The new coach loves....

Tom Ledger - baring injury lock him into a midfield rotation role for round one.

He is not the only one. I am a HUGE fan. He attacks the ball and gut runs like Ben Cousins. The kid can be a superstar. Said so from day 1.

Showed great talent from his first Nab Cup game and had a significant impact in his short stints in the seniors. After getting used to the system and with an extended pre season under his belt I think he should be a regular in 2012. Ahead of Cripps IMO, and will put the likes of Peake, Polo, Jones, Gram and Ray under serious pressure.

Naturally the new coach loves him....

.....Ledger is from Claremont.

We really do have quite amazing WA influence at present amongst players and coaches.

But with George Young and Winmar being amongst my favourite past StKilda players I am not complaining.

mad saint guy wrote:Showed great talent from his first Nab Cup game and had a significant impact in his short stints in the seniors. After getting used to the system and with an extended pre season under his belt I think he should be a regular in 2012. Ahead of Cripps IMO, and will put the likes of Peake, Polo, Jones, Gram and Ray under serious pressure.
Lets hope he can have an injury free crack at it next year. I also really liked what I saw in his brief cameos, but like so many of our young blokes this year, his body was not ready.
Hopefully Ledger, Cripps, Siposs and all our young guns can have a sustained impact in 2012 without the injuries.
There is plenty of upside IMO if they can string some games together.

The great John McIntosh came to the Sainters from Claremont.
McIntosh was equal second in the 1971 Brownlow, and is one of my all time favourites.
He was injured during the final series, and unable to play in the 71 Grand Final.
Seven points was the final margin.
Who knows what the outcome would have been if McIntosh was fit to play?
In 1972 John was carried off VFL Park on a stretcher against Collingwood.
They did not have the knowledge that they now have to fix his injury.
Never to play again. :cry:

Majority wrote:The great John McIntosh came to the Sainters from Claremont.
McIntosh was equal second in the 1971 Brownlow, and is one of my all time favourites.
He was injured during the final series, and unable to play in the 71 Grand Final.
what was the injury?

StNoodles

a hammy

:shock:

what was the injury?
Cramp :shock:

Ledger - I haven't seen a lot of him, but agree regarding his hard at it style and ability to get the nut.
I did have a question mark over his ball use and disposal - can anyone comment on what they've seen?

santazzi

saintsRrising wrote:Naturally the new coach loves him....

.....Ledger is from Claremont.

We really do have quite amazing WA influence at present amongst players and coaches.

But with George Young and Winmar being amongst my favourite past StKilda players I am not complaining.
Hope they are as good as our crew (Tassie) who helped deliver the first flag and help deliver the second............

Majority

All they said is that it was a knee injury.
They did not go into great detail back then,
but that may be partly due to their lack of expertise in those times
and the intense media coverage is not quite what it is today.

Here is a link that may interest you all.

http://www.osborneparkbc.com.au/RonHead ... Inosh.html

love the photo

second knee injury got him- to think these days players can recover from 2 or even 3 knee injuries and stil play 250 games- alal one L Hayes

Moorabbin Man

Jeez, I was at that game as a very young kid (only my second game) can say I remember that or much else.

Sick Nal Danto

He is also Lenny's favourite.

I always see Lenny giving advice to him, I think Lenny really sees something in him.....and obviously Scotty sees it also

Sick Nal Danto

He is also Lenny's favourite.

I always see Lenny giving advice to him, I think Lenny really sees something in him.....and obviously Scotty sees it also

saintDal

saintbrat wrote:love the photo

second knee injury got him- to think these days players can recover from 2 or even 3 knee injuries and stil play 250 games- alal one L Hayes
Father of Ashley McIntosh who would've been a handy FS. Came from Beverley which is not far from where Nicky Winmar grew up in Pingelly.

Old coach loved him too.

With all these men loving him, has anyone thought that he may not be gay.

crippa2sipa

dcstkfc wrote:Old coach loved him too.
Who could forget that Ross Lyon classic

"Go Tommy, go, go go!
Update your status mate, that's beautiful.
Tommy Ledger, training your way in mate. Beautiful"

(And this, during a half-time rev-up:)

"Tommy Ledger, where are ya?
To see you attack the ball like that - it does lift everyone!"

(from The Challenge - Part 2/2)

I hope that in 2012 the team will be picked largely on the basis of proven ability and form, rather than on factors like a player coming from WA.

Ledger looks talented to me, but he also looks small and somewhat fragile for the physical, rather high risk style of footy he plays. I know looks can deceive, so I hope I'm wrong.

Potential dreamteam smokey pick in the mids i am thinking.

He only played 2 games so the price would not change?

That aside we need a few younger players to step in straight away and stay in. The old model did not work and now it is imperative we find a few newer and younger players to play good football.

He's our next Lenny.

No pressure lol.

saintDal wrote:
saintbrat wrote:love the photo

Father of Ashley McIntosh who would've been a handy FS. Came from Beverley which is not far from where Nicky Winmar grew up in Pingelly.
Paul Bettany isn't his love child by any chance?

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

very true