Gubby Allan joins the Saints

Crossy66

Re: Gubby Allen joins the Saints

Great get.

Superb.

Good article detailing all the changes in off season.

Excellent.

Overall our offield overhaul gets a big tick for me.

We were short on experienced and talented "football" people and we now have addressed this. There were still some on "L-Plate" appointments but with Allen, Rats, Lade and the Hawks stats man we significantly improved the level of AFL Football knowledge and experience football department. Adding Billy Slater to that group to improve our Leadership issues all adds up to a major upgrade.

I just won't mention the retention of He Who Should Not Be Named. ;)
Last edited by saintsRrising on Thu 25 Oct 2018 1:24pm, edited 2 times in total.

Super stuff from Letthers. Honestly - this is the kind of stuff that gives me tangiable hope.

The more people we have introduced to our club whom have demonstrable and proven experience/excellence in their role - the better off we'll be. I'm sure there'll be naysayers who bring up the Whitfield matter but quite frankly - we're all naive if we think he's the only person at an AFL club that's done what he did. I just want guns in there to fix the joint and at least give us a chance at success.

I blame that flog what's his name...hang on.

wotever1

Good appointment.

We are moving in the right direction.

These appointments mean we still have a heartbeat.

Go Saints

Seriously...have the Saints ever had a better post season than this regarding off field staffing additions? I can't think of one.

Added this to the Chinese bonanza announced today.

Simon Lethlean keeps delivering.

Might stop some of the sooks around here from carrying on with their keyboard tripe!!!!!

Doubtful, they will just find something else, good appointment all the same!!!!!

Good off season from the club!!!!!

New Pres, new assistant's, new signings, still have pick #4, good re-signings and traded out an
under-achieving over expensive list clogger!!!!!

Great work by 'the real powers that be'!!!!!

Shows how much some ferals on here know, SFA!!!!

No surprise though!!!!! ;)

Any chance of a paraphrase for those of us who refuse to participate in Murdoch’s evil empire.

stonecold wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 1:53pm Might stop some of the sooks around here from carrying on with their keyboard tripe!!!!!

Doubtful, they will just find something else, good appointment all the same!!!!!

New Pres, new assistant's, new signings, still have pick #4, good re-signings and traded out an

we still have AR .... lost our best ruckman and didn't snag a star...this feral sook will continue his keyboard tripe..... if that's ok with you. :wink:

The Fireman wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 2:26pm
stonecold wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 1:53pm Might stop some of the sooks around here from carrying on with their keyboard tripe!!!!!

we still have AR .... lost our best ruckman and didn't snag a star...this feral sook will continue his keyboard tripe..... if that's ok with you. :wink:
Go for your life, some people can't see progress I spose!!!!!

PS. We still have our best Ruckman!!!!! ;)

Anyone who rated the other flog is obviously a 'rover'!!!!! ;)

Sook Away!!!!! ;)

Worst kept secret and most delayed announcement ever.
Very happy.

And hope this recent spate of announcements might help us at least retain most of the members we managed to add in 2018.

SemperFidelis wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 2:31pm Worst kept secret and most delayed announcement ever.
Very happy.
Never a secret - just had to appease the contract Gods

Simon Lethlean you legend. There were doubters when he first came on board but this man should walk around in a cape.
Under performing coaches shown the door, highly intelligent ex player and banker James Gallagher list manager (hello money ball), league legend Billy Slater to install winning culture and trust me he will be training them hard even though it isn't meant to be a coaching role. He wont be able to resist . Gubby Allen as well.
The Club is starting to turn around and to quote the intellectual powerhouse that is Rachel Hunter. It won't hairpin overnight but it will hairpin

Good stuff saints.

DJ Higgins wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 2:45pm ... and to quote ... Rachel Hunter. "It won't hairpin overnight but it will hairpin"
I think it is pronounced 'Hippin"

When does Whitfield come out of contract?

Lowlife hires lowlife. Great stuff saints.

[quote="The Fireman" post_id=1764479 time=1540437968

we still have AR .... for now. Give it a year
lost our best ruckman .... He was crap, the other 2 are really crap. Not a big loss as small ground to make up to reach his level
and didn't snag a star... true but we gave it a go and no one great will come to us yet. Give it a year
this feral sook will continue his keyboard tripe..... I wouldn't expect anything less
If that's ok with you. :wink: .... free country knock yourself out

stonecold wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 2:31pm
The Fireman wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 2:26pm

Go for your life, some people can't see progress I spose!!!!!

PS. We still have our best Ruckman!!!!! ;)

Anyone who rated the other flog is obviously a 'rover'!!!!! ;)

Sook Away!!!!! ;)
Serious constructive question to Stonecold...I put my hand up to not knowing much about the ruck. I think it is the least understood position in footy. I can see when a ruckman is dominating like Gawn or Nic Nat and when we are being thrashed in the ruck ( which seems most of the time)
So given that, what is your analysis of Billy, how good could he be if he gets his body right, what is it about him that makes you see value in him where many others don't?

st.byron wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 2:19pm
Any chance of a paraphrase for those of us who refuse to participate in Murdoch’s evil empire.
Errr. ....no.

I like it...sic em Rex!

st.byron wrote:
Gubby Allan joins the Saints.