Paddy Update

The Recruit

Paddy Update

Any news on Paddy? Would love to hear he is okay and out of hospital. Concussion is bad but 'neck stuff' is potentially worse.
If anyone has any info let us know.

Re: Paddy Update

Fingers firmly crossed for the boy. Ugh, two sickening injuries and being on the wrong end of a rout at the same time is always a bitter pill to swallow.

Kate

Good to hear. Still may miss a week, as he did after his concussion against Collingwood.
Last edited by Sainternist on Sun 05 Jun 2016 10:38pm, edited 1 time in total.

Good to hear. Hope he plays next week. Not as if he was ko'd or anything

The Recruit

Great news..here was the tweet from Paddy linked above......

...Thanks for the messages everyone. I'm all sweet. Very lucky to have great docs and people looking after me. We'll bounce back. #gosaints

The mark he almost took seconds before he was knocked out would have been amazing. He's so exciting. Don't think we will see him till well after the bye unfortunately.

Hopefully he'll be smashing packs and opponents down the track and not hurting himself with his courage.

He is going to be one of the premier power forwards in the afl next year.

Heard he arrived at airport in full game gear
Premium seat home as did Hugh

Glad he is okay, disappointed he may miss a couple. Maybe some whiplash in with the concussion.

disappointed he may miss a couple
He may not. Love to see him tear Carlton a new one. Ultimately he will, but I'd prefer to see it this year

PremiershipSaint

He may not. Love to see him tear Carlton a new one. Ultimately he will, but I'd prefer to see it this year
Good thing we play Carlton twice this year.

PremiershipSaint wrote:
Good thing we play Carlton twice this year.
Yep. I want us to be conservative. Super conservative. If he needs a month before he pulls on the boots again, let it be a month. But whatever happens I will be concerned if he fronts up next week, and would much rather he get the next two off regardless.

He showed some fantastic signs again this week on an otherwise dog day afternoon. Get Lindsay to truck him back in cotton wool.

I agree with Paddy- Jamie cripps copes and gets no questions so why does Paddy who has dealt with it longer than Jamie
“He is incredibly diligent with his diabetes, he has fantastic people around him and it’s a non-issue.

“It makes us crabby and it makes Paddy and his family crabby to say otherwise.

“In the words of his specialists, he is as diligent a young man as you would find in this space and anything else is just wrong and scuttlebutt.”
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/t ... 41103ab940

Paddy Mccartin ‏@paddymccartin11 ( June 7th)
Looking forward to watching @AaronHamill go about his business on open mike tonight. Absolute boss. #feathers #floss #sammy #hamillpools

Any recent update of Paddy's health?

I'm a tad concerned with his two concussions, and his fearless approach to the contest. Nick Riewoldt is fearless and runs back with the flight, but he manages to stay healthy. Justin Kositchie was brave and reckless, but I reckon he copped too many head injuries.

Tony Lockett was brave, but incredibly strong and he caused too many injuries.

Gee I hope Paddy is more like Plugger!

Toy Saint wrote:Any recent update of Paddy's health?

I'm a tad concerned with his two concussions, and his fearless approach to the contest. Nick Riewoldt is fearless and runs back with the flight, but he manages to stay healthy. Justin Kositchie was brave and reckless, but I reckon he copped too many head injuries.

I'm more concerned he may end up like Kossi... Needs a season or two without concussion

Make him wear some headgear.

magnifisaint wrote:Make him wear some headgear.
Good call. I'm sure he'd rather be playing, not recuperating.

Id be delighted if Paddy was as good as Kosi was!

supersaints wrote:
Toy Saint wrote:Any recent update of Paddy's health?

I'm more concerned he may end up like Kossi... Needs a season or two without concussion
And to not be played while injured.

saintspremiers wrote:Id be delighted if Paddy was as good as Kosi was!
Agree but I mean in terms of concussion, not talent wise .... Kossi was never the same after the Geonserakusa? (whatever the Bulldogs player who charged him was). Paddy Seems to have much more spa in awareness than Kossi ever did , so hopefully it stays that way. Paddy appears to have more footy smarts than Kossi did, and seems just as brave. Think Paddy will be a ripper,

saintspremiers wrote:Id be delighted if Paddy was as good as Kosi was!
Agree but I mean in terms of concussion, not talent wise .... Kossi was never the same after the Geonserakusa? (whatever the Bulldogs player who charged him was). Paddy Seems to have much more spa in awareness than Kossi ever did , so hopefully it stays that way. Paddy appears to have more footy smarts than Kossi did, and seems just as brave. Think Paddy will be a ripper,

supersaints wrote:
I'm more concerned he may end up like Kosi... Needs a season or two without concussion
Personally I think that Kosi suffered a Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) rather than just concussion in that incident with Gia. He was never the same after that hit.

Interesting to see that Kreuzer will play despite suffering a concussion last week. I think he failed the intelligence test ... before he was concussed.

But maybe Paddy should consider some protective headgear. Could save him s lot of time on the sidelines

bigcarl wrote:Interesting to see that Kreuzer will play despite suffering a concussion last week. I think he failed the intelligence test ... before he was concussed.

But maybe Paddy should consider some protective headgear. Could save him s lot of time on the sidelines
For concussion these days many believe that sports type helmets can make concussion worse rather lessening it. (Not to be confused with wearing cycling/ motorcycle helmets which are worn to protect against fractures etc)

Helmets are for AFL of more use for things like fractured cheekbone protection and the like.