Can Blake Acres possibly be as good as everyone thinks?

I guess we'll start to find out on Saturday.

Interesting subplot that he makes his debut the same day that Billy Hartung does. He was linked with us pretty consistently in the leadup to the draft so it's not much of a stretch to suggest that if Acres hadn't still been there we might have taken Hartung.

Let's hope Blake's debut smashes Billy's.

Re: Can Blake Acres possibly be as good as everyone thinks?

Dunstan, Templeton, Billings have proved to be nice additions who so far, have excited most folk.

Hoping Acres can cover Hectares of the ground, gathering lots of ball and delivering perfect passes.

falka

Yes.

Dal Santo with grunt.

A debut against the Hawks with many of our better players out us a tough gig. So do not be too worried if he does not fire in his first game or so...

If he does it will just be a real bonus.

The talent is elite hopefully he applies it to good use. Calling it early, I reckon he'll be one of our best players by the time we start playing finals again.

luc1966

And wet so his skills set won't be on full show

Give the guy ago and lower your expectations for his first game. It looks like being wet/slippery and it's against the "very experienced" Hawks.

As we all do, we wish him the best in his first game. No doubt he will improve with more consecutive games.

Which innane commentator will be the first to say "Acres has lots of space", "Acres in space"?

BT?
Bruuuuuuuuuthe?

We'll possibly need a few more seasons before we find out how good he really is. A couple of glimpses on Saturday would do me at this stage.

He could be anything from James Begley to Nate Fyfe.... From Brett Knowles to Brendon Goddard

6'2" mid with a good all round sort of game it seems

Early indications are very positive

He doesn't seem soft, seems to win the ball, seems to use it well and seems like an innocent kid with a good attitude

I have no expectations.... I hope he enjoys his debut game...

manoffewwords

We were going to take Hartung until Richo arrived on the scene with some late information. It seems thatPort were also interested in Hartung and had done some extra homework, can't remember the exact details but I think they did a private psych assessment, it's probably not wise to repeat what I was told about the results , Needless to say when the info arrived at Seaford, barely in time ,we opted out.

It will be interesting to see how Billy's career pans out.

Glad we got Acres.

Mofw

Say something once why say it again?

Enrico_Misso wrote:Which innane commentator will be the first to say "Acres has lots of space", "Acres in space"?

BT?
Bruuuuuuuuuthe?
He might get hit in the nads and then some commentator will say Blake's got a couple of acres

manoffewwords wrote:We were going to take Hartung until Richo arrived on the scene with some late information.
I thought that the press at the time indicated that PA only agreed to let Richo go if he took no part in our drafting as he was fully briefed on all their drafting intel, and strategies?????

manoffewwords wrote:We were going to take Hartung until Richo arrived on the scene with some late information. It seems thatPort were also interested in Hartung and had done some extra homework, can't remember the exact details but I think they did a private psych assessment, it's probably not wise to repeat what I was told about the results , Needless to say when the info arrived at Seaford, barely in time ,we opted out.

It will be interesting to see how Billy's career pans out.

Glad we got Acres.
Interesting! Thanks mofw, always good to hear from you.

Glad he has been named. I think the important thing is to not have an overly ambitious expectation of this game. It's the best team in the league, in the wet, with bigger bodies against kids. There's gonna be a few bruises after the game, especially with our attacking style of late.

Chances are he will be the sub and just get that little taste for the pace and give him that extra motivation to become a regular.

PADDLEPOP1001

Looking forward to watching him and Weller!

PADDLEPOP1000

Old Mate wrote:The talent is elite hopefully he applies it to good use. Calling it early, I reckon he'll be one of our best players by the time we start playing finals again.
I'm calling it now, he will be one of the leagues best by the time we are genuinely competing for a flag.

Interesting information about Hartung, I've heard some interesting things from a number of people, hope the kid does well and pulls his head in if true though as he is just a kid.

I don't think Acres will be the sub, and to hear Tony say Dal with grunt, its obvious why he has the wraps on him. I have a feeling Blake will be our Selwood, or our Darling, as the one that got away for the other clubs.

As for this weeks expectations, there are none, but I just look forward to seeing him get in amongst it.

The wet should help reduce the losing margin I hope!

Saint 58

Acres looks impressive, hope he does well
Hartung reminds me a little of Aussie Jones
I've spoken to him a few times, my niece is his girlfriend
He said the Saints & a few other clubs questioned his attitude,
so he's got a bit of a point to prove tomorrow
I said to him .. Congrats, hope you play well but not too well !! ;)

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

BAcres delight - maybe we should run it past a homonymous bakery franchise to see if they are interested in sponsoring!
Last edited by samoht on Fri 02 May 2014 11:03am, edited 1 time in total.

I've watched Acres play almost all of his Sandy games and I have no doubt he will be a star. I always judge a players ability on how much time they have when they get the footy and he is one of those players that look like he's going half paced but no one can touch him. His disposal is very clean and he doesn't fumble.
Playing against the Hawks, who have some extremely big bodies on a wet and cold day is going to be a tough test for the kid but whatever he does this week, he will be a great player for us.

Mav is built like a bull elephant, he is a no frills, take no prisoners sort of player. This week is almost the perfect weather for him. Not sure how he will go under the roof at the dome.

BigMart wrote:He could be anything from James Begley to Nate Fyfe.... From Brett Knowles to Brendon Goddard

6'2" mid with a good all round sort of game it seems

Early indications are very positive

He doesn't seem soft, seems to win the ball, seems to use it well and seems like an innocent kid with a good attitude

I have no expectations.... I hope he enjoys his debut game...

ahh......brett knowles a very very good footballer who was never given a real chance....one of many...make you wanna cry....

stinger wrote:ahh......brett knowles a very very good footballer who was never given a real chance....one of many...make you wanna cry....
What happened to Knowles? I remember him being very solid in 2000 then dropping off in 01 and disappearing quietly. Did something happen behind the scenes or was he just deemed not good enough?

PADDLEPOP1001

Yeah not sure ,I rated him to was it because he was deemed a little slow?

PADDLEPOP1000