and inexperienced. except Watters has at least coached his own team for 2 years.

He may not learn much from Buckley but he will be part of a highly professional, hugely resourced club that is likely to be successful during his tenure.

Don't have a problem with it at all. Absolute legend who deserves all our support as he continues in the second stage of his football career.

And as to why he didn't speak up earlier. Maybe Rob just thinks the media shouldn't dictate the timing of such things. And maybe he didn't want to take the focus off his beloved club and its new coach.

saintly wrote:a guy rang in afterwoods on 3awand said that if rob harvey wanted to become a coach he should have become a coach for Sandringham. that me moved to collingwood only for the money. Being an assistant to Buckley would be similar to being an assistant to Watters. both young and inexperienced. except Watters has at least coached his own team for 2 years.

So are you saying that you agree with this 'man' or do you have an opinion on it?

Since when has Harvey appeared money orientated? If he was he probably could have left the saints and played in far more successful teams for far more money like Greg Williams did. Greg Williams (whilst a champion player) is a renound knob.

The Fireman wrote:http://media.mytalk.com.au/3AW/AUDIO/26 ... Replay.mp3

scroll through till you find it
drag scroll point to 28 min mark

Thanks Saintbrat. Well worth a listen and I thought better than the SEN interview. No doubt the great man will return home when club and Banger are ready

Megsie

why is it a given Harvey WILL return one day ??

Maybe we have a new coach who will coach us successfully for many years.

I'm tired of "Harves will return one day" bul.....t!
You didn't have to leave Harvey as you did have a 2 yr contract to run.
Going to be Buckleys understudy doesn't sit well with us.

In the calm light of day I think his decision makes complete sense.
Whether or not he learns more or less at the Pies is a bit moot.
In the footy game perceptions are very important - and if he geniunely has ambitions to be a senior coach there was a risk that if he stayed at the saints he will be pigeon-holed as a 'saints legend" rather than a serious senior coach candidate. So i can understand his thinking.

Con Gorozidis wrote:In the calm light of day I think his decision makes complete sense.
Whether or not he learns more or less at the Pies is a bit moot.
In the footy game perceptions are very important - and if he geniunely has ambitions to be a senior coach there was a risk that if he stayed at the saints he will be pigeon-holed as a 'saints legend" rather than a serious senior coach candidate. So i can understand his thinking.
Exactly.

And if we accept he needs to get out, for his career, do we expect to dictate where he goes? Does he need to get our okay re his new employer?

And even if he does, where does he end up? We hate all the other clubs don't we?

Give the guy a bloody break.

Some of you are acting like he's left the Saints to play for another club :roll:

hungry for a premiership

Robert Harvey is an all-time St.Kilda legend and NOTHING he does from here on in will ever change that. Good luck to him in all his future endevours.

Having said that, as much as I admire the great man, I've gotta say that I don't think he's cut out to be the head-coach of a football team. A specialist coach, yes, absolutely, but a head coach needs a certain something, call it mongrel, call it boldness or whatever you like, that I just think Harvey lacks. The best thing he could have done, IMHO, to improve his ability to be a head coach is take control of Sandringham, get a feel for leading a group. He could've got pretty much the same knowledge of coaching systems etc that he'll get from Collingwood that he could have got from St.Kilda.

I love the man but don't think head-coaching is as natural to him as gathering 30+ possessions on the field.

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

hungry for a premiership wrote:Robert Harvey is an all-time St.Kilda legend and NOTHING he does from here on in will ever change that. Good luck to him in all his future endevours.

Having said that, as much as I admire the great man, I've gotta say that I don't think he's cut out to be the head-coach of a football team. A specialist coach, yes, absolutely, but a head coach needs a certain something, call it mongrel, call it boldness or whatever you like, that I just think Harvey lacks. The best thing he could have done, IMHO, to improve his ability to be a head coach is take control of Sandringham, get a feel for leading a group. He could've got pretty much the same knowledge of coaching systems etc that he'll get from Collingwood that he could have got from St.Kilda.

I love the man but don't think head-coaching is as natural to him as gathering 30+ possessions on the field.
i agree with you. the best thing he could have done was go and coach a club like in the VFL, Sanfl, WA etc. this just gives him more assistant experience, less