Caddy gone

felix

Caddy gone

From the hun BREAKING NEWS: GEELONG has pulled off the Josh Caddy trade, trumping a range of clubs including St Kilda and North Melbourne to secure the rising Gold Coast star.

RECOMMENDED COVERAGE
Sun fighting heart problem
Brown simply wants game time

The Cats will send their Gary Ablett compensation pick north and trade an early draft pick with the Suns to secure the inside midfielder.

The deal has not been lodged with the AFL but both Geelong and Gold Coast tonight confirmed they had agreed to the trade.

"We are really pleased we will secure a first round compensation pick, tied to Geelong's finishing position to be used in either the 2013 or 2014 drafts as well as draft selections to be finalised in exchange for relocating Josh Caddy back to Victoria," Suns football manager Marcus Ashcroft said in a statement on the club's website.

The Cats' compensation pick always appealed to the Suns as it allows the new franchise to activate it in either 2013 or 2014 and help spread the age of their young list.

The win is a major coup for the Cats, which missed out on landing Port Adelaide's Travis Boak earlier this year.

Caddy has played 24 games in two years at Gold Coast and was taken with Pick No. 7 - one ahead of Essendon's Dyson Heppell - in the 2010 draft.

Ironically, it was the compensation pick the AFL handed the Cats for losing superstar Gary Ablett to Gold Coast which clinched the deal.

It followed Melbourne handing pick its Tom Scully compensation pick to GWS yesterday in a deal which ultimately landed 17-year-old power forward Jesse Hogan to the Dees.

Re: Caddy gone

Mark Robinson ‏@Robbo_heraldsun
caddy to Cats, and the next will be hamish mcintosh to Cats. Good going by the champs down the highway. @superfooty

sainterinsydney

I think this guy was definitely overhyped, to be honest.

sainterinsydney wrote:I think this guy was definitely overhyped, to be honest.
I more think the hype needs to be about securing guys we desperately need.

Hope he is as big a dud as Tambling.

Would have been a gun for us. :wink:

Cats s*** me... Take Ablett with pick 40, get 2 flags & a brownlow, then convert him into 2 potential 200 game future guns.

SaintTom

dragit wrote:Cats s*** me... Take Ablett with pick 40, get 2 flags & a brownlow, then convert him into 2 potential 200 game future guns.
How dare they do what the system squarely allows them to do!

tweedaletomanning

SaintTom wrote:
dragit wrote:Cats s*** me... Take Ablett with pick 40, get 2 flags & a brownlow, then convert him into 2 potential 200 game future guns.
It's the system that's f*****ed

no dount the system is no good.
But.. history will be the judge. I hope is is average and we get a gun at 13 :)

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz............................................................

Yaysaints

Our problem is no father / son picks. It has helped Geelong
Collingwood and the dogs.
I'm sure that we have far fewer 100 game players than any
other team so our history repeats to screw us.

Shattered... I think the BJ hurt is now setting in that we haven't got Caddy... with McIntosh, Caddy, Varcoe and Menzel they will be close to the flag again next year...

We will rue the day we missed out on him. But now we are going to pay overs for a developing ruck and we are going to be stuffed around losing a first rounder for very little... not happy at all

Not sure Ablett was ever touted as a top pick anyhow, ala Viney, Danniher this year??...

Perhaps the father/son pick at 40-odd was even considered a bit high at that stage, I cant remember exactly, but recall talk that his name got him a long way to being drafted/rated, and his talent wasn't anything outrageous..

It helps that he developed late and works as hard as anybody ever has..

Shrewd trading.

Sobraz wrote:Not sure Ablett was ever touted as a top pick anyhow, ala Viney, Danniher this year??...

Perhaps the father/son pick at 40-odd was even considered a bit high at that stage, I cant remember exactly, but recall talk that his name got him a long way to being drafted/rated, and his talent wasn't anything outrageous..

Shrewd trading.

Correct. He was always a second or third rounder.

Regardless if we get Hickey or not I think we should also go after Dawson SIMPSON at Geelong as he will be squeezed out when McIntosh arrives and will be looking for other opportunities. IMO he is sound ruckmen that has been very unlucky with the timing of his injuries and the players in front of him at Geelong.

I'm not shattered. Geelong always had the upper hand with their compensation pick, so it was never going to fall our way. The club is not to blame. Obviously, they offered a reasonable draft pick (perhaps more than a reasonable one in my estimation) and Geelong paid overs and got their man. They can have him. With picks 13 and 24, we're in a perfect position to secure a player just as good as Caddy, if not better. This is not going to hurt us one bit. Don't fret.

Not sure I want another Dawson! :oops:

Colour me relieved. Lock down Pick 13 for the Draft, please.

Megsie

caddy "17th" in their B&F. Look how bright our future is with Milly & Saady.
Dont always have to have the best to achieve great things in footy.

linmarnic

I'm relieved too. Something just did not feel right about him. I think that who ever got him was going to pay overs because of the demand for him from a number of clubs. I reckon we can do better with our pick 13.

Never give up

Not sure he's worth that high a pick, gold coast were after the Ablett comp pick to use in 2014. We were always going to pay over the odds . Think we can do as good a player with our pick for Goddard

I would've been happy to land him - but I'm think I feel better knowing we still have the first round pick.

Sobraz wrote:Not sure Ablett was ever touted as a top pick anyhow, ala Viney, Danniher this year??...

Shrewd trading.

Correct. He was always a second or third rounder.
Well unless we borrow BM's time machine, we'll never know if clubs would have bid for him earlier under the amended rules…

Gaz may not have been forced to a first round, but Hawkins certainly would have, meaning Selwood wouldn't be there…

Don't even get me started here… If the rules had been changed 10 years ago, 'the greatest team of all' would have been lucky to win one flag.

SaintTom wrote:
Geelong haven't created the system, doesn't mean they don't s*** me.

Why does the system allow 2 first round draft picks for players lost to the expansion clubs, but not under free agency?

Scully is twice the player of Goddard, makes loads of sense.

I think Caddy will be a gun as long as injury and luck are on his side. He has something about him and I'm pretty disappointed. I hope we go hard at Ben Jacobs from Port now and use our pick 13 on a great mid from the draft- Calquhoun with our second pick please, he's like Swallow from North just keeps racking possessions all day and should go just outside the top tier of players. There are at least heaps of good kids this year, Ben Kennedy could be ok but with our first I hope we get mayes which was apparently one we have been speaking to and looks pretty good.