Griffen vs Jones

Another stellar tagging job from CJ.

Jones

12 disposals (4 contested)
9 clangers
1 goal
3 inside 50s
4 clearances

Griffen

30 disposals (17 contested)
2 goals
11 inside 50s
9 clearances
3 clangers

And yet people still want him in the team? More value than seeing if Ledger and Curren are any good?

Re: Griffen vs Jones

Plays football like a chook without a head ...

I'm over discussing it.

Heaps of saints adore him, never questioned his effort, but we'd of been better with Geary with a hard tag

He isn't the future IMO

Why is he getting games still? Why is he even on the list. St Kilda have a sad history of pumping 100s of games into blokes who would (and do) struggle at state level.

WHY?

SainterK wrote:I'm over discussing it.

Heaps of saints adore him, never questioned his effort, but we'd of been better with Geary with a hard tag

He isn't the future IMO
I agree. I like Jones and he played some fantastic games for St Kilda, but his best was around 2009-10. In that team, with that style of game play he was right at home.
I think now our game has passed by him, and with his poor disposal skills he can't offer much as a genuine midfielder in his own right.

WAFL standard. Thanks for the memories but it's time.

Agreed. The effort is unquestionable but the skills are lamentable and the decision making ... well, when he gave away that 50 metre penalty for failing to give the ball back to Griffen, um, not good.

I'd be interested to know the stats up to 25 mins in the 3rd Q. Up to that point it seemed like CJ was winning. After that it was a landslide the other way...

Seriously time to upgrade Curren and see what he's got at the higher level.

Richter wrote:I'd be interested to know the stats up to 25 mins in the 3rd Q. Up to that point it seemed like CJ was winning. After that it was a landslide the other way...

Seriously time to upgrade Curren and see what he's got at the higher level.
At that stage it was about 9 disposals to 20. Wouldn't call it winning.

Fair enough. At the game so didn't see the stats. CJ had had his assist and goal by then, it just seemed like Griffen and Boyd tore us a new one in the final Q.

Geary would have been better on Griffen and Curren as an extra ball winner.

SainterK wrote:I'm over discussing it.

He isn't the future IMO
Adore is a word that I think you are hyping up.

Midfield wise Geary is just a CJ mark 2. has shown nothing to suggest he can use the ball well in the midfield.
Geary was a poor user of the ball tonight under pressure.

Time to give guys like Curren a go. We need to find some genuine Mids who can use the ball.

Until we can find some true Mids we are dead meat.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sat 25 May 2013 9:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

Remind me how Murphy went on Geary?

He is not Jones mark 2, ridiculous comment.

Clinton is adored, but his best is over.

Hard tag or no tag

SainterK wrote:Remind me how Murphy went on Geary?

Hard tag or no tag
CJ mark 2 on that he can tag but not hurt with good ball use.

We need players on the ball who can hurt the opposition .

You cannot just be negative and win games
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sun 26 May 2013 2:55am, edited 1 time in total.

SainterK wrote:Remind me how Murphy went on Geary?

Hard tag or no tag
CJ mark 2 on that he can tag but not hurt with good ball use.

We need players on the ball who can hurt the opposition .

You cannot judt be negative and win games
Where does your perception of Geary being a bad ball user come from? He's not going to consistently hit targets 50m away but I wouldn't say he's a bad kick. Nor does he panic and look for easy sideways/backwards options all the time. He was the only player on the ground to have 100% disposal efficiency tonight. He's also had 5 goal assists from his 13 inside 50's this year, which is an excellent conversion rate.

He's no Goddard but I wouldn't say Geary is any less effective with the ball than Lenny.

Exactly, involved in the scoring chain and hurts his opponent.

It was working and we went backwards tonight

Richter wrote:I'd be interested to know the stats up to 25 mins in the 3rd Q. Up to that point it seemed like CJ was winning. After that it was a landslide the other way...
Dunno about winning, but your general point is fair. Unlike just a few years ago, we have no last quarter legs (with a couple of exceptions).

Lol, good luck MSG but for some bizarre reason a large % of supporters and sadly our coaches simply can't/won't see this.

Between Clint's leadership, hardwork, the energy that he brings to the team and some of the flashy stuff that he does on the field e.g. Take the ball a run fast for 10m + running all day etc they just don't see how average he is and has been. His form has been in decline since mid 2010 and he has been below par/sub standard since 2011.

All that's changed is that we're worse as a team.

Clint is a poor tagger. His opponents regularly tear us apart. His disposal ranges from horrendous to ok... He fumbles, and frequently slows down play to either pass short unnecessarily coz his disposal is poor, or he fumbles. He isn't good enough or effective enough to be an inside mid, doesnt break enough lines to be an outside one... The guy is just an out an out liability

For whatever reason there will always be fans that will throw down the lines of 'no lets not play Curren, Ledger, Saunders, Dunnel' coz they are untried and not dominating'. Lets persists with the go Jones mediocrity plan

mad saint guy wrote:
Where does your perception of Geary being a bad ball user come from? .
Well firstly I have stated he is a bad ball user asa mid in heavy traffic. All mids are less accurate under the pump, but Geary is no damaging mid.

So now we have cleared up what I have said , from watching the game. In heavy traffic he is poor.

Don't be confused with his kicking when he is in space as a running hb, bp.

Geary will not be our saviour as an in and under mid.

Like CJ was, Geary is a role player. Hard at it like CJ was.

But if Geary is our future as a mid, then get used to being bottom 4.

Geary will probably play 200 games. But star mid he is not.

skeptic wrote:
For whatever reason there will always be fans that will throw down the lines of 'no lets not play Curren, Ledger, Saunders, Dunnel' coz they are untried and not dominating'. Lets persists with the go Jones mediocrity plan

If you mean me, that is not what I have said at all.

I want our next generation mids played. I just do not believe that Geary is the answer. On the ball he is a tagger.
I want to get some games into younger mids that may become damaging mids.

We need replacements for Lenny, Dal and Joey.

saint6

suss wrote:Agreed. The effort is unquestionable but the skills are lamentable and the decision making ... well, when he gave away that 50 metre penalty for failing to give the ball back to Griffen, um, not good.
he put the ball right into griffens hands. Not his fault that that the sook did not close them to hold the ball. Totally fooled the umpire and obviously fooled you as well

Agree, it's now time to see who else can step up. Griffin is a hard-at-it player, with good speed. I was surprised that Jones was left on him all night - try Ray for a quarter, or even Monty to slow Griffin down.

Not u specifically Srs,

It was a general slurr at some forumites but no one directly ;)

skeptic wrote:

Not u specifically Srs,

It was a general slurr at some forumites but no one directly ;)
Yes it is tie to start rotating through more of the players that "could" be part of our future team. We need to start trying ore out to sort the wheat from the chaff....plus give some of the underveloped kids a "a taste" even though White etc may not be ready physically.

We do not want cop 100 point hidings though, and so let's not do a Melbourne and cut too many of the older players at once. So it is a big question of how any experienced bods to not play.

What is making it harder this year is that virtually all of the older/experienced players are below par wit the notable exception of Roo.
I mean take Fisher yesterday against the dogs. Only a shadow of what he was.

The desire that fuels work-rate is simply not there. Too many of the old guard are just going through the motions.

One good aspect is that the Watters/Pelchen fetish to play too any small forwards and not enough mids seems to have at last been broken.

Junction Oval wrote:Agree, it's now time to see who else can step up. Griffin is a hard-at-it player, with good speed. I was surprised that Jones was left on him all night - try Ray for a quarter, or even Monty to slow Griffin down.
Excatly. Griffen is 188cm. Why was Ray or Dempster not rotated onto him? Both are guys that can tag, who had the height to match him when he pushed forward?

But that was yesterday, with who was available.
It is time to spread the net wider.

I think it's too negative to go into any game with more than 1 tagger. I believe that Jaryn Geary is our best stopper and that the rest of our midfield should back themselves in by going "Head to Head" with whoever is in there !!