Returning to Moorabbin part time??

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/o ... 1yidu.html

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/t ... 1yide.html

some truth in your recent and past posts!!!

many agree with your thoughts....................at least some of them :wink:
Last edited by chook23 on Sat 12 May 2012 3:38pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: please read B4E

Does this club have a hope????

or a future??
Last edited by magnifisaint on Sat 12 May 2012 2:08am, edited 1 time in total.

Just a big crock up. Two training centres. Dont like that at all IMO.

Thanks Caro. Great article. Says it all.

As for that IDIOT Archie Fraser, thanks for nothing turd.

What a complete joke. No indoor pool! I mean, FFS why did they EVER bother with this Seaford bullshyte if it was second rate to start with?

And FFS why couldn't a foundation fund be set up with directors?

What the Faark was wrong with our board?

Stinks to high heaven that they were spineless and had no business acumen.

No wonder Baker got lynched at the tribunal. It's all part and parcel and crap administration that has forever killed our club.

We have plenty of wealthy supporters that surely would've chipped in some coin to build Moorabbin.

WHY couldn't we get the AFL to tell Kingston council to F. Off and let us redevelop our REAL home?

Once GT left at the end of 2006, the AFL had no longer a reason to hate us.

/rant just beginning....over to you Barks. I hope this thread goes for 20 pages.

saintspremiers wrote:Thanks Caro. Great article. Says it all.

As for that IDIOT Archie Fraser, thanks for nothing turd.

What a complete joke. No indoor pool! I mean, FFS why did they EVER bother with this Seaford bullshyte if it was second rate to start with?

And FFS why couldn't a foundation fund be set up with directors?

What the Faark was wrong with our board?

Stinks to high heaven that they were spineless and had no business acumen.

No wonder Baker got lynched at the tribunal. It's all part and parcel and crap administration that has forever killed our club.

We have plenty of wealthy supporters that surely would've chipped in some coin to build Moorabbin.

WHY couldn't we get the AFL to tell Kingston council to F. Off and let us redevelop our REAL home?

Once GT left at the end of 2006, the AFL had no longer a reason to hate us.

/rant just beginning....over to you Barks. I hope this thread goes for 20 pages.

How the hell can the AFL tell a council to F off? Anyway I am unsure how having 2 training facilties could work. If they did build something at Moorabbin you could just about be assured we would be back there full time as soon as possible.

Plugger, I think the AFL has more power then some egotistical councillor. Just my opinion.

Agree that if Moorabbin is redeveloped we should completely move out of Blevedere Park.

Comments by Archie Fraser in the Age article by Caro, indicated that the Club was completely broke and had no choice but to move to cheaper accomodation and in his view (I repeat, his view), better long term prospects. Clearly there was a clash of super egos between some at St Kilda and the Council. What surprises me, is that it looks like the AFL stood aside, when with it's political clout, it could perhaps have turned things around at Moorabbin, which is our spititual home.

As everyone can see, the current Seaford venue is already too small, poorly located and no-one likes it. Here we go again on the upheaval merry-go-round. When can we expect some stable, long term planning from the Board?

R. Harvey 3 votes!

We're cooked! Wellington Saints here we come!

When Harvey played his first game in 1988, I was a 12yo wearing short pants and struggling with my readin', writin' and 'rithmetic in grade eight. Now, I'm a father of three and a retired AFL player. And he's still going. Amazing! - Michael Voss

Where was that John Nevin guy when we needed him???

The clown members of the Kingston council of the day seem to have gone...? Gee, we wouldn't have had to wait very long... :x

Looking at that picture they have down there at the club of the old ground packed out with 40000+ fans. Remembering the atmosphere and the St Kilda chant that would go up... We could have had our own boutique, money-spinning home ground fortress just like those horrible interstate plastic clubs and the Hillbillies... Brings tears every time. :cry:

My message to the Saints BOM would be to continue to keep a hold over Linton Street. One day, and yes, I don't if the opportunity will be in the near, mid or longer term, but one day we should return and rebuild.the.fortress!!! (Mods' where's the steely determination emoticon???)

Not as lofty as that of the great Martin Luther King Jr, but me too... "I have a dream today...!"

That's the thing with these thing. People like B4E challenge the board at the appropriate times.... But never get the support of other saints fans.

He challenged this awful decision all those year back and I could count his supporters on 1 finger.

Sometimes the people at the top are smart and successful...but there are a lot of times that they have no idea what they are doing.

Again people lay into the board... It's worth remembering before this current board came along we were purchasing second hand tackle bags from VFL clubs .. We had Stewie Loewe coming in repairing things himself around the place .. I'm sure in a perfect world we would have stayed put in Moorabbin but it was far from a perfect world we had other factors causing the shift .. It's all to easy to blame it on the board

UNfortunately this is no shock to me, not from a inside knowledge perspective but from a club implossion perspective. This Club has always put individuals and egos above team and success both on and off the field, hence why we have 1 premiership.
Whether it be the likes of Buteress , Fraser , Thomas or Alves of recent times or Lockett, Winmar or Sidebottom the individual ego has been allowed to rule the roost damaging culture and sabotating success.

The amount of money lost because Thomas game plan did not work at Launceston and therefore the club rather than taking a strong stand rolled over like a 2 dollar hooker is ridiculous. Thomas was never going to be coaching forever the income stream from Tasmanaia was potentially going to be in perpetuity.

In recent times on field has become less selfish, however this has been no more than catching up to the succesful clubs rather than leading the way. Off field the leadership has appeared poor, and perception is 80% reality, disjointed and far from strong.
Whether moving to Seaford was wrong or correct the way it happened with the throw the toys out of the cot act by Fraser because a local council ( which we all know are generally made up of self absorbed want to be but never good enough to be politicians) said no did not sell a really good argument.
We hear know no pool in the venue and too small for the football department to use - who designed this the same people who put ethihad the wrong way around?
Unfortunately i feel at 40 i will never see another premiership , We blew it in 2004 and 2005 due to poor coaching mid season 04 and poor match coaching 05 v Swans last quarter. In 2009 the players choked missing shots that 14 years olds would kick and then nearly pinched it in 2010. We are likely to regress before we progress and unfortunately history says when this club struggles on field the off field decisions become worse and worse. In this day and age you cannot afford to do that.

The current board are totally incompetent and have NFI

I spoke to a board member in a very elevated position and told him in 2008 that the Seaford relocation is a huge mistake!

I also said that the players are not happy with this > he said "Yes i know the players don't like it etc.... but went on with the Archie Fraser spin

I challenged the board and in particular Archie Fraser at the 2008 AGM on this issue and questioned him on what other options were considered and as a member demanded to see evidence to support his claims that he had thoroughly investigated other options closer to St Kilda!

I was booed by about 200 sheep brain ninnies for questioning the board and requesting/demanding to see evidence to back up what Archie Fraser was claiming!

Archie Fraser agreed to set up a meeting and show me the evidence of what I requested in front of all the members at the AGM!

The very first thing AF said to me at this meeting was basically " I'm not showing you anything" which was not what he had promised in front of the members at the AGM!

So the evidence he claimed to have and would be shown to me in front of the members at the AGM was nothing more than a ruse as he no intention of showing me anything, most likely because as I suspected this evidence did not exist because he had lied to begin with!

The whole farce is playing out exactly as I indicated it would!

And all the sheep brain apologists on here who make excuses for all the incompetence that this board serve up like the hundreds who booed and hissed at me at the AGM for having the gall to question their buffoonery should wake up and get a fair dinkum clue!

Archie Fraser left St Kilda to be the CEO of the A league and now he is Clive Palmers CEO of his proposed alternative competition, seriously it should not be too much of a stretch to do the maths and see the squares are all rooted!

This is the guy that convinced the current board with a power point presentation about the wonders of moving to Seaford and the current board were stupid enough to fall for it!

The same guy whose ego and hot temper inflamed the negotiations with Kingston Council to begin with!

The same guy who usurped the previous president who was actively seeking to relocate the club back in St Kilda when he was voted out!

And the same guy who the current board aligned themselves with to get elected to begin with!

A total farce!

I know I can at least say I never voted for these clowns and the absolute mess they have created!

Was always crazy to move to a factory area.

Frankston Oval would still not have been good for many reasons...but at least may have helped with membership growth as the venue would have been visible.

The line trotted out that traing there will somehow gain more members from the Peninsula is flawed. Why would it? what difference would it make to 99.9% of locals?

So at present the only benefit is that we have gained is new and upgraded training facilities....which is good. But everything else is bad. Short-term thinking for long-term pain.

How much money have we wasted on this doomed ridiculous bid to relocate to some cesspit on the outer edge of Boganville.
I've never been down there and see no reason to ever go there.

Moorabbin is our home.
We should never have left.
The Board members past and present responsible for this catastrophic mismanagement should be named and shamed in an "Honour Roll of Incompetancy".
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Enrico_Misso wrote:How much money have we wasted on this doomed ridiculous bid to relocate to some cesspit on the outer edge of Boganville.
I've never been down there and see no reason to ever go there.

Moorabbin is our home.
We should never have left.
The Board members past and present responsible for this catastrophic mismanagement should be named and shamed in an "Honour Roll of Incompetancy".
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
Aside from Archie Fraser whose vision and master plan it was to begin with all those responsible are the present and current board!

They are the ones who are accountable for this stupidity!

.ffs , create SOMETHING then !

... start it from the bottom up ....

.a fundraising appeal maybe ... to turn the ship around.

Bleating on like spinsters scorned is gunna get real boring real quick.

Do SOMETHING .
.tap the momentum.
.... basically have a go or go home and have a faff.

I also have always been opposed to moving from Moorabbin.

Sure the local Clowncil was unco-operative.
But councillors come and go.
Where is Titsy Topsy now?
Probably has a green crew cut selling essential oils at Dalysford.

Had we negotiated better, lobbied better, proposed win-win plans, or just waited till the tide turned NONE OF THIS FARCE WOULD HAVE HAPPENED!

Oh well !
What Is , IS.

...so , after finally catching up with the Present Moment ,
leaving the baggage and It's story .... there could be an opportunity to experience some Clarity that inspires a movement 'Forward.'

.... given how you rabbits operate , the odds are against ya ... imo , o , oc.

tweedaletomanning

Current board = massive fail

Time for change, most definitely , but where is the alternative, better ticket?

Well, if we still have a 28 year lease on Moorabbin, we might as well use it.
I would actually like to see the Social Club refurbished down there, so there is a nice place for a meal, for the players to relax.
However I do know Hawthorn supporters who complained about re locating to Waverley when their spiritual home was Glenferrie Oval.
But then again, what club in the comp can claim two training facilities at their disposal, this could very easily be turned into a very big positive.

I would say Kingston council were too proud to backdown and Archie couldn't take a step backwards either meaning a f*** up for all. We have done it now and need to live with it. If we could train at both it would be a fairly good outcome.

I think the REAL STORY lies with the incompetence, stupidity and pigheadedness of those elected to the Kingston Council. They steadfastly refused to be involved, financially or otherwise in the proposed re-development of Moorabbin and are now trying to reverse this decision. Lets remember that just prior to the St Kilda decision to leave Moorabbin one of the councillors on the Kingston Council would spend his weekends planting trees in the car park, meaning that 2 council employees (including the son of a former saints player) would spend each and every Monday pulling these these trees out so that the car park could be used as a car park. Archie Fraser might not have been the ideal person to be negotiating with this mob but I'm not sure that anyone else would have got any further with them !!

Eastern wrote:I think the REAL STORY lies with the incompetence, stupidity and pigheadedness of those elected to the Kingston Council. They steadfastly refused to be involved, financially or otherwise in the proposed re-development of Moorabbin and are now trying to reverse this decision. Lets remember that just prior to the St Kilda decision to leave Moorabbin one of the councillors on the Kingston Council would spend his weekends planting trees in the car park, meaning that 2 council employees (including the son of a former saints player) would spend each and every Monday pulling these these trees out so that the car park could be used as a car park. Archie Fraser might not have been the ideal person to be negotiating with this mob but I'm not sure that anyone else would have got any further with them !!
They are like a slum with the street scaping, shopping strips, development and modernising. The place looks like it was built in the 50s and hasn't had a cent spent since. All the councils around it move forward while kingston looks like it belongs in the Latrobe Valley. The are seriously s*** because they must get the same kind of money as other councils but where is it? Glen Eira are so corrupt the can't leave anything unlocked but they still have plenty to spend why not Kingston?

Eastern wrote:I think the REAL STORY lies with the incompetence, stupidity and pigheadedness of those elected to the Kingston Council. They steadfastly refused to be involved, financially or otherwise in the proposed re-development of Moorabbin and are now trying to reverse this decision. Lets remember that just prior to the St Kilda decision to leave Moorabbin one of the councillors on the Kingston Council would spend his weekends planting trees in the car park, meaning that 2 council employees (including the son of a former saints player) would spend each and every Monday pulling these these trees out so that the car park could be used as a car park. Archie Fraser might not have been the ideal person to be negotiating with this mob but I'm not sure that anyone else would have got any further with them !!
No argument about any of that Eastern. For me the issue though, is why didn't we either (A) find a way around those Kingston clowns or (B) wait them out??? Where was the vision of the big picture :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:
Even plan B wouldn't have taken/hasn't taken long... :roll:

So now it's plan C, await/look for the chance to return... (Now I need a 'here's hoping' emoticon please mods'.)