Come Home Luke Ball - all is forgiven ?

Probably get him for a worthless draft pick...
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/l ... 7032489884

COLLINGWOOD premiership player Luke Ball wants to play on next year but has no answer from coach Nathan Buckley about whether he is a wanted player.........

Re: Come Home Luke Ball - all is forgiven ?

He can go and get well and truly fruited.

Like Bally but no point in us getting him. Hope the pies give him another year.

plugger66 wrote:Like Bally but no point in us getting him. Hope the pies give him another year.
Hope they carry him again to as he is finished.

Speaking hypothetically...is it a tricky one PR wise? Good people around the football club are good to have and LB ticks that box.

Some supporters probably wouldn't be able to stomach it but I reckon they would be the minority.

If you could get a good year out of him and then give him an assistant coaches role after that why not.

Good clubs have quality players contribute to their clubs long after they retire...

Bring him home I say.

CURLY wrote:
plugger66 wrote:Like Bally but no point in us getting him. Hope the pies give him another year.
Hope they carry him again to as he is finished.

Well you can grudges, I choose not to. And I couldnt give a stuff about the pies, im worried about us winning a game next season.

Playon

And push a young bloke out, no thanks.

I love ball (lel) but it is not suitable for us

Andreous

Offer him an off field role for next year.

All is forgiven? Is he bringing the 2010 premiership cup back to us that he helped take away and give to those dispicable rodents?

Cairnsman wrote:Speaking hypothetically...is it a tricky one PR wise? Good people around the football club are good to have and LB ticks that box.

Some supporters probably wouldn't be able to stomach it but I reckon they would be the minority.

If you could get a good year out of him and then give him an assistant coaches role after that why not.

Good clubs have quality players contribute to their clubs long after they retire...

Bring him home I say.
I tend to agree with that. The kids need someone to show them how to prepare at AFL level, what sort of workrate is required, how to be professional. Lenny's going so bringing Bally back would fill that gap.

And you need 10+ midfielders in each squad so while picking Bally would stop one kid from getting a game, there's plenty more spots for young guys if they're good enough.

I'm in. Let's make him an offer.

Cairnsman wrote:Speaking hypothetically...is it a tricky one PR wise? Good people around the football club are good to have and LB ticks that box.

Bring him home I say.
I tend to agree with that. The kids need someone to show them how to prepare at AFL level, what sort of workrate is required, how to be professional. Lenny's going so bringing Bally back would fill that gap.

And you need 10+ midfielders in each squad so while picking Bally would stop one kid from getting a game, there's plenty more spots for young guys if they're good enough.

I'm in. Let's make him an offer.

Dont we have Joey, Jack and Armo to show them? I do agree it probably wont stop any young kid good enough to get a game but I dont think we need his experience. Lets face it he wont be playing for us. I reckon it would be a bad luck drafting someone his age.

bergholt wrote:I tend to agree with that. The kids need someone to show them how to prepare at AFL level, what sort of workrate is required, how to be professional. Lenny's going so bringing Bally back would fill that gap.
Dont we have Joey, Jack and Armo to show them?
I have no idea how close those three are to being a model professional, but Armo and Jack have always struck me as guys who enjoy their footy but shouldn't exactly be role models. More like Dane Swan than Chris Judd. There's no particular issue with that but having someone a bit more straight and boring might make sense.

A minor detail but, he only qualifies as a potential father/son for us currently, but may also for Collingwood if he plays another year… so if he goes on next year, I hope he doesn't quite reach 100 games with them.

Maybe he can teach the kids that when a coach chellenges you and you're in a bit of a rough patch,you can go sook it up and find the clubs rival at the time and play for them,feeding them with all our intel that caused us to win 19 straight. Even more he can tell them it shouldn't matter if all your mates are hurting from a devastatingly close GF loss and walk out on there mission and take an easy ride with a powerclub. He can tell them that building for something with the one club is worth nothing,if you can get an easier ride somewhere else

Brendon Goddard - welcome

Nick Dal Santo - welcome

Ben McEvoy - welcome

Luke Ball - Not welcome.

No.

Open arms to a guys who trained with the pies while still on our list?

What message does that send?

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Brendon Goddard - welcome

Nick Dal Santo - welcome

Ben McEvoy - welcome

Luke Ball - Not welcome.
NDS and Macca yes- the other two, no. One who had the feelers out at Collingwood while on our list, and the other a former Saint who white-anted the previous coach and turned an apologist for Essendon FC

love luke but tainted goods now...so no...

gosaints

I don't think the past matters.
Bally was great for us and has been a very good pickup for Collingwood.
He had his reasons to leave whether we like them or not.
It worked out pretty bloody well for him.

The question should be is he still good enough to be on an AFL list?
Is his body up to it?

If the answer is yes then he'll have better options than St.Kilda.

If the answer is no then why would we want him on the playing list regardless of him being a good role model.

As far as I gather, we have no use for him. Although, we may need a new whipping boy next year.

Lenny has been keeping a spot warm for Armo, Ross and Dunstan. No thanks, just taking up a spot for a developing player.

bergholt wrote:I tend to agree with that. The kids need someone to show them how to prepare at AFL level, what sort of workrate is required, how to be professional. Lenny's going so bringing Bally back would fill that gap.
Dont we have Joey, Jack and Armo to show them?
I have no idea how close those three are to being a model professional, but Armo and Jack have always struck me as guys who enjoy their footy but shouldn't exactly be role models. More like Dane Swan than Chris Judd. There's no particular issue with that but having someone a bit more straight and boring might make sense.

I can assure you Jack is now as committed as any player. Now one of the hardest trainers. No idea about Armo but I dont think he is a party animal.

If he comes across on our terms to assist the younger players development then he can a 1 year contract. Still a solid individual even though he has been wiyh the 'filth'.