Friday - I think I'll watch the Golf or Cricket, NRL, EPL or

Good Friday.
Will be great to watch day 2 of the Masters Golf hopefully cheering on Adam Scott.
Or I might check out if the Sri Lankans are on their way to beating England again in the second test.
Or I might check out the NRL match of the day.
Perhaps watch the English Premier League.
Or watch any number of other sports from all round the world.

But of course I won't be watching AFL.

Why?

Because Victoria/AFL is still being run based on the 19th century morals and controlling hand of Archbishop Mannix.
There is NOTHING absolutely NOTHING to support not playing AFL on Good Friday on religious arguments.
They play sport all round the world on Good Friday.
No religious issues there!

But for inexplicable, unsupportable reasons the God-botherers here claim to play sport here on GF is disrespectful and sacrilegious.
That logic is as shonky and flawed as their beliefs.

Time to move into the 20th century.

Re: Friday - I think I'll watch the Golf or Cricket, NRL, EP

Go to work instead then...

Not sure why you need to create another thread... You seem to sook about this every year.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Time to move into the 20th century.

Good luck with that...

Agree with the OP...

Makes no sense whatsoever...

Spinner wrote:Go to work instead then...

Not sure why you need to create another thread... You seem to sook about this every year.
I sook about this every year because it is an absolute disgrace.
I sook about this every year because nothing has changed.
I'll keep sooking about it till it changes.

How dare these religious idiots impose their backward views on me and what I can do.
That's why I'm sooking!

Enrico_Misso wrote: But for inexplicable, unsupportable reasons the God-botherers here claim to play sport here on GF is disrespectful and sacrilegious.

And just in the interests of transparency, I find that statement offensive.

Why cant you argue about playing sport on Good Friday without offending/disrespecting a particular religion? Are you incapable of that type of discussion?

Sounds like there is an alternative agenda behind your views. You want to discuss the validity of particular religions, go to a religion forum. If that was said to a player on field, it would be classed as religious vilification. Imagine an opposition proclaiming to Houili that his fasting was based on shonky and flawed beliefs.

You want to have a whinge about no sport. Do it. Dont attack a religion in the process.

St.Roly

Spinner, that is quite extraordinary.

If you think that describing a religious belief as shonky and flawed would be considered to be religious vilification (on a football field or anywhere else)then one thing is clear - you are not a lawyer.

If you think it should be classified as religious vilification, another thing is clear - you place a very limited value on freedom of speech in a liberal democratic secular society.

St.Roly wrote:Spinner, that is quite extraordinary.

If you think that describing a religious belief as shonky and flawed would be considered to be religious vilification (on a football field or anywhere else)then one thing is clear - you are not a lawyer.

If you think it should be classified as religious vilification, another thing is clear - you place a very limited value on freedom of speech in a liberal democratic secular society.

Would the example I used not get investigated?

As I said, want to discuss the validity of a religion. Go to a religion forum.

It doesn't matter to me what is on TV on Good Friday because I will be making my anual attendance at the "Festival of the Cow". All the meat you can eat washed down with buckets of beer.

Cairnsman wrote:It doesn't matter to me what is on TV on Good Friday because I will be making my anual attendance at the "Festival of the Cow". All the meat you can eat washed down with buckets of beer.

Thats great.

Not sure what relevance it has here other than to attempt to taunt a specific group of people...

There are plenty of groups of people that dont eat meat all year round. Hindu people, vegans, vegetarians. You could declare your intentions all year round to attend this festival... Oh but you dont...you only mention it now in an effort to taunt.

Enrico_Misso wrote:How dare these religious idiots impose their backward views on me and what I can do.
:lol: I agree. Let them believe in their fairytales, but it shouldn't be imposed on the majority.

tweedaletomanning

Sobraz wrote:Agree with the OP...

Makes no sense whatsoever...
+ 1

As a matter of fact, it is denying the RCH an opportunity for a significant boost in donations.

tweedaletomanning

Enrico_Misso wrote:How dare these religious idiots impose their backward views on me and what I can do.
:lol: I agree. Let them believe in their fairytales, but it shouldn't be imposed on the majority.
It's the only way to control the masses :wink:

Personally, I think a SAINTS v DEMONS would be a perfect Good Friday match :idea:

Will try to remember to eat fish, and let my kids have control of the telly. Fair enough too.
Maybe the AFL should declare Good Friday as Environment Day - they could boast about how they reduced emissions so dramatically as opposed to every other Friday in the season. Win-win! :?:

Watch the Track Cycling World Championships from Hisense Arena live on SBS2 from 7pm.

St Igmata

Enrico_Misso wrote:Good Friday.
Will be great to watch day 2 of the Masters Golf hopefully cheering on Adam Scott.
Or I might check out if the Sri Lankans are on their way to beating England again in the second test.
Or I might check out the NRL match of the day.
Perhaps watch the English Premier League.
Or watch any number of other sports from all round the world.

But of course I won't be watching AFL.

Why?

Because Victoria/AFL is still being run based on the 19th century morals and controlling hand of Archbishop Mannix.
There is NOTHING absolutely NOTHING to support not playing AFL on Good Friday on religious arguments.
They play sport all round the world on Good Friday.
No religious issues there!

But for inexplicable, unsupportable reasons the God-botherers here claim to play sport here on GF is disrespectful and sacrilegious.

Time to move into the 20th century.
sounds like as well as having uninterrupted time with your loved ones you also have quite a lot of sport to choose from and you can't complain enough! probably says more about you than the tradition of not having football on good Friday!. you are looking at what the Rugby and cricket is doing as a marker?
Surely you jest?

laughable post!

seems to me you want everybody else to work and you have a holiday and you have no idea what to do with that holiday!

St Igmata

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Spinner wrote:Go to work instead then...

I sook about this every year because it is an absolute disgrace.
I sook about this every year because nothing has changed.
I'll keep sooking about it till it changes.

How dare these religious idiots impose their backward views on me and what I can do.
That's why I'm sooking!
you sook because you are one!

the holiday is yours but you can't entertain yourself!

Kate

I want to vote for the Footy.

I'll leave the religous debate to others.

St.Roly

St.Roly wrote:Spinner, that is quite extraordinary.

Would the example I used not get investigated?

As I said, want to discuss the validity of a religion. Go to a religion forum.
The likely basis upon which such an example would be investigated would be because nobody would believe that a footballer during a game would be engaged in a sufficiently calm and rational manner to use the words "shonky and flawed" rather than some actually vilifying language.

I think I found a good religion forum for those interested - richarddawkins.net

Maybe we should play on good Friday but it is only one day. i cant see the point of an angry post because we arent playing. Surely it isnt the end of sport as we know it.

I am Christian, and have no issue with footy on Good Friday. It's a date from the modern calender that has little significance to what is actually celebrated, and I prefer not to be defined by an annual date as to when and how I reflect on my faith.

However, that being said, I'm not certain that it's fair to assume that all players, coaches and officials are of the same mind?

I hope both of you are working and refusing to get paid for the public holiday then.

I also hope you didn't celebrate Christmas and returned any presents you may have received as that is a religious based holiday.

Who are these religious idiots you speak of? Me? I'm religious does that make me an idiot?

Personally I don't have a problem if footy is played or not on Good Friday! Why is it such an issue? As you have pointed out there are plenty of other sports to watch.

What if they played a Port Vs Brisbane game - would you watch? would you care?

Personally I find both these comments offensive. It also is a snap shot of what is wrong with our society (no tolerance for anything you don't believe in)

SainterK wrote:I am Christian, and have no issue with footy on Good Friday. It's a date from the modern calender that has little significance to what is actually celebrated, and I prefer not to be defined by an annual date as to when and how I reflect on my faith.
Good point. And, as I've pointed out on past threads on this subject, many Christians do not consider the holy period of Easter to begin until late on the evening of Good Friday (the start of the night vigil). I have been in Italy on Good Friday, and it was a normal working day, but people headed off to the vigil at around 10-11 pm. So Italian Catholics at least wouldn't seem to be very likely to object to a game played during the day or at twilight on Good Friday.

Cairnsman wrote:It doesn't matter to me what is on TV on Good Friday because I will be making my anual attendance at the "Festival of the Cow". All the meat you can eat washed down with buckets of beer.

Thats great.

Not sure what relevance it has here other than to attempt to taunt a specific group of people...

There are plenty of groups of people that dont eat meat all year round. Hindu people, vegans, vegetarians. You could declare your intentions all year round to attend this festival... Oh but you dont...you only mention it now in an effort to taunt.
Mate if a "specific group" is taunted by that then they need to lighten up because hell knows I'm not taunted by any rituals held by other "specific groups". Sheez! this is how wars start.

Kate wrote:I want to vote for the Footy.

I'll leave the religous debate to others.
It's probably due to channel 7 and the Good Friday Appeal.

They simply don't want a footy game to get in the way of the appeal.

Well Faark channel 7.

Play GWS vs Port Friggin Adelaide in Sydney then and make
It a foxtel game.

Even Shyte like that is better than nothing.