Trade bait.

Calais

Trade bait.

Stanley.. Surely?

What would we get? Would anyone be interested?

Re: Trade bait.

Calais wrote:Stanley.. Surely?

Ormond. How was the footy on your own?

Don't think so.

The only ruck/forward on our list. Everyone is tradable but Stanley would have a high price on his head.
Last edited by Old Mate on Sun 24 Aug 2014 9:35pm, edited 1 time in total.

Id be sending Rhys highlights videos of the freo and bombers games to every recruiter at each of the 17 clubs.
Get us something decent surely?

Calais

Ormond. How was the footy on your own?

It was great!

If I didn't have work next week, I'd fly out to Adelaide.

Old Mate wrote:The only ruck/forward on our list. Everyone is tradable but Stanley would have a high price on his head.
Except hes not really a ruck and not really a fwd.
top 20 pick ?

Id be sending Rhys highlights videos of the freo and bombers games to every recruiter at each of the 17 clubs.
Get us something decent surely?

What about the other 50 games? he is a third rounder. More value to us than a 3rd round pick. He was terrible today but what is the second ruck options if he doesnt play?

Old Mate wrote:The only ruck/forward on our list. Everyone is tradable but Stanley would have a high price on his head.
Except hes not really a ruck and not really a fwd.
top 20 pick ?
His value varies depending on what club requests him. A team like Port who are missing a couple of key ingredients to make a legit premiership contender team would pay at a premium. Open market Stanley's probably worth a mid second rounder.

Stanley in contracted so ultimately the decision is up to the club. I'd be after a similar deal to what we got for McEvoy or just keep him.

He has shown enough this year to keep him - at least for another year

Still only 23 and having played 56 games he will continue to improve with another pre-season under his belt

Has played some great games this season and definitely falls under the 3T category - "Talls Take Time"

Billly's best game for the saints tonight I think - he is my trade bait - keep stanly trade longer

70s sainter

If he was put on the table he would demand a lot purely on potential. Its that potential that also keeps him at the Saints

The Dud. Did anyone notice his first two disposals? And the result? How about that marking attempt over his head? Would have been his first in 6 years. I'm sure we would get at least pick 123.

70s sainter wrote:If he was put on the table he would demand a lot purely on potential. Its that potential that also keeps him at the Saints

What is a lot? We are keeping him IMO for the exact opposite reasons. We havent been offered enough to trade him.

If we had the delivery of the Hawks he would be a powerful footballer.

If AFL was a non contact sport Rhys would be a super star - perhaps he should try his hand at Gaelic footy?

Here we go again. I agree with Plugger that his potential upside is worth more to us than what we would receive in return. He has shown improvement overall this season.

Munga wrote:If we had the delivery of the Hawks he would be a powerful footballer.
Agree. Whilst he had a shocker this arvo, check out the majority of ball that Roo was receiving. It was too high, it was too low, it was all over the shop.

I have thought exactly the same for a while now, Stanley would be a hell of a lot more serviceable in a decent team where he would receive decent ball delivery majority of the time.

70s sainter

70s sainter wrote:If he was put on the table he would demand a lot purely on potential. Its that potential that also keeps him at the Saints

What is a lot? We are keeping him IMO for the exact opposite reasons. We havent been offered enough to trade him.

Well i guess a lot more than he will ever be worth if he continues to play just at this standard for the rest of his career.
A team that needs a player like stanley might think they can get more out of him than what we can. So they will pay overs for him to get him.
Otherwise we just keep him.
Ps his stats are about the same as 2012 when he played mainly as a forward like this year.

andrewg

Just think we are too hard on Rhys. He can be a very good player for us (dockers game) and only 50 games under his belt.
Just such a unique player with a lot of upside. Not worth trading IMO.

No way club will trade Montagna after his loyalty.
Steven is a potential superstar...not on table. Bad year due to injury.

Trade possibilities
Armitage
Gilbert

That's about it.

andrewg

saint6709 wrote:Billly's best game for the saints tonight I think - he is my trade bait - keep stanly trade longer
This comment cannot be serious

What is it with these stupid threads?

andrewg wrote:
saint6709 wrote:Billly's best game for the saints tonight I think - he is my trade bait - keep stanly trade longer
This comment cannot be serious
Of course it's serious - as has been rightly pointed out - saying players like Dunnell are trade bait aren't being serious - to be tradeable you need to have value - the way I see it Billy has value and is expendable - given Hickey will return with a new knee andHolmes and Pierce are improving rapidly

Old Mate wrote:The only ruck/forward on our list.
Trouble is he is neither a ruckman nor a forward. He is a pinch-hitter in both positions. He has way too many games where he looks all at sea.

I reckon Hawthorn would be looking at him really seriously as the replacement for Hale.
I reckon they'd think that if he was on the end of the delivery their midfield could give him he would be a very handy player.
He has shown in a coupe of games this year that if the ball is delivered to his advantage he can take a grab.
He is a booming and relatively accurate kick and can compete in the ruck.