Did we do good??

out of 10

7 becuase that is how many we drafted.

somewhere between 0 and 10
no idea until 3 years

Re: Did we do good??

Moccha wrote:out of 10
How could anyone possibly know. Will tell you in 6 years.

I'm happy considering the picks we had ... Wilkes needs to play every game as if it's the WAFL G/F ... The kids well at this stage who knows what they might turn out to be

Re: Did we do good??

8856brother wrote:
Moccha wrote:out of 10
How could anyone possibly know. Will tell you in 6 years.
Cos everyone seems to be an expert on here. I wouldn't know one from the other. Who picked up Manson?

I wont give an opinion....as its NOT allowed, unless of course its only positive...

Then again, its a forum where everyones allowed an opinion....

From reports

Underwhelming, some players drafted had modest impacts in TAC Cup/Champs/Draft combine
Not sure on the pace of Ross
Markworth seems an OK get....but a lead up fwd...dont we have a 19yo one who looks the goods..
The Tassie boy might be a bolter

but players aside....who may turn out OK

its the lack of size that worries me.....did we round out our list and fill deficiencies....NOT so sure

GreatNo9s

I like the look of that Blake
He think he'll go okay :lol:

Who is the best number 9 for the Saints ?

BigMart wrote:I wont give an opinion....as its NOT allowed, unless of course its only positive...

From reports

Underwhelming, some players drafted had modest impacts in TAC Cup/Champs/Draft combine
Markworth seems an OK get....but a lead up fwd...dont we have a 19yo one who looks the goods..

its the lack of size that worries me.....did we round out our list and fill deficiencies....NOT so sure
Well done on your positivity once again. You would have no idea, just like all of us. Just stirring sh#t. You are so predictable. It's sad.

I have a feeling we did really well. Also, we did really well out of the Tommy Walsh deal--getting Markworth and Wilkes with those picks.

GreatNo9s commented :
I like the look of that Blake
He think he'll go okay
Not unless he can play 200 games !

8856brother wrote:
BigMart wrote:I wont give an opinion....as its NOT allowed, unless of course its only positive...

From reports

Well done on your positivity once again. You would have no idea, just like all of us. Just stirring sh#t. You are so predictable. It's sad.
at least he actually has an opinion on the topic

i'm with that !
... we come here to read .

it's start'n to sh!t me.
onya mart

Comparing the Phantom Draft on AFL site:

Seb Ross...we took at #25.....they said #31
Markson....we took at #35......thay said #13
Newness....we took at #37......they said #92
Webster.....we took at #42......they said #49

No mention of others except Blake.

I suppose apart from Newnes its around the mark.

Pick #20 for Saad, Milera and Ross reads pretty well I guess.

Are we that much devoid of height?

Existing guys like Rhys, Archer, Ferguson are going to have to push guys out to get a shot, yet we still seem stressed about lack of talls.

Can anyone tell me how tall Winmar was when we drafted him, and how tall he is now?

Seems to have shot up to me, appears taller than Siposs?

SainterK wrote:Are we that much devoid of height?

Existing guys like Rhys, Archer, Ferguson are going to have to push guys out to get a shot, yet we still seem stressed about lack of talls.

Can anyone tell me how tall Winmar was when we drafted him, and how tall he is now?

Seems to have shot up to me, appears taller than Siposs?
Grown about a cm I think. Could never play as a KPP though. He is running HB, wingman.

Verdun66

First pick we had was 25! A few years ago that was about our fourth pick. We probably did ok, but it is supposedly a weak draft and we had nothing at top end.

If a couple come out of this then we'll have done well.
Last edited by Verdun66 on Thu 24 Nov 2011 9:45pm, edited 1 time in total.

Reckon the new boys Siposs and Cripps should do ok !! ;-)

hungry for a premiership

I'm of the opinion that we have an elite head of footy in Chris Pelchen, and that he and his team's preparation for the draft was 10 out of 10. On top of that, we now have the Academy which will give all those players selected the absolute best possible chance to go on and become good AFL footballers.

Obviously you can never know for sure, but based on the above mentioned facts I'm quite confident we'll look back favorably on this draft period in a few years time. Between 7 and 10 out of 10.

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

skeptic wrote:
8856brother wrote:

From reports

at least he actually has an opinion on the topic
Does he? Look at the first sentance. Whats your opinion Einstein?

Look at his second sentence....its called irony. :wink:

Saints TV wrap on Saints picks

fugazi wrote:Look at his second sentence....its called irony. :wink:
Look at the 3rd sentence. It says "From reports" It's called something! :roll:

From reports

Which players had modest TAC Cup outputs?

And the only forward we drafted you're worried about because we have Siposs? Memo: There is more than 1 forward picked per game, and also you've been harping on about not picking up height.

All the people in the know have said over and over it was a poor draft for talls. So why would we take talls who are not likely to make it?
The midfielders were a stronger group so that is the way we went.
Lever is the exception and of course Wilkes to give us a back up key position player.
8.5/10 for me.