who am i...

who am i...

from josh's quiz ...inside footy......

.a talented cricketer, i once played against england in a tour match

. i debuted in the 50's and played 94 vfl games
. i kicked 274 goals and led the leagues goalkicking ranks in my debut season
. i was the first player to try the reverse punt kick at goal and was known for my accurate finishing
. i was regarded as the best all round sportsman to come out of gippsland...

....no cheating now......

Re: who am i...

Most likely Bill young since your asking it on SS

BigMart wrote:Most likely Bill young since your asking it on SS

... :wink: :wink: :wink: ...did you peek at inside footy?????

I must admit I did, Stinger. What a great all round sportsman he was. Wasn't he labelled the best sportsman to ever come out of Gippsland?

i'll do another one.

. i played 155 games for the saints.
. i was recruited from east brighton.
. i played in the 1966 grand final
. i had a reputation as a stopper.
. i finished out my career at dandenong

No

But I do know only

Mohr, Young, Lockett and Gehrig have won the league goal kicking from StK

White Winmar wrote:I must admit I did, Stinger. What a great all round sportsman he was. Wasn't he labelled the best sportsman to ever come out of Gippsland?
yep....i can still remember him lining up to kick goals at the old junction oval and talking to him after the game.......he was a gentleman and one of the most unlikely looking footballers you would ever see.... a 179 cm and 73 ks full forward......

BigMart wrote:No

But I do know only

Mohr, Young, Lockett and Gehrig have won the league goal kicking from StK
you are quite right of course.... :wink:

On the Bench
Location: Perth. Where Foxtel has now allowed me to watch my beloved Saints each week.

stinger wrote:i'll do another one.

OK Stinger baby, I'll have a guess.

I'm not sure where he started but being a Dandy boy, I know where he ended. I'll lock in Alan Morrow please Mr Stinger.

I am still hurting from 71;
my gut churns thinking of 97;
2009 was agony,
2010a was a pleasure to watch only to be devastated by 2010 b.
It hurts barracking for the Saints

Jeff Moran, I reckon. Morrow came from the bush somewhere, I think. Payze is another with the link but he came from Frankston, from memory.

On the Bench wrote:
stinger wrote:i'll do another one.

OK Stinger baby, I'll have a guess.

I'm not sure where he started but being a Dandy boy, I know where he ended. I'll lock in Alan Morrow please Mr Stinger.
nope...

The OtherThommo wrote:Jeff Moran, I reckon. Morrow came from the bush somewhere, I think. Payze is another with the link but he came from Frankston, from memory.
yes....it was moran........morrow came from sale...along with big billy stephenson.......we could use all three at the moment though.... :D

White Winmar wrote:I must admit I did, Stinger. What a great all round sportsman he was. Wasn't he labelled the best sportsman to ever come out of Gippsland?
A title Shane Loveless could have taken over but for self discipline!
Knew both Billy and Shane pretty well in the 90's.
In addition to cricket and footy Shane was a champion cyclist in his junior days and a pretty decent golfer later on.

whiskers3614 wrote:
A title Shane Loveless could have taken over but for self discipline!
Knew both Billy and Shane pretty well in the 90's.
In addition to cricket and footy Shane was a champion cyclist in his junior days and a pretty decent golfer later on.
Loveless was a wasted talent in the VFL. Why did he fail, whiskers? Was he a party boy? Not dedicated? Played at a Shite club? All of the above?

Dedication-did as he liked as a junior due to size and strength, probably didn't realise VFL was different!
Timing, career and position coincided with Templeton's.
Second hand speculation that his dad may have suffered from the Damir Dokic syndrome.
Quickest learner I have ever come across in 40 years of training and leading people.

whiskers3614 wrote:Dedication-did as he liked as a junior due to size and strength, probably didn't realise VFL was different!
Timing, career and position coincided with Templeton's.
Second hand speculation that his dad may have suffered from the Damir Dokic syndrome.
Quickest learner I have ever come across in 40 years of training and leading people.

thanks for the posts mate...interesting.....might start a daily thread....better than reading filth on the animal forum......

On Billy Young,
pretty disdainful of Saints (late 80's & early 90's (organisation & team).
Nice bloke but very tight fisted (air-conditioning in his TAB was regulated by number and size of bets rather than temperature!).

whiskers3614 wrote:On Billy Young,
pretty disdainful of Saints (late 80's & early 90's (organisation & team).
Nice bloke but very tight fisted (air-conditioning in his TAB was regulated by number and size of bets rather than temperature!).

oh..... 8-)

I saw Billy Young play, including his last game in the 1961 first semi against Footscray (our first final in 22 years). But his third last game was more memorable. It was in round 18 against Richmond at the Junction Oval. Billy kicked 4 goals, which was three times as much as the entire Richmond score for the day - which was 8 points, all behinds. It was the only time Richmond have been held goalless, the last time any team has been held goalless and the lowest score ever kicked against the Saints. I can vividly remember going onto the ground after the game and gazing up at the scoreboard for many minutes. Somehow, I instinctively knew it was something that I would never see again.

For those who know, Billy was not a tall chap (179cm or 5 feet 10 inches) - and was about the size of Leigh Montagna who, in our last game against Port, was our shortest player. For his size, he was a strong mark overhead, had the ability to run his player under the ball and duck back and was an accurate kick. But, he was a bit slow, which is why they stuck him at full forward. At the time, another Bill, Stephenson or "Stevo" was looking the goods as a big (for those days) tall forward. In the first 4 games of 1962, he kicked 30 goals. In the fourth, we were playing Essendon, again at the Junction Oval, and Stevo was on fire, kicking 4 goals in the first quarter. Then, he went up for a mark, came down and did his knee, and that was it for Stevo. After leading by 4 goals at half time, we lost the game and our season was over.

In those days there were no "ops" to fix knees. Instead, they would just put it in a cast and hope for the best (which turned out to be the worst thing to do, for a footballer anyway). Stevo actually made a number of "comebacks" but they were all unsuccessful. He could no longer "fly" as he used to, and his knee would swell badly after a game. His kicking accuracy went from fair to woeful. He was brought back for the first semi against Melbourne in 1963, a bad mistake. It was his last game at the tender age of just 26. Alas, our subsequent history is strewn with such injury bad luck stories. Maybe supporters of other clubs can relate similar tales of woe, but I doubt it.

But, on a somewhat positive note, from the team that played in Billy Young's last game (1st Semi 1961), just four players made it to the last game of the year five years later (you all know what that was). Hopefully, we can find 16 players in the next five years to achieve the same result.
Last edited by perfectionist on Mon 09 Jun 2014 12:21pm, edited 1 time in total.

i was at the junction oval in '62 when big bill did his knee....i was sitting in the officials box between my father and ian drake........drake was devastated......as a silly 16 year i tried to say things wold be okay...they weren't of course.....i can still see big bill trying to get to his feet......... :cry:

okay...who am i..?

. i was recruited from Cooee in tasmania
. i once played in a state game for tassie on the great ian stewart and beat him
. i played 87 games for st kilda over three different periods
. i played in the 71 losing grand final
. injuries cut short my career

stinger wrote:okay...who am i..?

. i was recruited from Cooee in tasmania
. i once played in a state game for tassie on the great ian stewart and beat him
. i played 87 games for st kilda over three different periods
. i played in the 71 losing grand final
. injuries cut short my career

John Bonney

stinger wrote:....i was sitting in the officials box between my father and ian drake...
We were always behind the Fitzroy Street goals, which was always pretty packed. I could sometimes sneak down to the fence so that I could see. Other times, I'd arrange some empty beer cans (they were steel in those days and plentiful five minutes into the match) and stand on them, until they inevitably collapsed. Then I made a little fold up wooden structure which could be surreptitiously hidden while going through the gates. The good thing about the spot was that during each interval, I could do a bit of a run around and pick up empty Boon Spa bottles (this was a brand of soft drink). There was a collection outlet within the ground and each returned ½ penny. On a good day (literally weatherwise), I could go the footy, buy my record (6 pence), have a pie (1/-), and a drink (8 pence) and go home with more money than I came with! My aunt (who ironically came to the ground at three quarter time) would say that I still had my first dollar. This is untrue. I spent it last week.

Things improved when we went to Moorabbin. We got seats (J127-130) for four of us. And heaven was just around the corner.

perfectionist wrote:
stinger wrote:....i was sitting in the officials box between my father and ian drake...
We were always behind the Fitzroy Street goals, which was always pretty packed. I could sometimes sneak down to the fence so that I could see. Other times, I'd arrange some empty beer cans (they were steel in those days and plentiful five minutes into the match) and stand on them, until they inevitably collapsed. Then I made a little fold up wooden structure which could be surreptitiously hidden while going through the gates. The good thing about the spot was that during each interval, I could do a bit of a run around and pick up empty Boon Spa bottles (this was a brand of soft drink). There was a collection outlet within the ground and each returned ½ penny. On a good day (literally weatherwise), I could go the footy, buy my record (6 pence), have a pie (1/-), and a drink (8 pence) and go home with more money than I came with! My aunt (who ironically came to the ground at three quarter time) would say that I still had my first dollar. This is untrue. I spent it last week.

Things improved when we went to Moorabbin. We got seats (J127-130) for four of us. And heaven was just around the corner.
great read... :wink: