Roo Bags Seaford

The Saints trained at Moorabbin today, after which they announced Roo will retain the captaincy, and had a media conference at Middle Brighton Beach.

The captain said he was happy they trained at Moorabbin and that Seaford is geographically challenged.

Waiting for a certain poster to state he doesn't understand the problem with Seaford!

Re: Roo Bags Seaford

It's not entirely helpful though is it...

SainterK wrote:It's not entirely helpful though is it...
It is helpful to publically bag Seaford......keeps the current Kingsford Council honest!

We all know why we are there and we all know the sooner we can return full time to Moorabbin the better.

Well played Captin'

Always been a sook, not surprised at all.
Reckon he had plenty to do with Watters' sacking also.

whiskers3614 wrote:Always been a sook, not surprised at all.
That's because you are a sook.

Roo as well as many of the older players who live in fashionable inner city suburbs would say this .

Shouldn't be an issue for the generation of player's who have only known seaford as our base .

Dean Jones suggested on Fineys program tonight that we were pushing to get back to the Junction.

8856brother wrote:Dean Jones suggested on Fineys program tonight that we were pushing to get back to the Junction.
Maybe Dean reads Saintsational?

It is helpful to publically bag Seaford......keeps the current Kingsford Council honest!
I don't understand
seaford is in frankston municipality
moorabbin is in kingston municipality

i think kingsford is in sydney !

The captain said he was happy they trained at Moorabbin and that Seaford is geographically challenged.
Frankston would have been better, bang in the middle of a big city.

But Roo shouldn't have said that IMO. The club made the decision and spent a lot of money on the facility. They need to make it work

Having a long commute to work is a pain but I really think that in the whole scheme of things you just suck it up.

Frankston would have been better, bang in the middle of a big city.

But Roo shouldn't have said that IMO. The club made the decision and spent a lot of money on the facility. They need to make it work
And what a poor, poor, foolish decision it was.
Quote/argue/debate with me now but come say G'day to me in 10 years time and let's see how it's going

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
Bayside Nick

Seaford itself is not geographically challenged. Roo is challenged for living a long way from work. Seaford is 35 minutes on the freeway from the cbd if you choose to live in the cbd and play for the bayside footy team. Seaford has the best beach in Melbourne and enough amenities and cafes. Plus Frankston has all you need.

The location of the LHC in Seaford is terrible though IMO. No atmosphere, no cafes, not walking distance to beach. Missing the opportunity to build at Frankston Park was a big loss. Regardless highway side Seaford is their workplace and need to deal with it.

Poor PR call from Roo after ongoing poor PR from the club regarding the LHC since they've moved there and taken ratepayers money to build it.

Do we hear Goddard saying Tullamarine is challenged or Selwood saying Geelong is challenged? Bad culture of sooks and losers at St Kilda that needs to be overhauled.

Jakes

Bayside Nick wrote:Seaford itself is not geographically challenged. Roo is challenged for living a long way from work. Seaford is 35 minutes on the freeway from the cbd if you choose to live in the cbd and play for the bayside footy team. Seaford has the best beach in Melbourne and enough amenities and cafes. Plus Frankston has all you need.

The location of the LHC in Seaford is terrible though IMO. No atmosphere, no cafes, not walking distance to beach. Missing the opportunity to build at Frankston Park was a big loss. Regardless highway side Seaford is their workplace and need to deal with it.

Poor PR call from Roo after ongoing poor PR from the club regarding the LHC since they've moved there and taken ratepayers money to build it.

Do we hear Goddard saying Tullamarine is challenged or Selwood saying Geelong is challenged? Bad culture of sooks and losers at St Kilda that needs to be overhauled.
http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/afl-news/ ... 327ho.html

Might be best to actually read the context of what he was saying. Admits the geographical issues, but says the challenge is to make any place feel like home. Talks about making Portsea to Port Melbourne our entire area, the bayside area.

Jakes wrote:

Might be best to actually read the context of what he was saying. Admits the geographical issues, but says the challenge is to make any place feel like home. Talks about making Portsea to Port Melbourne our entire area, the bayside area.
Thanks Jakes.

Jakes wrote:
Bayside Nick wrote:Seaford itself is not geographically challenged. Roo is challenged for living a long way from work. Seaford is 35 minutes on the freeway from the cbd if you choose to live in the cbd and play for the bayside footy team. Seaford has the best beach in Melbourne and enough amenities and cafes. Plus Frankston has all you need.

Yeah Jakes thanks for putting that into perspective. Certainly puts Jon Pierik's piece into perspective -- guess who is boss is by the way -- but in any case I think Roo's statement has been taken out of context IMO and was probably a response to one of the Journalists favorite questions to ask a Saints player.

saintdooley wrote: And what a poor, poor, foolish decision it was.
Quote/argue/debate with me now but come say G'day to me in 10 years time and let's see how it's going
I tend to agree with you it Dooley that it was a poor decision. I liked central Frankston much better. Visibility in the middle of a big city instead of invisibility in the back blocks of Belvedere.

My point is that the decision has been made and cannot be reversed. The money has been spent, the facility has been built. It's not as if we're a wealthy club.

We need to commit to it and make it work.

Having now read the actual context in which Roo made the comments, it seems that he is saying the same

I'm yet to see any benefit from being the bayside club....

We have been for some time and there are no indicators that suggest this has been a good move, with potential still there to grow.

Just what have been the benefits of being this bayside club?

8856brother wrote:Dean Jones suggested on Fineys program tonight that we were pushing to get back to the Junction.

Pie in the sky stuff surely. They'll have to fight with Cricket Victoria. Go to the Cricket Victoria homepage and it's a picture of what a re-developed Junction Oval will look like as a permanent training and alternative first-class venue for cricket. That would have to fall through - and the St.Kilda Cricket Club would have to re-locate for it to have even a glimmer of possibility. Here's the Cricket Victoria page with their vision for the Junction. Click on the picture for details of what they're proposing.

http://www.cricketvictoria.com.au/

Roo said he wants the whole bayside area from Port Melbourne to Portsea to be the Saints area. To be pedantic, Moorabbin is not a bayside suburb.

Gershwin wrote:Having a long commute to work is a pain but I really think that in the whole scheme of things you just suck it up.
If Roo and the others view it a s. Long commute, they should try travelling on public transport. Then it is a really long commute.

borderbarry wrote:Roo said he wants the whole bayside area from Port Melbourne to Portsea to be the Saints area. To be pedantic, Moorabbin is not a bayside suburb.
No, bit it is most defintely a Southern Suburb.
And when St Kilda moved there in the early 1960s a lot of it was just paddocks. Moorabbin is still mainly industrial/commercial, with residential zones close to the Nepean Hwy, south of Linton St. Like the area we train at now...
Agreed that they didn't exactly choose wisely with the location of the facility, Frankston would have been much better and convenient, but we really don't know how the area will develop moving forward. I mean if you told me in 1990 that we would move to Waverley with Hawthorn for a few years, then move to fifty-five thousand all seater stadium where the docks are west of the CBD where everyone goe to raves, and then we would train at Seaford, while Hawthorn train at Waverley which actually doubles as a housing development, I would have you locked up.

And Tullamarine, Cranbourne andCraigieburn are shocking suburbs. They have afl clubs training there. It all comes down to the ol' do re me.

PADDLEPOP1001

It will come into play when we try to recruit big names ,why travel an hour extra to nowhere when you can stay in the middle of where it's happening ,journalists and film crew would go to Moorabbin but not down to seaford on occasions when we need them ,in this day and age it will be crucial!

PADDLEPOP1000

PADDLEPOP1001 wrote:It will come into play when we try to recruit big names ,why travel an hour extra to nowhere when you can stay in the middle of where it's happening ,journalists and film crew would go to Moorabbin but not down to seaford on occasions when we need them ,in this day and age it will be crucial!
If we are successful on field it will not be a factor IMO.

PADDLEPOP1001

PADDLEPOP1001 wrote:It will come into play when we try to recruit big names ,why travel an hour extra to nowhere when you can stay in the middle of where it's happening ,journalists and film crew would go to Moorabbin but not down to seaford on occasions when we need them ,in this day and age it will be crucial!
If we are successful on field it will not be a factor IMO.
Disagree in this day and age of media and sponsorship ,being close to or at least in the vicinity of where it all happens is important ,we have to listen to our players and supporters for once ,moving at least part of the club back up this way is an important step in getting everyone on board the same ship ,it's time we listened !

PADDLEPOP1000