WA players ... for those with a better memory than me

hey Guys was having a conversation the other day with a mate about the saints players from WA we came up with the following list but im sure there are many more that we had forgoten ... please feel free to add to the list ....

Tom Ledger
Tom Lee
Clint Jones
Farren Ray
Beau Maister/Wilkes
Trent Dennis-Lane
Nicky Winmar
George Young(he counts cause he was drafted from WA)
Verdun Howell ( yes he is a tassie boy but we claim him as he has been in WA for many many years)
Phil Cronan
Craig Calaghan
Gavin Mitchell
Bruce Duperouzel
Brian Sierakowski
David Sierakowski
Paul Harding
Brett Peake
Luke Miles
Mark Hutchings
Jamie Cripps
Michael Gardiner
John McIntosh
Russel Reynolds
Alan Sidebottom
Garry Sidebottom
Nick Winmar
Jamie Cripps
Ken Mann
Phil Narkle
Warrick Andreoli
Alistair Smith

Verdun66

Re: WA players ... for those with a better memory than me

Jim Krakouer.

And if you are putting Verdun in there because he has lived there so long, Allan Killigrew. Lived there many years, and passed away there.
Last edited by Verdun66 on Fri 15 Mar 2013 7:01pm, edited 1 time in total.

Was Sean Charles a WA product?

gringo wrote:Was Sean Charles a WA product?
not from memory ... i remember he originally played for the Dees then he broke his leg before coming to us during the Blighty period

Rob Malone our no.1 pick in '92. No senior games. From Claremont. Ended up as manager of NZAFL.
Gary McDonald. Famous name, modest record. 14 games in 3 years. From Swan Districts.

Verdun66 wrote:Jim Krakouer.

And if you are putting Verdun in there because he has lived there so long, Allan Killigrew. Lived there many years, and passed away there.
we claim Verdun as he also had a large involvment in footy in WA during his many years over here from memory Alan Killigrew came to WA to retire ... but hey ill claim him all the same :)

Brian Serra was a brighton boy.

Verdun66

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:
Verdun66 wrote:Jim Krakouer.

we claim Verdun as he also had a large involvment in footy in WA during his many years over here from memory Alan Killigrew came to WA to retire ... but hey ill claim him all the same :)
I am a massive fan of Verdun, but understand his time at Claremont coaching was not that successful. Killa coached Subiaco for a season. Was his last gig I think.

White Winmar wrote:Rob Malone our no.1 pick in '92. No senior games. From Claremont. Ended up as manager of NZAFL.
Gary McDonald. Famous name, modest record. 14 games in 3 years. From Swan Districts.
ahhh possibly one of the worst first round draft picks in the history of the draft Rob Malone ....

Unfortunately, I have to agree, St. Trav. At a time we needed a quick, prolific ball winner, we got Rob. Think Dean Greig, but with absolutely no leg speed, or Dean's ball winning ability. Speaking of Dean Greig, was he one of the greatest unfulfilled talents in our history? Could've been anything. Career was all too short and then he lost a leg after suffering a Matt Maguire like fracture. Tragic in every sense.

plugger66 wrote:Brian Serra was a brighton boy.
he represented WA in the state of origin and played over 100 games for Subiaco .. we claim him Pluggs :wink:

by that same note we are almost claiming Mark McGough as a WA boy :wink:

Thomas

Sean charles originally from Powelltown FC in the Yarra Valley Football district.

When the going gets tough,the tough gets going.

CARN THE SAINTS.

White Winmar wrote:Unfortunately, I have to agree, St. Trav. At a time we needed a quick, prolific ball winner, we got Rob. Think Dean Greig, but with absolutely no leg speed, or Dean's ball winning ability. Speaking of Dean Greig, was he one of the greatest unfulfilled talents in our history? Could've been anything. Career was all too short and then he lost a leg after suffering a Matt Maguire like fracture. Tragic in every sense.
i just googled Dean Greig ... what a debut game he had 39 disposals (23 Kicks, 16 Handballs) against Carlton his record still stands today WOW :shock:

Thomas

Heath Black,Although born in Victoria was recruited from fremantle, (does he qualifie as a sandgroper?)

When the going gets tough,the tough gets going.

CARN THE SAINTS.

Thomas wrote:Heath Black,Although born in Victoria was recruited from fremantle, (does he qualifie as a sandgroper?)
personally i would say no otherwise we would have to consider any former eagle or docker to come to the saints as a WA player ....

i reckon the rule should be that they were either drafted from WA born in WA represented WA in SofO or lived more than 20 years in WA and had some influence in WA footy :wink: but hey im just making this up as i go :lol:

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:
White Winmar wrote:Unfortunately, I have to agree, St. Trav. At a time we needed a quick, prolific ball winner, we got Rob. Think Dean Greig, but with absolutely no leg speed, or Dean's ball winning ability. Speaking of Dean Greig, was he one of the greatest unfulfilled talents in our history? Could've been anything. Career was all too short and then he lost a leg after suffering a Matt Maguire like fracture. Tragic in every sense.
i just googled Dean Greig ... what a debut game he had 39 disposals (23 Kicks, 16 Handballs) against Carlton his record still stands today WOW :shock:
Apart from that extraordinary game, he produced a blinder against the Swans in the famous "plugger smashes Caven" match. While plugger almost single handedly won it, Greig's last quarter was extraordinary and included a check side goal on the run from 40 out on the boundary and a torp bomb goal from inside the centre square. Throw in a couple of assists and it's fair to say he wasn't far behind the great man in engineering the swines downfall.

Sorry or hijacking the thread. If he wasn't a West Australian, maybe he should've been.

I didn't realise super duper was from WA. Where is he now? I remember him coming to our school for a coaching clinic.

Verdun66

Cairnsman wrote:I didn't realise super duper was from WA. Where is he now? I remember him coming to our school for a coaching clinic.
Duper played cricket for WA as did George Young. Talented blokes to say the least. Quite a few WA cricketers then were Wafl footballers as well.

Verdun66 wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:I didn't realise super duper was from WA. Where is he now? I remember him coming to our school for a coaching clinic.
Duper played cricket for WA as did George Young. Talented blokes to say the least. Quite a few WA cricketers then were Wafl footballers as well.

And they both played cricket at Bentleigh in the subbys.

Verdun66

Verdun66 wrote:

And they both played cricket at Bentleigh in the subbys.
Some good judges I have heard say that George could have played cricket for Australia if he'd not played football.

St Trav on your list have Jamie Cripps twice or did you mean Jason.

saintbrat wrote:St Trav on your list have Jamie Cripps twice or did you mean Jason.

Why would he mean Jason? There may be a De La in Perth but Jason didnt go there.

Didn't Duper and Georgie both score first class hundreds?

Apologies. Georgia did, Duper didn't. Still, they both played Sheffield Shield for WA. Duper's brother Gary found some fame as a first class and WSC umpire. But George Young, what a gun. Still one of my heroes and definitely in my "best ever" saints team.

Verdun66

White Winmar wrote:Didn't Duper and Georgie both score first class hundreds?
George yes, Duper no.