our best by position

Modern era only 1/2/3 by position.I will start with full back.
Bob Murray
Spud
Cowboy

Full forward
Plugger
G.Young
Bill Young

Ruck
Big Carl
J.Sarau
Sidebottom(g)

Riewoldt and Goddard to live up to their reputations ,Clarke and Ray to defy theirs in 2012!

Centre
Stewart
Hayes
Elliott(g)/G.Burns

CHF
Baldock
riewoldt
Hunt/Loewe

Riewoldt and Goddard to live up to their reputations ,Clarke and Ray to defy theirs in 2012!

rovers/general midfielders

Ross Smith
Harvey
burke

Utilities
McIntosh
Goddard
Lawrence

Bob Murray
Spud
Cowboy

modern Era? spud maybe if pushin it to be modern era Cowboy was 40 years ago hardly modern

Re: our best by position

whiskers3614 wrote:Modern era only 1/2/3 by position.I will start with full back.
Bob Murray
Spud
Cowboy

Full forward
Plugger
G.Young
Bill Young

Ruck
Big Carl
J.Sarau
Sidebottom(g)
nah......if you are going as far back as bill young...you would need to include verdon howell at fullback..or full forward and trevor barker ditto....... frazer gehrig and stewie loewe were better fullforwards than either of the youngs and spider would eat sidebottom and spit him out before breakfast in any ruck duel.....back to the drawingboard for you me thinks.... :wink:

Sorry forgot Barks,Utility?
Don't agree about Spider.not even sure he was atrue ruckman most of his Saints career.
Last edited by whiskers3614 on Wed 04 Jan 2012 12:53am, edited 1 time in total.

ausfatcat wrote:Bob Murray
Spud
Cowboy

modern Era? spud maybe if pushin it to be modern era Cowboy was 40 years ago hardly modern
By modern I meant TV days,

Re: our best by position

nah......if you are going as far back as bill young...you would need to include verdon howell at fullback..or full forward and trevor barker ditto....... frazer gehrig and stewie loewe were better fullforwards than either of the youngs and spider would eat sidebottom and spit him out before breakfast in any ruck duel.....back to the drawingboard for you
Billy/George Young played in pox sides and kicked 60 odd per season.Gehrig played in one of our better eras and kicked a ton.Jury out for mine.As for Howell the reason I haven;t got him in is I'm not quite old enough yo see him play.Bllly Young I know personally and have read up on.

Spider not a ruck man???

Have a look at how many hit outs in seasons 97-2001....all Australian 97-98 best and fairest 2001...

Spider was an absolute jet....like him or not

Gehrig after he started playing full forward mid 2003 had great numbers and won two columns.....comfortably #2 ff imo

Spider not a ruck man???

Have a look at how many hit outs in seasons 97-2001....all Australian 97-98 best and fairest 2001...

Spider was an absolute jet....like him or not

Gehrig after he started playing full forward mid 2003 had great numbers and won two columns.....comfortably #2 ff imo

Just trying to start discussion.As they say opinions just like ar.seholrs!

whiskers3614 wrote:rovers/general midfielders

Ross Smith
Harvey
burke

Utilities
McIntosh
Goddard
Lawrence
I'd take nds and len dog in a heart beat over burkey. Burkey was a good honest battler with a big ticker and woeful disposal

Nds and len dog are all round champs. .

hungry for a premiership

Nathan Burke's 1996 season was absolutely stellar. He was unlucky not to win the brownlow that year. Burke circa 1996 is as good as NDS and Lendog.

WINGMAN:

Nicky Winmar
Aussie Jones
Dean Rice

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

Verdun Howell would have to be No.1 at fullback. Even when Murray took over, Verdun filled in at fullback. One season Murray missed a few games in a row, and they happened to be against the teams with the two best full forwards. McKenna was one, not sure on the other. They both had kicked a bag on Murray in the first round, but Verdun kept them both to one or two goals apiece. He was by far the better fullback. You dont win a Brownlow at Fullback unless you are a champion. There have only ever been two that have.
Bob Murray was a tad over=rated. Especially on this forum.

And I question a lot of people that have George Young as Full Forward. He never played many games there. When he did he was brilliant. Then again Nicky Winmar never played many games at Full Forward, but I remember him kicking 8 there one day when Plugger was suspended George played most of his footy for us on the HFF, where he was veryvery good.
As far as Full Forwards go, I would have them,
Plugger
GTrain
Jason Heatley.

HFFlankers.
George Young.
Cant think of anyone else worth listing.

HBFlankers.
Daryl Griffith
Gary Colling
Russell Jeffries

I don't quite understand how this game works. The nature of different positions has changed over time along with coaching strategies so it's hard to compare players from different eras.

Here is a list of players who, at their best, would IMO be just about guaranteed a game in any era:

Baldock
Howell
Cowboy
Stewart
Everitt
Lockett
Winmar
Harvey
Hayes
Burke
Riewoldt
Goddard

and (perhaps a bit more controversial)
Hamill
Milne

Aussie Jones and Sam Fisher would also come pretty close to selection, I reckon.

I would see the likes of Loewe, Dal Santo, Big Carl, George Young, Barks, Lawrence, R Smith and many others named by other posters as being on the fringes of this team.

More on post-Saints form, you would also have to throw BBBB Hall into the mix.

I don't quite understand how this game works. The nature of different positions has changed over time along with coaching strategies so it's hard to compare players from different eras.

Here is a list of players who, at their best, would IMO be just about guaranteed a game in any era:

Baldock
Howell
Cowboy
Stewart
Everitt
Lockett
Winmar
Harvey
Hayes
Burke
Riewoldt
Goddard

and (perhaps a bit more controversial)
Hamill
Milne

Aussie Jones and Sam Fisher would also come pretty close to certain selection, I reckon.

I would see the likes of Loewe, Dal Santo, Big Carl, George Young, Barks, Lawrence, R Smith and many others named by other posters as being on the fringes of this list of certain selections.

More on post-Saints form, you would also have to throw BBBB Hall into the mix.

shmic_s

meher baba wrote: and (perhaps a bit more controversial)
Hamill
Milne
Don't think Milne would be controversial. One of the best small forwards ever.

hungry for a premiership wrote:Nathan Burke's 1996 season was absolutely stellar. He was unlucky not to win the brownlow that year. Burke circa 1996 is as good as NDS and Lendog.

WINGMAN:

Nicky Winmar
Aussie Jones
Dean Rice
wow rice over cunningham!!!

modern era?

afl/vfl comp is what about 115 years old

and this thread is talking about guys who played 50 years ago

not sure you can call that the modern era

I would say the modern era is now post 1980 (30+ years)

love the cowboy etc but they are not players of the modern era

fqf

Here's my go for what little it's worth. No claims that this is definitive...

Full Back:
Bob Murray, Danny Frawley, Trevor Barker.
(Luke Penny if he'd played more, honourable mention to Jamie Shanahan, I never saw Verdun Howell, but would be happy tohave him as number 1 from what I've heard.)

Half Back:
Sam Fisher, Daryl Griffiths, David Grant.
(Apologies Neil Besanko. Barks would be there, but he was too busy too often playing above his height/ weight @ fullback.)

Wingmen:
Nicky Winmar, John Bonney, Joffa.

Centre:
Ian Stewart, Lenny, Glen Elliott, Greg Burns.

CHF:
The Doc, Nick R, Stewart Loewe.
(Gary Siedbottom if he'd held his form for longer.)

Half forwards:
George Young (I can't believe he didn't make our team of the century!/!), Gary Lofts, Aaron Hamil.
(Apologies to Alan Davis, & sadly, Rod Owen - what a wasted talent.) :cry:

Full forward:
Plugger, Barry Lawrence (also held down most other key positions), Fraser, Cowboy.

Forward pocket:
Milney, Scniderman, Russell Reynolds.

Ruckman:
John McIntosh (if not for injury our best ever ruckman & team of the century),
Spider (was very good, but could have been anything),
Jeff Sarau.
(To be controversial, I think Big Carl was over rated. I must preface that by saying I only saw him when he was older and less athletic.)

Rovers:
Graham Gellie, Bruce Duperusal, Ross Smith.
(I rate Graham Gellie as our best rover that I've seen. Big call I know.
Tragically only the one year before he was ruined by a knee injury.
He was so ahead of his time in that he'd not only get 40 earnt possies, but 36 of them would then set up a team mate, & the other 4 would be long to a 50/50 contest. The modern game would love him.
Apologies to Paul Callery.)

Ruckrovers:
Harves, BJ, NDS, Travis Payze.

Super Sub:
Would have to be Jamie Cripps... :D
Last edited by Dave McNamara on Wed 04 Jan 2012 7:29pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dave McNamara wrote:Here's my go for what little it's worth. No claims that this is definitive...

Full Back:
Bob Murray, Danny Frawley, Trevor Barker.
(Luke Penny if he'd played more, honourable mention to Jamie Shanahan, I never saw Verdun Howell, but would be happy tohave him as number 1 from what I've heard.)

Half Back:
Sam Fisher, Daryl Griffiths, David Grant.
(Apologies Neil Besanko. Barks would be there, but he was too busy too often playing above his height/ weight @ fullback.)

Wingmen:
Nicky Winmar, John Bonney, Joffa.

Centre:
Ian Stewart, Lenny, Glen Elliott, Greg Burns.

CHF:
The Doc, Nick R, Stewart Loewe.
(Gary Siedbottom if he'd held his form for longer.)

Half forwards:
George Young (I can't believe he didn't make our team of the century!/!), Gary Lofts, Aaron Hamil.
(Apologies to Alan Davis, & sadly, Rod Owen - what a wasted talent.)  :cry: 

Full forward:
Plugger, Fraser, Cowboy.

Forward pocket:
Milney, Scniderman.

Ruckman:
John McIntosh (if not for injury our best ever ruckman & team of the century),
Spider (was very good, but could have been anything),
Jeff Sarau.
(To be controversial, I think Big Carl was over rated. I must preface that by saying I only saw him when he was older and less athletic.)

Rovers:
Graham Gellie, Bruce Duperusal, Ross Smith.
(I rate Graham Gellie as our best rover that I've seen. Big call I know. 
Tragically only the one year before he was ruined by a knee injury. 
He was so ahead of his time in that he'd not only get 40 earnt possies, but 36 of them would then set up a team mate, & the other 4 would be long to a 50/50 contest. The modern game would love him.
Apologies to Paul Callery.)

Ruckrovers:
Harves, BJ, NDS, Travis Payze.

Super Sub:
Would have to be Jamie Cripps...   :D

"You had me at George Young"

Dr Spaceman wrote:"You had me at George Young"

I thought he was fantastic. Like Barks, played way above his size/ weight. A great player firstly in a strong team, then propped us up as that team slide away to eventually become... well lets not go there.

I can't understand how he missed our team of the century? :oops:

I also believe he left on somewhat unhappy terms. Does anyone know anymore re this? And most importantly, does anyone know if relations with the club have been patched up?

Brendon Goddard not getting much of a mention.......dual all Australian, played super by in three grand finals....in one he was superman...

Nick Riewoldt......5 best and Fairest and a few years left....our best player in a great era.....one of the top players in the afl for a decade an awesome CHF....