Lets be honest, Rhys Stanley is just an athlete

citywest

Lets be honest, Rhys Stanley is just an athlete

He has all the tools but I seriously doubt he will ever become more than a 'C+' grade player. We need to draft 2 elite tall forwards in the next 2 years or else we will really be stuffed when Rooey retires.

Re: Lets be honest, Rhys Stanley is just an athlete

How about Lee?

citywest

saintspremiers wrote:How about Lee?
About the same as Stanley without the speed.

citywest wrote:
About the same as Stanley without the speed.
Then why hasn't he played a game yet?

citywest

Good point, I guess if your playing Stanley you may as well play Lee. :D :roll: 8-) :lol:

Stanley is a 2nd string ruckman and 3rd string fwd.
Nothing wrong with that. Every side needs one of these.

Just dont think/expect anything more. Anyone who thinks he is a 'roo replacement' is seriously deluded.

But no point bagging Rhys.

I reckon Rhys is either a ruckman or nothing. Would have rathered Siposs played at full forward than watching Rhys run around like a headless chook in a position where, let's face it, he is not a natural.

Siposs, I feel is a natural forward. He may not make it, but he's probably the best option we have for full forward atm.

I reckon he got confused tonight, wasn't sure of his role with Sippa in the forward line.

His form prior to tonight has be great

He's #4 in contested marks across the whole comp so he's not as bad as you say. He's had a bad game but the fact we kick it to Rooey 99% of the time is his fault? We were playing more constructive footy when they didn't have the option of sending it to Rooey. He is still an inexperienced player.

citywest wrote:He has all the tools but I seriously doubt he will ever become more than a 'C+' grade player. We need to draft 2 elite tall forwards in the next 2 years or else we will really be stuffed when Rooey retires.
How do explain the his other games then?

How does Stanley mark it when they do not kick it to him?

gringo wrote:He's #4 in contested marks across the whole comp so he's not as bad as you say. He's had a bad game but the fact we kick it to Rooey 99% of the time is his fault? We were playing more constructive footy when they didn't have the option of sending it to Rooey. He is still an inexperienced player.

That was the other point I wanted to make. I reckon we went to Riewoldt nine times in the first quarter for a return of one goal. It's not a percentage play. We HAVE to provide another viable marking option.

<edited by mods>

<warning for swearing>

gringo wrote:He's #4 in contested marks across the whole comp so he's not as bad as you say. He's had a bad game but the fact we kick it to Rooey 99% of the time is his fault? We were playing more constructive footy when they didn't have the option of sending it to Rooey. He is still an inexperienced player.

That was the other point I wanted to make. I reckon we went to Riewoldt nine times in the first quarter for a return of one goal. It's not a percentage play. We HAVE to provide another viable marking option.
It's funny but when Rooey was off the ground and we had options to kick too we kicked a few goals and should have kicked a few more but for rubbish kicking. I have noticed this before too. We are too Roo centric.

saintsRrising wrote:How does Stanley mark it when they do not kick it to him?
Well he's not inspiring a lot of confidence if they don't kick it to him. Look, I'm not saying he's no good. Just that he's no good at full forward.

Jacks Back wrote:
bigcarl wrote:That was the other point I wanted to make. I reckon we went to Riewoldt nine times in the first quarter for a return of one goal. It's not a percentage play. We HAVE to provide another viable marking option.
It's funny but when Rooey was off the ground and we had options to kick too we kicked a few goals and should have kicked a few more but for rubbish kicking. I have noticed this before too. We are too Roo centric.
That is putting it mildly.

bigbadxav

I watched Stanley intently tonight. He rarely lead or presented to any of the kick ins. Stanley #standingstillstanley. 3 yrs in the system. Jack billings a couple of weeks and is killing it. need to get some more high end drafts

citywest wrote:He has all the tools but I seriously doubt he will ever become more than a 'C+' grade player. We need to draft 2 elite tall forwards in the next 2 years or else we will really be stuffed when Rooey retires.

Who says Stanley has all the tools?

Tools like

reading the play - definitely No
running/leading patterns - No but learning and getting a bit better
good safe hands - No
bodying work - No

Rhys has pace - but he has high end pace which isnt really what you need playing fwd. Key fwds have good acceleration over 10-20m. Rhys doesnt have that kind of pace. His pace is once he gets up and running after 50 metres - that kind of pace isnt that useful in footy.

I think he looks better up the ground where he can gallop... Maybe spend a few more minutes in the ruck...
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Tue 13 May 2014 12:03am, edited 4 times in total.

bigbadxav

How do explain the his other games then?

How does Stanley mark it when they do not kick it to him?
Throw Maister in for good measure. Lol . #butterfingers. #trade

Jacks Back wrote:

Interesting comments. Rooeys dominance is a blessing and curse. I do wonder if Rooey wasn't there if Stanley would be leading more aggressively in more dangerous areas. He almost hypnotises the other forwards who don't seem to want to get in his way or are too happy too let him do the hard leading. And players with the ball see the huge blonde superstar and just instinctively go to him no matter how many players are on him. I don't know what the solution is.

Not sure if it was you Con that said that Rhys needs to be punched in the face to fire him up but there's not enough agro from him. If he tried influencing the game and just absolutely crashed a few packs or ran his opponent into the ground by repeat leads and demanding his team mates kick the footy to him he'd surprise himself.

Maybe Rhys needs what Saady took without the banned substances. Try a few nodose or a six pack of V mate.
Either take the game on Rhys and actually show some passion and some intensity....or just train for the Stawell Gift in 2015

All of the above.

He doesn't get angry enough.
Doesn't get physical.
Doesn't present.
Doesn't go to places where he can be an option.
He just seemed to always not be where he should.

Do they not coach him on this?
Or is he stupid?

He plays about where you would expect at pick forty something...

Just adjust your expectations.

I had to, was expecting too much from him, when that's all he's capable of giving.

Scollop wrote:Not sure if it was you Con that said that Rhys needs to be punched in the face to fire him up but there's not enough agro from him. If he tried influencing the game and just absolutely crashed a few packs or ran his opponent into the ground by repeat leads and demanding his team mates kick the footy to him he'd surprise himself.

Maybe Rhys needs what Saady took without the banned substances. Try a few nodose or a six pack of V mate.
Either take the game on Rhys and actually show some passion and some intensity....or just train for the Stawell Gift in 2015

Hahah wasnt me. But i have seen a few people saying it.

To be honest i think he is hesitant not because he isn't tough but because he struggles to read the play so is worried about committing to the contest and missing the play completely. i.e he is waiting to watch what is going to happen and then reacts and runs in. The good players can read where the ball is going and then commit early.

(p.s Hed go all right at Stawell too - 120 metres - which would totally suit him - hed fly in that last 30)

i hate to say but after watching him tonight i kinda agree... i am not dropping him yet but he has a lot to work on....

It was a tough night for forwards tonight i thought.

Delivery was very scrappy pretty consistently