Swans Model

Swans Model

I am pretty sure the commentator said that the swans have only 5 players from their last premiership team.. They were winners and very close losers of grand finals only 6-7 years ago. They have not fallen to the bottom and gotten priority picks, yet they are now back in a grand final with a totally rejuvenated playing list...

So: how have they done it?
Why are they better than the saints?
Our core of players the whole time since 2006-7 seems better than theirs, yet we have not bee ablen to strengthen our list over the past 6-7 years.

Do they spend more on recruiters than us? Have they got more people on the ground throughout the country?
Can we learn anything from their model?

Re: Swans Model

Having 800k extra salary cap helps

Sydney didn't have to play the power force that was Geelong (circa 2007-2011) in a GF.

During our window of opportunity, we were just unlucky.

That said, I believe we are on a similar path to the Swans' one since '06. It won't be long until we're back in business.

But you gotta hand it to the Swans in terms of not having the most star studded list, yet still getting the results. Remarkable really.

Old Mate wrote:Having 800k extra salary cap helps
Exactly, equals 3 more decent or 2 more gun players... Plus the very dubious circumstances surrounding K Jacks drafting helps, he is a beauty.

Swans and Brissie lost their allowance I though? Anyway they don't go out and recruit stars, they aren't offering BJ a mill a year. They use astute recruiting (well apart from that Irish hack) and good management to get them through. Hawks were GFinalists a few years back and have rebuilt a better list on the back of it. It can be done just don't don't let Michael Voss oversee it.

They play as a team - always have and its a credit to them.

I dislike them immensly also but there has to be something to their "bloods" culture that somehow gets and transforms ok players into great ones. Kennedy is a great player. Ted Richards a great player. Even Reece Shaw (a headless chook imo) somehow works better there...LRT.....it goes on.

Jude Bolton is their Lenny Hayes.

Thats right !

If we had this , Bj would have already signed and we'd have plenty of money left to try and entice a couple of big blokes to the club !

Teflon wrote:They play as a team - always have and its a credit to them.

I dislike them immensly also but there has to be something to their "bloods" culture that somehow gets and transforms ok players into great ones. Kennedy is a great player. Ted Richards a great player. Even Reece Shaw (a headless chook imo) somehow works better there...LRT.....it goes on.

He was nearly our Lenny Hayes. Saints supporter and had it on good mail that he was our pick and Sydney were meant to get the local boy first. The rest is history but I'm glad anyway.

Id still take Hayes.......Imnot biased though...

SinCitySainter

I hate the Swans, I would have much rather seen the Pies win tonight than this low life AFL love child.
Have extra money in their Salary Cap.
Raid other sides by offering ridiculous salaries for players that the other can't match because they don't have that extra 800K.
Pretend to have some mystical no dickheads policy and then recruit Nick Davies, Barry Hall and Mitch Morton.
Have the most ignorant, fair weather supporters in the game.
The old "bloods" mentality that their Melbourne supporters crap on about, "Get over it, it died when Edelstone took over since then you have been nothing but a whore."

Id still take Hayes.......Imnot biased though...
And Hayes would probably have been a premiership player

SinCitySainter

They are no better at it than any other side they just tend not to develop their own players.
Don't forget Dempster was just a run of the mill player when he was with them, but he came to us and became an All Australian defender.
It is nothing to do with their culture, they just tend to trade for players more because they have that extra bit of cash in their salary cap.
That simply means that while most clubs are forced to develop their own they can just watch how the development is going and then swoop.
They are scum and are nothing to admire.

But seriously how do you really feel about them??

Didnt we smash them on lenny's special day

Oh well

SinCitySainter wrote:Pretend to have some mystical no dickheads policy..........
Paul Roos.

Exactly, equals 3 more decent or 2 more gun players... Plus the very dubious circumstances surrounding K Jacks drafting helps, he is a beauty.
So which 2-3 guns would they be

LRT, Richards, McGlynn, Pike etc

Give them some credit

They have cobbled together a group of journeymen players to create a sensational team, with the emphasis on TEAM

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Does Swan's model involve a Carbon Tax? :wink:

They normally look to St Kilda when they need a Full Forward

Lockett
Hall
Walsh

2 out of 3 aint bad..... :lol:

Let's all hope the Hawks turn up next week and somehow win the flag.

bobmurray wrote:They normally look to St Kilda when they need a Full Forward

Lockett
Hall
Walsh

Soooooo, would Kosi like to move to Sin City?
Maybe the warmer climate might help prolong his career?
What would they give us for him?
Have they got any more Sean Dempsters...? :wink:

Even if you are a long term naughty boy, hey no matter, play in the Grand Final, cos Baz if ya do not play maybe Sydney will not win by a point and we at the AFL would not like that....2005.

Lockett
Hall
Walsh

Even though Walsh has so far been no good, and may never be any good, it still peeves me.

Fact is that the Swans thought Walsh would be good and decided to help themselves to him, just like the other two blokes.

Lockett
Hall
Walsh

Even though Walsh has so far been no good, and may never be any good, it still peeves me.

Fact is that the Swans thought Walsh would be good and decided to help themselves to him, just like the other two blokes.

Lockett
Hall
Walsh

Correct..karma really that it finally didn't work for them :lol:

maybe next time they'll look elsewhere :roll:

hungry for a premiership

Sainternist wrote:Sydney didn't have to play the power force that was Geelong (circa 2007-2011) in a GF.

During our window of opportunity, we were just unlucky.

Geelong become a power force because we lost to them in a GF we controlled for the majority. You make your own history.

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."