Im ready for 2012

Sounds strange, but I am ready for this year.

Ive just finished watching the 2010 season review and its the first time I have been able to watch (highlights of) the grand finals. Teary, anxious, hatred of the filth etc, those sorts of feelings flooding back.

As the most passionate supporter who lives and breathes the Saints I felt like Ive been through the ringer. Last season was so draining for me, but im just a supporter. I couldnt imagine what the boys have been feeling but I understand their comments throughout 2011.

Anyway, I just wanted to say that as a supporter I feel rejuvinated after the efforts off and on the track since RL left. Im not sure if others are feeling it but I just have this awesome feeling about 2012. I know this is a bit of a nothing post but I really thing the club have mentally gotten ourselves in the right mindset to truly be a contender this year! I sure know I am feeling different about this year compared to 2011!

Re: Im ready for 2012

Yeah I'm over the pain. I couldn't take another GF loss last year. Losing to Syd last year, not so bad.

I'm looking forward to something different - game plan, our starting 22 and a new coach. Exciting times ahead.

Old Mate wrote:Yeah I'm over the pain. I couldn't take another GF loss last year. Losing to Syd last year, not so bad.

I'm looking forward to something different - game plan, our starting 22 and a new coach. Exciting times ahead.
Losing to Syd not so bad?

You serious?

Was the most insipid gutless performance in a final for years given who we were playing. 2008 thrashings were us vs. A class above.

Sure, we weren't flag contenders last year but a win in the first week of the finals would've been a par result.

cant wait
bring it on
nothing better than (if you cant get to the games) having a few drinkies with the misses and bunking down on the couch in front of the TV for saints games
wont be long
nab starts in just under 7 days and then the week after we get to see some youth running about for the saints
it cant come quick enough....

Old Mate wrote:Yeah I'm over the pain. I couldn't take another GF loss last year. Losing to Syd last year, not so bad.

Losing to Syd not so bad?

You serious?

Was the most insipid gutless performance in a final for years given who we were playing. 2008 thrashings were us vs. A class above.

Sure, we weren't flag contenders last year but a win in the first week of the finals would've been a par result.
Can't compare that loss to a drawn GF and a close loss the previous year. The Syd loss was far easier to take - we were never a chance of making the GF anyway.

how many times have we played Sydney in finals- Just watching one from 1998 .....

and how many have we won?

saintbrat wrote:how many times have we played Sydney in finals- Just watching one from 1998 .....

2004 Qualifying final. If we had of got into 2004 GF, we would have won it IMO.

saintbrat wrote:how many times have we played Sydney in finals- Just watching one from 1998 .....

1913 v south melb semi final won by 33 points mcg
1970 v south melb semi final won by 53 points mcg (104 thousand people!)
1998 v sydney qualifying final lost by 2 points scg
2004 v sydney semi final won by 51 points mcg
2005 v sydney preliminary final lost by 31 points mcg
2011 v sydney elimination final lost by 25 points docklands
Last edited by matrix on Sat 11 Feb 2012 10:40pm, edited 1 time in total.

we lost 1998 Matrix- a slog in the mud so far we keep coming from behind and they just run out or oomph
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/seas/1998.html#fin

and Lockett only got 1

Well im going to miss the whole second half of the season due to work in the USA so im now looking forward to as much footy i can see, i will be doing a football overload.

hungry for a premiership

I'm feeling very optimistic about this year too.

I have no doubt whatsoever we'll play finals, and I believe we are a very good chance at top 4.

However, I don't think we'll win the big one, as I can't see us getting past Hawthorn, Geelong or Collingwood. I think we'll be about on a par with Carlton for 4th spot.

Strangely, I think that maybe 2013 will be the year for us, IF we can unveil 2-3 ripping youngsters this year AND assuming our core of ageing guns is still really good by then.

The biggest obstacle for us is that you'd assume that we've already seen the best from NDS, ROO, Chips, Monty etc, and they are still going to have to be the main drivers if we're to win a flag. We've got a big generation gap, and I'm hoping we can see the best of the youngsters and oldies together at the same time. To me, that's the biggest challenge facing the current list.

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

saintbrat wrote:we lost 1998 Matrix- a slog in the mud so far we keep coming from behind and they just run out or oomph

and Lockett only got 1

good pick up bratty
post amended

matrix wrote:
saintbrat wrote:we lost 1998 Matrix- a slog in the mud so far we keep coming from behind and they just run out or oomph

and Lockett only got 1

good pick up bratty
post amended

it was a dirty muddy slog in Sydney - just saw the end
reminded me of 2004 - pelting down rain and mud heap. except we won 2004

Bayside Nick

What is it about Hawthorn that is making everyone suddenly predict them to win the flag? Have they got some injured players fit or something?

buddy playing more around the ground
gunston up foward
roughead back by round 5 or 6
savage
rioli
hodge fit

plenty of talk coming out of the hawthorn lot

ive got a good feeling about this year!!! atleast the emotional baggage is gone. the scandals are gone and it just feels like 2004 again.

some clubs are struggling with injury early on. over here in the west, wce have had injury issues through the pre season. freo could only play 33 in the intra club. the stand out players was a wafl player they overlooked in the draft.

defacto wrote:ive got a good feeling about this year!!! atleast the emotional baggage is gone. the scandals are gone and it just feels like 2004 again.

some clubs are struggling with injury early on. over here in the west, wce have had injury issues through the pre season. freo could only play 33 in the intra club. the stand out players was a wafl player they overlooked in the draft.

thats not what the report said- :shock: Pav firing and Anthony a cert for round 1?

go read the intraclub thread on the freo board on big footy.

defacto wrote:go read the intraclub thread on the freo board on big footy.

I believe you,
atleast the reports from our game had similairities between coach and viewers and media

Bayside Nick wrote:What is it about Hawthorn that is making everyone suddenly predict them to win the flag? Have they got some injured players fit or something?
Yes. They had a lot of injuries last season and almost made the GF.

They really missed Roughy.

defacto wrote:ive got a good feeling about this year!!! atleast the emotional baggage is gone. the scandals are gone and it just feels like 2004 again.
Agreed, maybe its the positive news only and no stuff ups but definitely feel over the baggage. I was sick of copping it from other supporters that we were a rabble, the euphoria of the BJ mark followed by the hollow draw. Wow I feel like Im only just able to talk about an ex after a year from hell!

I agree the Hawks are the team to beat, but I feel we are right up there and with the second chance anything can happen in finals. Bring it on I say

Sick Nal Danto

thats not what the report said- :shock: Pav firing and Anthony a cert for round 1?
Did the report say Zac Dawson had 4 kicked on him by some WAFL forward

Because that is what happened !

we to lets go already

wasaintsfan

I'm so ready for this year I've booked annual for the first NAB cup match... its live on fox as of 3 30pm =P which i would be at work until 5pm... so only reasonable action... book the whole day so i can unwind... then get my esky full of beer..(cant afford to get up might miss something =P) and watch the Mighty Saints for the very first time in 2012 =D see the new styles unleashed.

Absolutely champing at the bit,
Can't remember being this excited in Feb for a long time… if ever…

Bring it on…