Pick 1

#gosaintas

Pick 1

I would offer Big boy and Armo to GWS for pick 1. Armo will never be an A grader and Big boy, while I like him, is neither a top ruckman or a KPP. He could easily captain GWS and would do a great job. Maybe that wouldn't be enough to tempt them though it would sure as hell improve their team.

Re: Pick 1

#gosaintas wrote:I would offer Big boy and Armo to GWS for pick 1. Armo will never be an A grader and Big boy, while I like him, is neither a top ruckman or a KPP. He could easily captain GWS and would do a great job. Maybe that wouldn't be enough to tempt them though it would sure as hell improve their team.

and diminish ours.....no way hosesay

Would decimate our already weak our core age 23-28yo.

Essentially the argument is

option 1
armo
macca
aish

v
option 2
boyd

id take option 1 any day.

by the way the Victorian media is obsessed with Tom Boyd but look at this bloke:

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/matt-s ... 6674561058
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Thu 11 Jul 2013 6:43pm, edited 1 time in total.

Armo is a very good player and underrated. We are still taking a risk on Boyd being worthy of pick one. Jack Watts anyone?

Ruckmen take years to develop - Keep Macca, keep playing Hickey every week. Develop Lewis Pierce in the reserves.

I'm not completely sold that Tom Boyd will go #1. I still see Scharenberg, Sheed & Aish as being in the mix. We look like getting #3 or4 so any of these would be good !!

Con Gorozidis wrote:Would decimate our already weak our core age 23-28yo.

Essentially the argument is

option 1
armo
macca
aish

v
option 2
boyd

id take option 1 any day.
not correct con

have a look at your options again............

where is pick 3 from option 2
Last edited by chook23 on Thu 11 Jul 2013 6:45pm, edited 1 time in total.

#gosaintas wrote:I would offer Big boy and Armo to GWS for pick 1. Armo will never be an A grader and Big boy, while I like him, is neither a top ruckman or a KPP. He could easily captain GWS and would do a great job. Maybe that wouldn't be enough to tempt them though it would sure as hell improve their team.

i think its 'jose' :D

No, it's 'Jose'

;)

not correct con

have a look at your options again............

where is pick 3 from option 2
yes Sorry! i am wrong!

option 1
armo
macca
aish
pick 22

v
option 2
boyd
aish
pick 22

now that makes things a lot tougher......
depends if we believe a hickey/stanley ruck combo would work? i believe it might.
i think armo is possibly replaced by seb ross....

yeah id probably do it.

if we had both boyd and aish - i think there would be a heck of a lot of excitement when you throw them in with our current crop of kids (roberton, newnes, ross, webster, murdoch, wright, lee, saunders).

that would leave us with 10 blokes under 22 who can seriously play.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Thu 11 Jul 2013 6:57pm, edited 2 times in total.

i think its 'jose' :D

yeah ..i realise that...but too late to change it..... :wink:

Would leave a massive burden in the next year or 2 on Rhys, Hickey, Lee, Roberton, Steven and Newnes.

But if we believe in those 6 blokes to carry some load then it might be worth it.

santazzi

Are you sure we are not a chance to win pick #1 with our own effort ?

Eastern wrote:I'm not completely sold that Tom Boyd will go #1. I still see Scharenberg, Sheed & Aish as being in the mix. We look like getting #3 or4 so any of these would be good !!

This.

Keep Armo and Mac and pick up one of Boyd Scharenberg, Sheed or Aish.

None of those four will have an impact in 2014 to any great extent and we would be looking even worse in the midfield.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Anyone of the top 7 could end up the best top pick player in the draft.... And then there's the roughies.

I reckon only one or two #1 picks have turned out to be the best in their draft

Travis Johntone, Des Headland, Josh Fraser, Brett Delidio, Bryce Gibbs, Matthew Kruzer..... All seen as clear #1 picks

None are the best in their draft

I predict tall The Sth Aussie boy to be elite

scharenberg is a ripper.

Also depends how we rate White and Lee?

If we are happy with these 2 guys - then Macca, Armo, Aish + pick 22 looks pretty friggin good to me.

If we think White and Lee are going to be rubbish - then Boyd looks very tempting.

At this stage Ill stick with White and Lee and keep Macca and Armo and then add Aish + pick 22 (best available kid).

cannavaro17

yeh assuming we get pick 3 then sharenberg or aish look good.

Winmar

cannavaro17 wrote:yeh assuming we get pick 3 then sharenberg or aish look good.
Seriously can't go wrong with either however Aish addresses a more pressing need.

cannavaro17

If Sharenberg gets bigger could be become a harry taylor? I havent seen him play... aish sure... looks good. I don't think we trade for boyd. I don't think a superstar forward is a must but a good few forwards are... so lets hope for 2 out of hickey, lee, white & stanley.

Winmar

Sharenberg more a medium size swingman. He's not even playing as a key back in junior ranks so no chance he becomes a key back like Harry Taylor. A better comparison would be Hodge or Goddard.

Old Mate wrote:Sharenberg more a medium size swingman. He's not even playing as a key back in junior ranks so no chance he becomes a key back like Harry Taylor. A better comparison would be Hodge or Goddard.
Wow sign him up

id be pretty sure the club is not going to stick armo and/or mcevoy on the table as trade bait

at a guess

I picked one before.

Aish got tagged out of it a bit in the State games a little concerning.
Keep McEvoy we have done the work why not reap the rewards int he next 5 years rather than groom then and let someone else benefit. Also provides great leadership.

Best available player at 4 ( I think we will go above dogs)