Essendon pursuing Ahmed Saad

No, seriously:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/e ... 7024786887

Essendon and four other clubs, including Collingwood.

Silly me, I would have thought the honourable thing would be to allow the Saints to redraft him with competition.

Re: Essendon pursuing Ahmed Saad

O my interesting might come down to the $ and contract. Suns also interested we might not stand a chance depending on the offers. The dopers would really like him. They're missing a small forward. Are the dopers locked out of this years drafts.

Good for Ahmed. If his agent can get a bidding war going then he might end up ahead from this unfortunate event. Personally I don't care if we get him or not but it would be good for him to get back to the top level.

Posted I was told about the Bummers wanting to draft him almost a month ago. Good thing is that he is almost a certainty to get drafted, think it would be nice if we had first choice.
Just about guarantee the AFL will come up with some formulae to allow any future suspended players to get delisted then automatically picked up by their club. As usual the Saints get the raw end of the stick, then there will be policy change.
Essendon anyone?
Anyway best of luck to Saad, either way.

paddy

our own fault...

bergholt wrote:Good for Ahmed. If his agent can get a bidding war going then he might end up ahead from this unfortunate event. Personally I don't care if we get him or not but it would be good for him to get back to the top level.
Agree. He was a bit silly but hopefully the training under Jackaboochie will help.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:O my interesting might come down to the $ and contract. Suns also interested we might not stand a chance depending on the offers. The dopers would really like him. They're missing a small forward. Are the dopers locked out of this years drafts.
The dopers through their legal squealing last year and Dimwit's caving in have been gifted pick 19, but have no 1st and 2nd round pick.
Totally makes sense aint it?

supersaints wrote:Posted I was told about the Bummers wanting to draft him almost a month ago. Good thing is that he is almost a certainty to get drafted, think it would be nice if we had first choice
When you posted that earlier, I thought you were joking.

I can see their PR Spin now :-

'The Only Essendon Player with a Positive Drug Test'

They'll probably appoint Justin Charles to some minor caching position as well.

Mr Magic wrote:I can see their PR Spin now :-

'The Only Essendon Player with a Positive Drug Test'

They'll probably appoint Justin Charles to some minor caching position as well.
LOL!

Good call, MM.

I'd still like to keep our very own home grown infractor away from the Infractibles.

If we want him & Ahmed wants to come to us… I can't see any club being able to get him.

We could just easily get him to go only into the pres-season draft… no-one would keep a spot on their list free in case we didn't take him there.

If we sign him: GREAT! If we don't ? Life goes on. Good luck to the guy, whichever way the cookie crumbles!

thejiggingsaint wrote:If we sign him: GREAT! If we don't ? Life goes on. Good luck to the guy, whichever way the cookie crumbles!
I concur 8-)

I concur with YOUR concurring doctor! :D

paddy wrote:our own fault...
no its not. nothing we can do about it.

That's fine. Turn our focus towards Mitch Clark, seems only fair if we get beaten to the punch with Saad then we can play the same game with Clark.

Part of a shitty Stockbroking firm. Goodbye.

essendon are creeps...we all know that....probably a sting to make us give a higher pick to secure him or release seb to them

...if you were fair dinkum...why would you telegraph your intentions....????

Put aside his banning and delisting and look at Ahmed the footballer, what does he offer our list.

If my memory serves me correctly he was probably in the same mould as TDL and Milera.

Both those players probably won't be on the list in 4 weeks time so I'm wondering why the club would redraft him if they look at him purely on his football ability.

Surely they won't draft him out of obligation, surely it will come down to how they rated him before his banning and whether they could see any upside/improvement coming from him, he's missed a lot of footy.

It's also a question of if there is a void on the list that he can fill and the answer to that is probably not because of other players that slot into his role like Eli.

Cairnsman wrote:Put aside his banning and delisting and look at Ahmed the footballer, what does he offer our list.

If my memory serves me correctly he was probably in the same mould as TDL and Milera.

Both those players probably won't be on the list in 4 weeks time so I'm wondering why the club would redraft him if they look at him purely on his football ability.

Surely they won't draft him out of obligation, surely it will come down to how they rated him before his banning and whether they could see any upside/improvement coming from him, he's missed a lot of footy.

It's also a question of if there is a void on the list that he can fill and the answer to that is probably not because of other players that slot into his role like Eli.
i agree with you...if someone else really wants him...they are welcome to him afaic....

paddy

saintly wrote:
paddy wrote:our own fault...
no its not. nothing we can do about it.
It was our choice to de-list him, we could have kept him on the list while he served his suspension.

So, Our Fault if he decides life will be better at the bombers.... He may even go to someone else because we didn't keep him on, i wouldn't blame him...

Had a very average second season... I like him but wasnt too sold on him

paddy wrote: It was our choice to de-list him, we could have kept him on the list while he served his suspension.

So, Our Fault if he decides life will be better at the bombers.... He may even go to someone else because we didn't keep him on, i wouldn't blame him...
He'll go with whoever calls his name out at the Draft. Could be us; could be someone else. Could be no one. He won't get to pick and choose.

I rate Saad but not enough to warrant a selection in the national draft IMO. If there is hardly any talent in the rookie or PSD drafts then a definite yes but as I said I don't want to waste valuable draft picks on a 25 year old forward pocket.

Saints94 wrote:I rate Saad but not enough to warrant a selection in the national draft IMO. If there is hardly any talent in the rookie or PSD drafts then a definite yes but as I said I don't want to waste valuable draft picks on a 25 year old forward pocket.
I can understand us perhaps rookie listing him out of a sense of loyalty or whatever, if that was his only way of getting back into the system. But it would have to be at a pick that we value him at.

And that may well be our last pick in the Rookie Draft for example.

And if another club is prepared to give him a go and gets in before the Saints get to that pick, then I reckon our club would simply wish him all the best and we all move on.