We will beat Carlton next week

Been saying all week that we would get beaten by the Pies.

Consecutive 6 day breaks coming back from interstate, alway though they would struggle.

Last week we looked dead on our feet in the last quarter, by the ned of tonight the kids were on fumes.

We fumbled and bumbled because tired bodies means tired minds. Losing Roo meant tonight was right on the cards.

I reckon even with all this against us, our first quarter was very good and will become the norm more and more.

We now have an eight day break, Roo back, and a pretty poor team.

If we play like we did against the Suns and the umpires actually umpire properly and give us a go, we are in for a big chance.

We have some real talent and we will slowly start to put it together.

Newenes, Billings, Weller, Sinclair, Lonie, Dunstan, and Paddy McCartin all show they will be players.

We still have Goddard, McKenzie, Ross, Ray, Roo, Gilbert and Webster to come back in.

It is a hard time to be a supporter, we play well one week and get flogged the next.

Just hang in there Saints fans. Keep your nerve. We always knew we would have a long long year.

Lets keep it in perspective

Re: We will beat Carlton next week

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Just hang in there Saints fans.
I think we'll start under-dogs next week, but agree with this sentiment, we need to stay patient...

after tonights game I am a patient.

Good words.

It seemed like we kept fighting, which is what you want to see. Probably just need a bit more composure at crucial times. Thought Armo led well, Geary was good. Roberton too. I'm certainly confident about the future. I think we won't fall to pieces like we might have in the past. All eyes on Sandringham now to see the other likely lads put some pressure on the first team.

One Eyed Saint

There is no chance in hell we will beat Carlton next week.

We will not win another game for the year

recovery will be key. We looked slow today, need to come back fresh. But if the weather is anything like today all bets are off.

Hopefully we get a few home-town Wellington decisions. The Blues are more beatable than Collingwood at home, but we'd want to bring our A-game

One Eyed Saint wrote:There is no chance in hell we will beat Carlton next week.

We will win one more game this year. We will win two games this year. 4-5 next year, and probably the same in 2017 with the retirements of the last of the class of 2010.

bigcarl wrote:Hopefully we get a few home-town Wellington decisions. The Blues are more beatable than Collingwood at home, but we'd want to bring our A-game

If Montagna and Riewoldt play, that will make a huge difference. But Roo must be a bit doubtful if he withdrew after the warmup out on the ground.
Hope some of the players put their hands up this weekend for Sandy or next week could get very bleak indeed.

Love your optimism Bunk ...we may also get to see some more of the kids playing!

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Been saying all week that we would get beaten by the Pies.

Consecutive 6 day breaks coming back from interstate, alway though they would struggle.

Last week we looked dead on our feet in the last quarter, by the ned of tonight the kids were on fumes.

We fumbled and bumbled because tired bodies means tired minds. Losing Roo meant tonight was right on the cards.

I reckon even with all this against us, our first quarter was very good and will become the norm more and more.

We now have an eight day break, Roo back, and a pretty poor team.

If we play like we did against the Suns and the umpires actually umpire properly and give us a go, we are in for a big chance.

We have some real talent and we will slowly start to put it together.

Newenes, Billings, Weller, Sinclair, Lonie, Dunstan, and Paddy McCartin all show they will be players.

An ex-St. Kilda player, Leigh Fisher, was umpiring tonight.

We still have Goddard, McKenzie, Ross, Ray, Roo, Gilbert and Webster to come back in.

It is a hard time to be a supporter, we play well one week and get flogged the next.

Just hang in there Saints fans. Keep your nerve. We always knew we would have a long long year.

Lets keep it in perspective

One Eyed Saint wrote:There is no chance in hell we will beat Carlton next week.

Did you tip us last week?

The problem with NZ is it is almost as much as an away game for us as Carlton so it isn't really an advantage for us. This was the problem with Tassie. But once we become a really good team it won't matter. Bit like tonight Carlton might have too much class and experience in the midfield. But if we kind find that attitude to be the hunter like against GC we could get a result. I think we will be much more competitive with some decent recovery time. Choice bro!

Please please PLEASE!

If we only win one more game for the year please please PLEASE let it be next week against the Caaaaaaaaarlton SCUM.
I'm heading over and would just love to see us beat those shameless parasites.

And if we only win two more games for the year please please PLEASE let the other win be the following week against the totally disgraceful drug cheating tirds.

I'm cautiously confident about next week, but my optimism is tempered by the reality that they beat us by 85 points last year like Collingwood did. One thing I didn't like about tonight was that Collingwood, who were depleted themselves managed to get the fifth most inside 50s in the game's history. You can't afford to let any team get 80 inside 50s in a game of footy.
I think Hickey needs to come back in if he is ready. Grundy killed Longer tonight.

we'll get pantsed

74 points is a lot to turn around in 8 days, but not impossible. If they can match the intensity they have shown in the last quarter against GWS, second quarter against Suns and first quarter tonight we will be right.
Apart from our over thirty brigade, only Ray and Gilbert can make us stronger on the field.
Collingwood's kids looked a lot better than ours tonight, which was disappointing.

samuraisaint wrote:I'm cautiously confident about next week, but my optimism is tempered by the reality that they beat us by 85 points last year like Collingwood did. One thing I didn't like about tonight was that Collingwood, who were depleted themselves managed to get the fifth most inside 50s in the game's history. You can't afford to let any team get 80 inside 50s in a game of footy.
I think Hickey needs to come back in if he is ready. Grundy killed Longer tonight.
Yeah Longer seemed to lose it after qtr time when he was doing really well. Grundy was getting on top in the ruck and doing much better around the ground. Longer may be completely knackered after doing so much rucking with little recovery time. Hickey to get a go next game makes sense.

And Hickey can play a role in the forward line which gives us more options, like Grundy did for them.

Hemi Baxter

Bluthy wrote:
samuraisaint wrote:I'm cautiously confident about next week, but my optimism is tempered by the reality that they beat us by 85 points last year like Collingwood did. One thing I didn't like about tonight was that Collingwood, who were depleted themselves managed to get the fifth most inside 50s in the game's history. You can't afford to let any team get 80 inside 50s in a game of footy.
Yeah Longer seemed to lose it after qtr time when he was doing really well. Grundy was getting on top in the ruck and doing much better around the ground. Longer may be completely knackered after doing so much rucking with little recovery time. Hickey to get a go next game makes sense.
Longer stopped as if shot at exactly the same time as all our youngsters in the second quarter and trailed Grundy haplessly after that. Perhaps he has come on a bit this season but he was behind a lot in ball ups around the ground and relies heavily on jumping into his opponent. Is there anyone else who wouldn't mind seeing Jason Holmes? ( yeah okay before you mention his kicking)

Riewolt suffered a new injury in the warm up last night. Will have scans, but with the flight to NZ, he is unlikely to play.

I think its realistic to expect similar thrashings at the hands of the Hawks, Crows, Freo, Swans and the Cats still.

Dees and maybe the Lions we should beat. I put the Blues in the same category as Bombers, North, Tigers, Eagles, Giants, Suns, Dogs and even Port as the teams that should beat us, but grinding out an upset win is achievable.

I actually think Wellington is a better opportunity than some others think, but we need to start winning games there.

Even though the Blues aren't that good a team, given the confidence drop suffered after last nights thrashing, I would expect us to be comfortably beaten. But that being said, the game is winnable.

samuraisaint wrote:Riewolt suffered a new injury in the warm up last night. Will have scans, but with the flight to NZ, he is unlikely to play.
Is it a calf? They are notoriously long to recover from.

Will b thinking of the boys it will b roughly 4 am at Gallipoli when game kicks off will try and get broadcast on TuneIn app on iphone

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Just hang in there Saints fans.
I think we'll start under-dogs next week, but agree with this sentiment, we need to stay patient...
And we have a choice?! :D