a draw = joke

Saints123

a draw = joke

They've declared it a draw, what a disgrace! I know it's only NAB cup but it's just typical of how some clubs are treated.

SaintSimmo

Re: a draw = joke

This means we can no longer make the nab cup gf (even tho it was a long shot), because of essendon's arrogance to fly instead of drive.
IMO we should either play the game tomorrow somewhere in Melbourne or we get all points!!
Essendon can't get there, so they technically forfeit, do they not???

Sainter for life.
mcadam05

The higher you finish on the NAB ladder the more prize money you get we should 4 pts

What a joke. I know it doesn't matter but can't see why they wouldn't give us the 4 points for the forfeit.

SaintSimmo

FROM BRETT PEAKE TWITTER:
Looks like buses are quicker then planes !! Having are intra-club for prep, and give the fans something to watch cause of their dedication !

Sainter for life.
mcadam05

prwilkinson wrote:What a joke. I know it doesn't matter but can't see why they wouldn't give us the 4 points for the forfeit.
It does matter because we cant just bend over and take what the AFL gives out we have to make a stand

Is it legal giving it as a draw?

It's a friggin FORFIET by Essendon.

Time Anderson is sacked. NFI!

We are there.
Essendon due to their own bad planning are not.
Therefore a forfeit.

This is another Adrian Anderson make the rules up as you go scenario.

Enrico_Misso wrote:We are there.
Essendon due to their own bad planning are not.
Therefore a forfeit.

This is another Adrian Anderson make the rules up as you go scenario.

Do you actually know the rule? I dont but it seems you do. Can you explain it to us.

Making the rules to suit themselves again (echo of the Lights Out game)
It should be considered a walkover as they failed to appear and Esseond should be up for our costs as well.

This is hilarious.

We get retrospective rules made against us all the time but when we get screwed over they don't give a s***. I hope we don't get any injuries from our intraclub because you know the AFL and insurers will try to say they shouldn't have played.

But a draw is fair, we were not able to get up into the sky to play the bombers.

I agree it’s a joke.

Essendon left their run so late in what they knew were shyteful conditions and then don’t turn up.

We are playing an intra-club apparently so it’s not called off due to ground conditions.

What would happen in the normal H and A?

that's hillary arse

GRAMophone

If the game was called off because of impossible conditions maybe a draw is fair. If it was called off because of the Bombers no show I reckon they should be penalized points.

HOPELESSLY DEVOTED

Just checked the website and they have just announced the cancellation.
But of course a bit of bending of the truth as they have showed a photo of the ground as it looked on Thursday eg several inches under water.
However a friend on Facebook had posted a photo from the ground an hour ago and the ground was not flooded.
They have to justify Essendon's decision to fly anyway they can.

Iceman234 wrote: What would happen in the normal H and A?
For H&A clubs are required to get to a venue well before the scheduled time.
Essendon would not be allowed to fly in a couple of ours before a real game.

So they have treated this match with contempt.
Failed to respect us by treating it seriously.

Result?
Essendon are nice and cosy in their beds tonight.
And are able to resume full pre-season training tomorrow.
And THEY ARE REWARDED with a draw.
Whilst we are stuck up in Wangaratta.
May take a day or two to get home.
Disrupts our pre-season.
And we are denied the opportunity of two points.

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Iceman234 wrote: What would happen in the normal H and A?
For H&A clubs are required to get to a venue well before the scheduled time.
Essendon would not be allowed to fly in a couple of ours before a real game.

So they have treated this match with contempt.
Failed to respect us by treating it seriously.

Result?
Essendon are nice and cosy in their beds tonight.
And are able to resume full pre-season training tomorrow.
And THEY ARE REWARDED with a draw.
Whilst we are stuck up in Wangaratta.
May take a day or two to get home.
Disrupts our pre-season.
And we are denied the opportunity of two points.

So those points will get rid of all that you say is wrong. Please tell us the rules for the NAB cup. People worried about the points and not the game. As I said hilarious.

plugger66 wrote:This is hilarious.
agree pluggs - but i do have some sympathy for the fans up there.

I can't believe these hicks think the AFL don't take them seriously. It WAS only some un-televised display of pretend footy for a bunch of simpletons in the sticks. If the NAB didn't give them a suit case of cash every year it wouldn't still be on.

Perhaps the AFL should conduct an inquiry into why Essendon flew to the venue on the day of the match. Who knows what they might find out !!

plugger66 wrote:This is hilarious.
agree pluggs - but i do have some sympathy for the fans up there.

So do I. I am disappointed we didnt play a proper game and the fans missed out. Very disappointing. And now some players will have to go to WA that werent supposed to.

Great PR for us though, putting on an exhibition game anyway for the locals.

Iceman234 wrote:Great PR for us though, putting on an exhibition game anyway for the locals.
Just hope we don't have anyone injured or drowned.

Eastern wrote:Perhaps the AFL should conduct an inquiry into why Essendon flew to the venue on the day of the match. Who knows what they might find out !!
So they didn't book accom big deal.

Fly up in the morning with reports if heavy arvo rain forecast!

Clearly, they didn't want to play in Wang.