Gilham

luc1966

Gilham

Ok we can talk about the Gillies,Otten, Frawley ect but This name has some substance with TWR saying that we are into Gilham if Brown dosn't come through

Re: Gilham

luc1966 wrote:Ok we can talk about the Gillies,Otten, Frawley ect but This name has some substance with TWR saying that we are into Gilham if Brown dosn't come through

Short term when we arent a short term GF hope. Still reckon we are certain to get Frawley.

I'd have a look at him for cheap investment pending his knee is sound.

too small - if your going him - might as well just swap raph for Bower from carlton

28 years old. Will he help take us forward to the promised land?

Even if he came cheap I'd rather leaves spots open for developing players.

savatage wrote:I'd have a look at him for cheap investment pending his knee is sound.

It is a spot on the list though so it isnt cheap. If we got everyone that people said if he comes cheap we should get him we would have 90 on the list at an average age of 28. We arent in premiership mode.

Well I'm hardly one of those people getting excited about every delisted player going around - however, we have about ten spots on our senior list & we have no key defender depth. If he helps us for a couple of seasons in our most vulnerable position then I hardly think it'll be an issue, like I said - knee pending.

savatage wrote:Well I'm hardly one of those people getting excited about every delisted player going around - however, we have about ten spots on our senior list & we have no key defender depth. If he helps us for a couple of seasons in our most vulnerable position then I hardly think it'll be an issue, like I said - knee pending.

Think we only have about 5 spots and we need to upgrade a rookie or two.

I cant see any reason why we would look at a 28yo injury prone guy when we already have a list top heavy with >28s.

Rubbish footballer...

This is getting silly, if it isnt already..

savatage wrote:Well I'm hardly one of those people getting excited about every delisted player going around - however, we have about ten spots on our senior list & we have no key defender depth. If he helps us for a couple of seasons in our most vulnerable position then I hardly think it'll be an issue, like I said - knee pending.

We have 9 draft picks currently & will be delisting at least one more - so there will be enough spots available.

savatage wrote:

We have 9 draft picks currently & will be delisting at least one more - so there will be enough spots available.

How do you work out 9 picks at the moment?

savatage wrote:
plugger66 wrote: Think we only have about 5 spots and we need to upgrade a rookie or two.
The 9 draft picks aren't relevant, they're just indicative of what picks you have if there's spaces available on your list.

So far we've had a few out and Lee in. May bring in Hickey and/or Brown. May lose Cripps and/or Ray. May upgrade a Rookie or Two. May trade or delist some more.

How many picks we end up with on Draft Day is wholly dependant on our list numbers at the time.

SaintTom

Thing is, if we can't get someone this year we might go after someone like Gilham for a short term thing, and grab someone else next year (maybe Brown when he leaves). We need a full back next year, and whilst I don't think Gilham is at all the answer, I wouldn't be surprised if everything else falls through for us to have a 1 year band-aid solution.

How do you work out 9 picks at the moment?
If I wanted to work it out, I could just count the number of gaps in our list - however the AFL website & pretty much every AFL related website with a list of the upcoming draft selections shows us with 9 current selections. Like I said, more to be delisted so that number will grow - so even if we do elevate a couple of rookies at a minimum & even if we don't necessarily want to use every single spot on our list, we will still have enough spots available.

savatage wrote:
plugger66 wrote: Think we only have about 5 spots and we need to upgrade a rookie or two.
The 9 draft picks aren't relevant, they're just indicative of what picks you have if there's spaces available on your list.

So far we've had a few out and Lee in. May bring in Hickey and/or Brown. May lose Cripps and/or Ray. May upgrade a Rookie or Two. May trade or delist some more.

How many picks we end up with on Draft Day is wholly dependant on our list numbers at the time.
Yes mate I know how it works - but like I said, if we have a hole in our list (and we certainly do with key defenders) the fact is the club may want to bolster this up. It may not be a Gilham - but if a deal for Brown cannot be done, you can bet a similar type of player will be looked at. There will also be more delistings.

SaintTom wrote:Thing is, if we can't get someone this year we might go after someone like Gilham for a short term thing, and grab someone else next year (maybe Brown when he leaves). We need a full back next year, and whilst I don't think Gilham is at all the answer, I wouldn't be surprised if everything else falls through for us to have a 1 year band-aid solution.
Maybe there's someone out there with a lower profile, maybe in one of the State Leagues, who can provide us with the band aid, but who may also be able to develop into a longer term option.

SaintTom wrote:Thing is, if we can't get someone this year we might go after someone like Gilham for a short term thing, and grab someone else next year (maybe Brown when he leaves). We need a full back next year, and whilst I don't think Gilham is at all the answer, I wouldn't be surprised if everything else falls through for us to have a 1 year band-aid solution.
Exactly.

savatage wrote:

Yes mate I know how it works - but like I said, if we have a hole in our list (and we certainly do with key defenders) the fact is the club may want to bolster this up. It may not be a Gilham - but if a deal for Brown cannot be done, you can bet a similar type of player will be looked at. There will also be more delistings.

I would love to know how we have 9 spots available at the moment. Can you advise how that is?

Like I said there WILL be more delistings & potentially a couple traded out so spots will come up.

Chubby chequer

Is Milne up for grabs? On the footy field that is

Chubby chequer

Is Milne up for grabs? On the footy field that is

savatage wrote:Like I said there WILL be more delistings & potentially a couple traded out so spots will come up.

So at the moment is there 5 or 9?

Maybe there's someone out there with a lower profile, maybe in one of the State Leagues, who can provide us with the band aid, but who may also be able to develop into a longer term option.
Absolutely.

savatage wrote:Like I said there WILL be more delistings & potentially a couple traded out so spots will come up.

So at the moment is there 5 or 9?
Going by what we have "announced" as our delisted players as of this very moment - it's actually 6.