Tassie Saints

The Saints have had some great Tasmanian players over the years, The Doc, Stewart, Bonney, Lawrence, Howell and Bingley come to mind.

Tomorrow three saints return to play in front of a home crowd. I wish them well.

Re: Tassie Saints

saynta wrote: Tomorrow three saints return to play in front of a home crowd.
Would've been four if Paddy had've stayed in :wink:

I didn't know that Paddy has Taswegian roots.

We should try and recruit a Tassy player every season. That way if there is another Stewart, Baldoch, Hart, Howell or Hudson, we would be in with a chance to get him.

Was born there while his dad was playing footy (referred to in the club's behind the guernsey video)

However moved (back) to Victoria at an early age and spent most of his childhood in and around Geelong.

Was born there while his dad was playing footy (referred to in the club's behind the guernsey video)

However moved (back) to Victoria at an early age and spent most of his childhood in and around Geelong.
Bit like Bob Murray.

Lee actually reminds me a bit of Murray. A failed full forward with a history of injuries who went on to be a star fullback.
Last edited by saynta on Fri 14 Aug 2015 3:02pm, edited 1 time in total.

They'll probably be more saints fans there than Norf....

Born in Tassie then lived in Geelong? He should go on the next series of 'Naked And Afraid'.. :mrgreen:

saynta wrote:The Saints have had some great Tasmanian players over the years, The Doc, Stewart, Bonney, Lawrence, Howell and Bingley come to mind.

Tomorrow three saints return to play in front of a home crowd. I wish them well.
And Riewoldt and Weller!

Yep; if we can only salute for one more game this season, let it be tomorrow.
Carna Sainters!

Kinda wished our Marketing department would have taken 'ownership' of Tasmania and not let Hawthorn get in there...

Toy Saint wrote:Kinda wished our Marketing department would have taken 'ownership' of Tasmania and not let Hawthorn get in there...
Plus one mate. One of the dumbest things we ever did.

A lot of Tasmanians grew up supporting the Saints.

I would say a lot of Tasmanians still do support the saints.... its neck and neck between WA and Tassie for who has the largest supporter base outside of Melbourne .... (Tassie beat us by 3 members last year)

Toy Saint wrote:Kinda wished our Marketing department would have taken 'ownership' of Tasmania and not let Hawthorn get in there...

It would not be the worst thing in the world if the club put in for an away match against both Hawthorn and North in the two major Tasmanian cities each season. Although I can't see it happening tomorrow, I reckon we will start beating North again in the not too distant future.

santazzi

Do not get me going on this sore point.....Saints should have stayed in Tassie...I had some to say at the time........Back to the most exciting issue that Paddy was born in Tassie...well I have news for you guys "It is written in the founding documents of Tasmania, that a child born in Tasmania will always be a Tasmanian....."

On another note, how many of you forumites are joining us Tasmanian Saints at the game?

santazzi wrote:

Do not get me going on this sore point.....Saints should have stayed in Tassie...I had some to say at the time........Back to the most exciting issue that Paddy was born in Tassie...well I have news for you guys "It is written in the founding documents of Tasmanialoop, that a child born in Tasmania will always be a Tasmanian....."

On another note, how many of you forumites are joining us Tasmanian Saints at the game?
One of my children was conceived in Tassie. Does that count?