Who do you want to see as captain with Riewoldt out?

Hudghton
19%
Ball
18%
Koschitzke
3%
Hayes
6%
Hamill
45%
Powell
1%
Rotate each week
9%

Total votes: 80

saintsational
Club President

You can vote here and on the homepage at www.saintsational.com

If there's a question you would like to see in next week's poll just send a PM to me and I'll pick one each week.

Personally, I would like to see Max step up and take the leadership role, chances are he won't get it next year and I feel he should be rewarded for his years of passion and service to the club.
Last edited by saintsational on Tue 05 Apr 2005 2:03pm, edited 1 time in total.

milnedog

Has to be hamill or hayes. This is a part of why the rotation system is such a good idea, if the captain goes down there is someone to step up and hamill realised that last week and did it. A true leader doesn't need to be told when to step he knows, ie agaisnt brissy.

BROWNLOW: DalSanto 06, Ball 08, Riewoldt 07, Ball + Dal + ROO tie 09.
riccardo

Rotating the job is an excellent suggestion. Begin with one and go through all the other guys in the Leadership Group as voted for by the players in the first group meeting each week (early as possible, say Tuesday).

I'd start with Max, myself. The man deserves the top job, even for 1 week.

Max for me....

TimberWolf

I reckon Ball will get the nod.

Jakes

This is a no-brainer - Hamill is by far the best choice .... Thursday night should have proven that

St DAC

Max, or if not, then Sammy.

I think if we were to have a permanent captain then Sammy would be the best choice by far, but given our rotation policy is in force then Max deserves a shot. He has been a fine player over the journey, & I'd like to see him get the gig, even if it is temporary.

Steve_the_Saint

We need Hamill's style of leadership at the moment, someone to take the hits for the boys and set the example for the rest of them. Not that the other blokes cant do that, its just that Aaron's the best at it.

Persuader

Nick is the Captain.
Rotation within the rotation just makes things bizarre.
They can take it in turns to toss the coin every week but let's not
lose sight of the fact that Nick Reiwoldt is the Captain.

Founding member of the Jason Blake Appreciation Society
milnedog

I would like to see hudghton get it, however the opposition and opposition supprters don't really respect him.

BROWNLOW: DalSanto 06, Ball 08, Riewoldt 07, Ball + Dal + ROO tie 09.
Dal_Santos_Gal

This is a no-brainer - Hamill is by far the best choice .... Thursday night should have proven that
i could not have said it better myself

In Ross Get lost!

I am excited to stay at St Kilda and this is a great result for the Club and all our fans. I’m proud to be part of the Saints and am pleased to be playing football with the Clubâ€
ctqs

Dal_Santos_Gal wrote:
i could not have said it better myself
Yep. Ditto. Not slagging off at the others because their effort was tremendous but he was the only one who really stood up to be counted after the event. Let him off the leash, I reckon.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.
Captain Impossible

It's got to be Hamill. As a team we walk taller with Hamill at the helm. We can be the most skilled side in the AFL but without a little bit of mongrel we won't win the tough ones. The guy is a born leader and without our regular tough nuts (Powell and Guerra) we need physical aggression. Even though we didn't get there last week Hamill was a shinning light. Mid way through last year we were FEARED, let's get that back!

I voted for Hamill.......think they'll give it to Ball though

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:
pkerr

I agree. No captain, just a coin toss for a few weeks. Should forget this rotation rubbish. AH should still be the captain. Leave NR in the leadership group and let him concentrate on what he does well which is play great footy!!!

sainterforlife

Matt Rendall said on Ch10 sport news that a former captain wouldn't be choosen, but someone from the leadership group would be picked when they get to Tassie. :?
I'm still guessing Bally/Maxie

Moose

pkerr wrote:I agree. No captain, just a coin toss for a few weeks. Should forget this rotation rubbish. AH should still be the captain. Leave NR in the leadership group and let him concentrate on what he does well which is play great footy!!!
FFs, the rotation has worked and is giving valuable leadership experience to alot of players. Roo wouldn't even be capt. if it didn't exist

Why the hell do people think Sammy is better/worse if he is "captain"?

And it certainly doesn't make any difference to the team.

This forum just proves NO ONE knows anything about football......

Lenny should have remained captain after his fantastic display of leadership last season.
I'm not doubting Rooey was the wrong man, I just feel it's always best to stick with what is good.
IMO GT should have given the whole "let's have a new captain each season" the flick.
But if Lenny doesn't get the gig in Roo's absence then give Max a shot! Max is always 100% committed and a great team player.

Ballbagger. Watch this guy move!

i voted for hamill. i know injury hampered his season abit last year, but i still think his best year in AFL (for us AND carlton) was the year he took over the captaincy. he had a brilliant season that year and i feel his form dropped when the captaincy was taken off him the next year.

The Mullet

I reckon they should give Maxy a go...think of all the service he's given to the club, not to forget all of the injuries he's suffered whilst putting his body on the line.

In my opinion, his courage and team spirit could lift the team as well as Aaron does..

plus, he hasnt had much experience at being a leader at the club so give him a go

TimberWolf

TimberWolf wrote:I reckon Ball will get the nod.
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Only me and Munga picked that one.

TimberWolf wrote:

Hey what about my post - before Munga's................ :?

"I voted for Hamill.......think they'll give it to Ball though"

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:
TimberWolf

jon hiseman wrote:
TimberWolf wrote:

Hey what about my post - before Munga's................ :?

"I voted for Hamill.......think they'll give it to Ball though"
Sorry.
Didn't see that one.
You vote for Hamill though.
I voted for Ball.

well he did a great job so no complaints with the choice!