memories of the 60's - Oakley

http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio ... art-1/8115

Ross Oakley played 62 games for the Saints in the 60's

Re: memories of the 60's - Oakley

At least he didn't play in our Premiership side.

Enrico_Misso wrote:At least he didn't play in our Premiership side.
What an ignorant and foolish comment. Ross Oakley was an absolute champion St Kilda player. He started the same year as Darrel Baldock (1962) and had almost as much skill. In the days when teams had permanent wingmen (as in all other positions), he was ideally suited to the wing. He wasn't tall (178cm) but was fast. He was rarely chasing bums, but running away from opponents with the ball after having won the contest. And he was tough - think Lenny Hayes tough. Like Lenny, he was rubbed out a few times for accidentally taking a few blokes' heads off. He could kick either foot (something most of our current players can't do) and was expert in the drop kick and stab pass. And best of all, he could take a contested mark - over his head or above the pack - also something few of our current players can do.

Ross was part of the best centre line in the League at the time - Oakley, Stewart and Read. He debuted as a 19 year old but played his last game before his 24th birthday. He fell to the the St Kilda curse - a knee injury. He was injured in the 1965 SF and missed the GF that year. After playing the last 8 games of 1966, including the final H&A game against Hawthorn where he kicked 3 goals (some will know the significance of that), he was again injured in the 1966 SF, and never played again. He was missed badly in both GFs.

I had the pleasure of talking with him in 2009 in Launceston at the '66 reunion. His disappointment at missing the GFs remained strong. Although it was not much solace, I told him that we would never have made either GF if he hadn't been part of the team. He tended to play in winning Saints teams, a bit like Aaron Hamill - and for the same reason - his attack on the ball or the opponent with the ball. Like Aaron, this approach made him susceptible to injury and luck wasn't with him. The 1966 flag belongs to many others than just the 20 who played that day. Ross Oakley is one of them.

Agree with his fine contribution as a player.

But he blotted his copybook post his playing days in the eyes of most supporters.
He was the Dimwit of his day, only less popular.

I'm pretty sure most North supporters wouldn't be proudly boasting that Dimwit used to play with them.
Ditto for Ross and StKilda.

Who could ever forget the "rousing" reception he got on GF day.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Agree with his fine contribution as a player.

But he blotted his copybook post his playing days in the eyes of most supporters.

I'm pretty sure most North supporters wouldn't be proudly boasting that Dimwit used to play with them.
Ditto for Ross and StKilda.

Who could ever forget the "rousing" reception he got on GF day.

a fine saints footballer, who's career was cut short by injury ..to our detriment.......and later the most hated man in victoria......good listening to him...thanks for the link.....

Schillaci

perfectionist wrote:
What an ignorant and foolish comment. Ross Oakley was an absolute champion St Kilda player. He started the same year as Darrel Baldock (1962) and had almost as much skill. In the days when teams had permanent wingmen (as in all other positions), he was ideally suited to the wing. He wasn't tall (178cm) but was fast. He was rarely chasing bums, but running away from opponents with the ball after having won the contest. And he was tough - think Lenny Hayes tough. Like Lenny, he was rubbed out a few times for accidentally taking a few blokes' heads off. He could kick either foot (something most of our current players can't do) and was expert in the drop kick and stab pass. And best of all, he could take a contested mark - over his head or above the pack - also something few of our current players can do.

Ross was part of the best centre line in the League at the time - Oakley, Stewart and Read. He debuted as a 19 year old but played his last game before his 24th birthday. He fell to the the St Kilda curse - a knee injury. He was injured in the 1965 SF and missed the GF that year. After playing the last 8 games of 1966, including the final H&A game against Hawthorn where he kicked 3 goals (some will know the significance of that), he was again injured in the 1966 SF, and never played again. He was missed badly in both GFs.

I had the pleasure of talking with him in 2009 in Launceston at the '66 reunion. His disappointment at missing the GFs remained strong. Although it was not much solace, I told him that we would never have made either GF if he hadn't been part of the team. He tended to play in winning Saints teams, a bit like Aaron Hamill - and for the same reason - his attack on the ball or the opponent with the ball. Like Aaron, this approach made him susceptible to injury and luck wasn't with him. The 1966 flag belongs to many others than just the 20 who played that day. Ross Oakley is one of them.
I knew Oakley was a Saint, a wingman and generally liked as a footballer but didn't know he missed both GFs. Thanks for posting that.

Oakley,Stewart,Reid,that brings back memories,very classy and oh so tough,as good as any in its day

Thanks for that explination Perfectionist, as a 10 yo in the mid 1960's I only have vuage memories of Reid & Oakley, but I remember Ian Stewart very well. Feel free to share your views of other players from that era.

He was a super nice guy when I met him. I hated the job he did at the time but we owe more to him as a reluctant administrator than anyone. I wasn't born in the 60s so can only take peoples word for his playing days.

saintpeter

Great player was Ross Oakley, I watched one of his last (if not the last) games at the Fitzroy ground. I think it was in 1966. Anyway, he took a mark on the boundary. Maybe 30 yards (in those days young fellas). I was sitting on the fence. First time I ever saw a banana kick. right through the middle. Such a shame that his career was finished so young. We all forget what a great player he was and what potential he had. We have had a lot of bad luck with knee injuries. John McIntosh for example. Came second or third in his 2nd season in the VFL in the brownlow medal (correct me if I am wrong about year or place).

Been a saints fan since I can remember (1965 is my earliest recollection of a game .. Dad took my brother and I to watch his beloved Richmond .. saints won by 65 points and Ian Cooper took one of the best marks I have ever seen, the one on the wing).

Will never change teams. We are in for a hard few years now unfortunately. But we have done this before. Savour the victories when they come, savuor the good efforts and be excited by the efforts of the young prospects. This is what supporting a football team is all about.

Premierships happen every now and then but they are not what sustains a true football fan

Saints in 2018

Peter, only slightly pissed

saintpeter wrote:... We have had a lot of bad luck with knee injuries. John McIntosh for example. Came second or third in his 2nd season in the VFL in the brownlow medal (correct me if I am wrong about year or place)....
No, your are right Peter, not only did he come 2nd in his second season, he came 5th in his first! John McIntosh's foot skills were amazing - in the same category as Ian Stewart, Tony Lockett, Nicky Winmar and Joel Smith. As usual, our luck was all bad and he was injured in the SF against Hawthorn in 1971 and missed the GF - just like Ross Oakley in '65 and '66. His career was finally finished in the fourth game of 1972. We were playing Collingwood, and Terry Waters (a good player in his day) was well past it and playing what turned out to be his third last game. He was chasing the ball with John behind him. Waters fell over his own feet, and John crashed into to him snapping his knee. Career over after just 51 games. A similar fate fell to Joel Smith 26 years later - he feel over Richard Osborne who was with his 4th club at Collingwood and well past his best.

Enrico_Misso wrote:But he blotted his copybook post his playing days in the eyes of most supporters.
Makes you wonder if the boss of the AFL is ever going to be popular? Maybe it's a tough job but someone's got to do it.

Toy Saint wrote:Thanks for that explination Perfectionist, as a 10 yo in the mid 1960's I only have vuage memories of Reid & Oakley, but I remember Ian Stewart very well. Feel free to share your views of other players from that era.
jimmy read was one of the toughest and without any doubt the dirtiest player ever to pull on a saints jumper ...put three players in hospital in a three week period from memory.....sharp elbows do a lot of damage to young faces....a very young barry davis from the dons being one of them...shattered his whole face.........read got ten weeks from memory for that but was back in time to play in the grand final.........we had been the best team all year ...the dons fourth best...but there was no way they weren't going to belt us........he also played in the winning grannie the year after.......

saints66

A good player and a versatile one. I seem to remember he played at full forward in '66 and kicked a couple of bags. Amazing when you consider that he was under 6 foot.

saints66 wrote:A good player and a versatile one. I seem to remember he played at full forward in '66 and kicked a couple of bags. Amazing when you consider that he was under 6 foot.
So was Baldock, wasn't he?

saints66 wrote:A good player and a versatile one. I seem to remember he played at full forward in '66 and kicked a couple of bags. Amazing when you consider that he was under 6 foot.
Ross never played at full forward - almost always on the wing, a few times on the ball. In 1966, Cowboy was our man at FF for most of the year.

Up until 1984, the VFL (as it was known then) was "run" by a board of directors - being one director from each club, so it was not "independent". Ross became Chairman of the new Commission in 1986. The first of the new interstate clubs (WCE and Brisbane) were introduced in 1987, although South Melbourne has previously transferred to Sydney in 1982. The VFL became the AFL in 1990. Ross saw the futher expansion of the AFL during his time to 1996 (Adelaide 1990, Freo 1995), when he was CEO. If anyone can claim to be the father of the national competition it is him. If you think the AFL has been good for footy, then thanks should go to Ross. I think it has, although their one big mistake is not having a Tassie team. I think Ross agrees. It should have been the Tassie Devils before the Giants (and Suns). It is always a lot easier to chip from the sidelines rather than get in and do things.
Last edited by perfectionist on Thu 06 Jun 2013 12:08pm, edited 1 time in total.

perfectionist wrote:
Ross never played at full forward - almost always on the wing, a few times on the ball. In 1966, Cowboy was our man at FF for most of the year.
during the quoted interview that started this thread...ross stated that he even played fullforward.....

Might have been for part of a game, but that's all. The most number of goals he kicked in a game in 1966 ( he only kicked 4 for the year) was 3, in round 18 which proved to be his second last game. We played Hawthorn, who were 9th and we were 2nd. The closeness of the comp that year meant that had we lost that game, we would not have even made the finals let alone finish in the 4. Richmond would have taken our place in the 4 and our flag erased from history. Darrel Baldock had a knee injury and was initially not selected to even play but was belatedly named as reserve as a bit of insurance. It was still intended that he would not play. In those days, there was no interchange and it was quite usual for one or both reserves not to get a run at all. They were only used for an injury, if the teams was so far up it didn't matter, or if the team was in dire straights and something needed to be done. Despite playing at Moorabbin, half way during the three quarter we were 10 points down. Things looked grim. So confident that he would not be needed, Darrel, who owned racehorses, had gone to Sandown ( he caught the train) to see his horse run. But he had come back to the ground and came on during the third quarter and immediately kicked a goal (finished with 2). We still struggled for the rest of the game and ran out winners by 10 points and the rest is history. But it was the 3 goals from Ross Oakley and 5 from Cowboy that really did the trick. Final score: Saints 14 9, Hawks 13 5.

perfectionist wrote:Might have been for part of a game, but that's all. The most number of goals he kicked in a game in 1966 ( he only kicked 4 for the year) was 3, in round 18 which proved to be his second last game. We played Hawthorn, who were 9th and we were 2nd. The closeness of the comp that year meant that had we lost that game, we would not have even made the finals let alone finish in the 4. Richmond would have taken our place in the 4 and our flag erased from history. Darrel Baldock had a knee injury and was initially not selected to even play but was belatedly named as reserve as a bit of insurance. It was still intended that he would not play. In those days, there was no interchange and it was quite usual for one or both reserves not to get a run at all. They were only used for an injury, if the teams was so far up it didn't matter, or if the team was in dire straights and something needed to be done. Despite playing at Moorabbin, half way during the three quarter we were 10 points down. Things looked grim. So confident that he would not be needed, Darrel, who owned racehorses, had gone to Sandown ( he caught the train) to see his horse run. But he had come back to the ground and came on during the third quarter and immediately kicked a goal (finished with 2). We still struggled for the rest of the game and ran out winners by 10 points and the rest is history. But it was the 3 goals from Ross Oakley and 5 from Cowboy that really did the trick. Final score: Saints 14 9, Hawks 13 5.
Can still remember the all mighty roar when the Doc came on,everyone lifted,even the grandstand ,least it felt like it :)

saints66

perfectionist wrote:

Up until 1984, the VFL (as it was known then) was "run" by a board of directors - being one director from each club, so it was not "independent". Ross became Chairman of the new Commission in 1986. The first of the new interstate clubs (WCE and Brisbane) were introduced in 1987, although South Melbourne has previously transferred to Sydney in 1982. The VFL became the AFL in 1990. Ross saw the futher expansion of the AFL during his time to 1996 (Adelaide 1990, Freo 1995), when he was CEO. If anyone can claim to be the father of the national competition it is him. If you think the AFL has been good for footy, then thanks should go to Ross. I think it has, although their one big mistake is not having a Tassie team. I think Ross agrees. It should have been the Tassie Devils before the Giants (and Suns). It is always a lot easier to chip from the sidelines rather than get in and do things.
He played full forward. Not in '66 as I mistaken stated as he played wing and half forward. He played several games at Full Forward in '65.

Been a saints fan since I can remember (1965 is my earliest recollection of a game .. Dad took my brother and I to watch his beloved Richmond .. saints won by 65 points and Ian Cooper took one of the best marks I have ever seen, the one on the wing).

I also remember an amazing Ian Cooper mark in that era, but can quite remember when or where, was it on the HFF on the granstand side at Moorabin?

The one I remember, Cooper flew over the bloke who flew over a grounded player. Probably got higher than I've ever seen.

Cooper seemed very skinny from memory, I'd guess he was about 6'1" and about 72kgs

Toy Saint wrote:

Cooper seemed very skinny from memory, I'd guess he was about 6'1" and about 72kgs
He was skinny, that pencil thin his body couldn't throw a shadow on the ground. :P His marking was spectacular. He had very strong hands, for such a fragile looking bloke. Once his hands gripped the ball in a marking contest, the ball stuck there.

If I recollect correctly his nickname was chooka.................. had a head like a chook, not the most handsome fellow going around.

Greg T

perfectionist wrote:

Cheers Mate,
What a great article !thanks

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key

I'm impressed anyone can remember the 1960s- I struggle to remember the 90s.

saintpeter wrote:Great player was Ross Oakley, I watched one of his last (if not the last) games at the Fitzroy ground. I think it was in 1966. Anyway, he took a mark on the boundary. Maybe 30 yards (in those days young fellas). I was sitting on the fence. First time I ever saw a banana kick. right through the middle. Such a shame that his career was finished so young. We all forget what a great player he was and what potential he had. We have had a lot of bad luck with knee injuries. John McIntosh for example. Came second or third in his 2nd season in the VFL in the brownlow medal (correct me if I am wrong about year or place).

Will never change teams. We are in for a hard few years now unfortunately. But we have done this before. Savour the victories when they come, savuor the good efforts and be excited by the efforts of the young prospects. This is what supporting a football team is all about.

Premierships happen every now and then but they are not what sustains a true football fan

Saints in 2018

Peter, only slightly pissed
Must be my vintage! I remember seeing Oakley stretchered off during the 66 finals, one of my favourites at the time. Jeff Moran inherited his wing position.

I think the mark of Ian Cooper's you mention was actually against Melbourne over a bloke called Hugh Bromell (or was it Bromage?) in the famous game where Bob Murray and Verdun Howell swapped ends and the rest, as they say, is history.

By the way, how good was Ross Oakley's brother Dennis? The Saints tried everything to lure the Reverend Dennis Oakley from Sandringham but to no avail. He would have been a walk up start in any VFL club but remained a sensational VFA player.