Disappointing Crowd?

50,000 today.

I would have thought the Club was hoping for 60-65,000.

ROLS-LEE

Re: Disappointing Crowd?

Our cheer squad had big patches of emptiness. Why doesn't he club open these spots to other saint members or supporters to get new blood in there and beef our numbers up.

Form in the first 2 round for both clubs would have impacted the numbers I'd think.

40k last week, 50k today, gives us a great start for the year. Hopefully we've been able to fill the coffers a bit and sell some memberships as well.

St Chris wrote:Form in the first 2 round for both clubs would have impacted the numbers I'd think.

40k last week, 50k today, gives us a great start for the year. Hopefully we've been able to fill the coffers a bit and sell some memberships as well.
I disagree. 37K last week for Roos 300tg and Maddies match was poor. Should've been 40K minimum.

50K today was 5K below the MCG forecast crowd - and I'd think the minimum size crowd we would've budgeted on (weather permitting).

So that's around 8K below a good result. Not good.

The_President

I was just left of the cheer squad and loved my time. There was a youngish bloke with a solid beard who enjoyed beer & created some good banter

elizabethr

It wasn't a Collinwood home game. ..WTF

nothing to say

St Chris wrote:Form in the first 2 round for both clubs would have impacted the numbers I'd think.

I disagree. 37K last week for Roos 300tg and Maddies match was poor. Should've been 40K minimum.

50K today was 5K below the MCG forecast crowd - and I'd think the minimum size crowd we would've budgeted on (weather permitting).

So that's around 8K below a good result. Not good.

I was intending to go but the train timetable sucked for some reason (usually good) would have had to wait for the 12:30am to go home for some stupid reason still pissed at that.

chook23 wrote:50,000 today.

I would have thought the Club was hoping for 60-65,000.
MCG was expecting 52,000 and they are pretty accurate so crowd was in line with expectations.

Yesterday the MCC website was forcasting a crowd of 51,000.
So they were spot on.

The Recruit

St.Kilda supports do not like going to the MCG and I know many will not attend Collingwood games with their families. Also doesn't help when you play like vomit the week before.

My two loyal offsiders stayed away yesterday as:

(a) They despise the MCG for viewing football;
(b) The Japan-style crush at Richmond station after we got separated a few years ago and my daughter became distraught when I ended up on another train;
(c) Their "Collingwood Experience" from the infamous Rd3 2010 match - when Rooey did his hammy and Malthouse spat his bile at Milney;
(d) The stuffing around to get our reserved seats, ie, having to open a Ticketmaster account that (hopefully) we will only need for finals tickets.

51,000 was a pretty fair crowd and it seemed more Saints than Filth supporters.

ralphsmith

You better get used to enjoying the MCG, that goes for the players too.

That's where premierships are won and lost. Nothing history making happens at the cushy comfort of the DOME.

God forbid you people ever had to endure Morabbin, standing up, the swearing, the beer, the urinating ...

Kids these days.

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

Only 50,000 @MCG vs Collingwood

I don't know about the rest of you fellow Sainters, but I was a little disappointed that only 50,000 were in attendance for such a special occasion for our club. At least half of whom were Collingwood fans. So what does this indicate in terms of how loyal our supporters are?

For those of you who weren't busy and didn't bother to show up, you completely missed out on an absolutely stupendous performance by our players, on a beautiful autumn day at the MCG!

ralphsmith wrote:You better get used to enjoying the MCG, that goes for the players too.

That's where premierships are won and lost. Nothing history making happens at the cushy comfort of the DOME.

God forbid you people ever had to endure Morabbin, standing up, the swearing, the beer, the urinating ...

Kids these days.
Fans are softer than ice cream these days. Things like Fox Footy aren't helping.

Re: Only 50,000 @MCG vs Collingwood

realdeal

Sainternist wrote:
ralphsmith wrote:You better get used to enjoying the MCG, that goes for the players too.

Kids these days.
Fans are softer than ice cream these days. Things like Fox Footy aren't helping.
Huge day for the club, perfect day for footy, Saturday afternoon game at the 'G', no excuse for not attending. I would've thought an extra 5-10 thousand people would've been there yesterday. Bit disappointing.

Although in saying that, when a goal was scored it certainly sounded like there were more saints supporters were in attendance then Collingwood.

Re: Only 50,000 @MCG vs Collingwood

saintsRrising wrote:Already a thread: http://saintsational.net/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=90468
Apologies for it. But, nevertheless, I think it's important. More threads about it, the better, IMO.

Kids these days.
Ah, yes, ralphsmith. I remember Moorabbin fondly also. The standing, the swearing, the beer, the urinating.....and that was just the women!

ctqs

A bigger crowd would've been nicer for lots of reasons - money for the club, a taste of things to come for the younger players, general atmosphere - but I reckon our boos at their cheap frees and goals drowned out their cheers.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.