New AFLX format

You have got to be kidding me. This is akin to playing footy at lunch time when in high school.

Re: New AFLX format

Don’t know what the rules ar but won’t be watching this garbage. Why Bother?

From what I gathered. 100 players (from all clubs) get drafted by 4 captains (in pic above) on the day/night. Its a 1 day event.

Yes. Why bother. I just hope none of our players really participate so we don't get an injury. There is no emotional attachment.

We'll be in, sadly...as much as I'm sure they'd love a mini-IPL style pre-season chock full of stars to get bums on seats, the AFL won't want to see anyone shirking their wonderful new format. Since we're owned by the AFL more than most clubs, we'll be leant on to contribute.

Did they wear those uniforms at your high school Ted? TRON Secondary?

The last 2 q's were to designed to elicit a negative and emotional response which is akin to baiting. This brings more disharmony and friction to the forum.

Stick to the AFLX topic like your first paragraph please. Thank you.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 17 Dec 2018 11:02am The last 2 q's were to designed to elicit a negative and emotional response which is akin to baiting. This brings more disharmony and friction to the forum.

Stick to the AFLX topic like your first paragraph please. Thank you.
Had a hard time at school?

No I didn't at all, but getting bullied or having troubles at school is a big issue for alot of kids and parents.

Either discuss the AFLX topic or don't contribute to this thread.

Not even remotely interested. Would rather an AFL summer series, like the NBA, which combines with local leagues to flesh out talent.

Pretty sure the AFL is paying and splashing their own cash to help get the players to participate. Pretty ordinary and desperate if true.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 17 Dec 2018 9:24am Image
Is this serious?

Has Gilligan been inbibing lysergic acid?

portosaint

Team Skill? Team Speed??

This is cringe worthy kindergarten stuff. I'm out.

an all indigenous team called the deadlies? seriously?
who dreamed all this up? saccharine sweet corn.

Seriously? Is there a team "Power Rangers"....?? Puke...…

This is laughable. This is akin to a princess who inherits the crown jewels then pimping herself out at the docks for an extra fiver...….

desertsaint wrote: Mon 17 Dec 2018 4:51pm an all indigenous team called the deadlies? seriously?
who dreamed all this up?
A complete wanker, no doubt.

Will there be a mixed competition? Perhaps an opportunity for Hannah Mouncey?

Perhaps they could position a cannon in the stand and shoot Razor Ray out of it, having him parachute into the centre, his legs dangling out of his helmet as he holds the footy aloft for the first bounce.

I'd pay I tidy sum to watch that go wrong.

Wow geez that bloody AFL tying to grow the game and increase participation both in heartland and in non traditional states and eventually overseas. It's a pathway to the real thing.

If you were smart enough you'd recognise it's not targeted for the current football fan so save your breath on the whinging. :mrgreen:

Some traditionlist might even take up participation given its low time commitment, low contact levels and ease in forming / joining a team. Call this a promotion if anything.

Are we able to ban all our players from competing in this rubbish.

Linton Lodger wrote: Mon 17 Dec 2018 5:53pm Will there be a mixed competition? Perhaps an opportunity for Hannah Mouncey?

Perhaps they could position a cannon in the stand and shoot Razor Ray out of it, having him parachute into the centre, his legs dangling out of his helmet as he holds the footy aloft for the first bounce.

I'd pay I tidy sum to watch that go wrong.
Its close to one of the worst ideas I've ever seen in footy. It really stinks on all fronts and I'm a very positive person.

Surprised they didn't create a team called the Killers. Could have got all the serial killers and mass murderers from around the world to form a team! 😁

To a serious note, hopefully very few Saints players play. Unfortunately, Ben Long will play for the Aboriginal Deadly side.

I've also got a feeling that Marvel and the Avengers had a hand in this. Its very super hero and Hollywood like. The good old AFL is starting to become the Empire off Star Wars.

If you’re already posting (whinging) on an AFL forum then this was never aimed at you. This is obviously aimed at an entirely different market. I get the feeling there are a lot on here who would have been saying 15 years ago “this twenty20 hit and giggle rubbish will never catch on!”

What market is the new AFLX aimed at then? Please elaborate in detail.

95-9% of AFL followers won't gice two s***s about this garbage and can't wait for the season to start.
People are smoking pot if they also think this sort of concept will ever catch on outside Australia (not a chance) or suddenly bring in a new crowd of AFL followers within Australia.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 17 Dec 2018 8:11pm What market is the new AFLX aimed at then? Please elaborate in detail.

95-9% of AFL followers won't gice two s***s about this garbage and can't wait for the season to start.
People are smoking pot if they also think this sort of concept will ever catch on outside Australia (not a chance) or suddenly bring in a new crowd of AFL followers within Australia.
It’s aimed at the under 20s, not the over 60s.

Twenty20 cricket, fast5 netball, Big 3 basketball, arena football, futsal, Rugby 7s, fast4 tennis, better cancel them all as I’m sure Ted doesn’t approve... :roll:

What’s your opinion on Twenty20 cricket? Because I have a feeling 1 billion Indians disagree with you.

It continues to boggle my mind the inability people have to comprehend that others may like something they don’t, especially when that thing is 100% not aimed at them...

Who would pay money (do they charge for it?) much less give up time to watch it?
I'm also guessing it will be accompanied by a loud sound track?

The under 20's? Really? And how many people under 20 will be desperate to attend or buy a club membership or start playing footy because of AFLX. Dream on.

This is AFL, not cricket or any other sport which are not relevant. I never said any of those other sports ideas should be canned. Your comparison to cricket is ridiculous also as cricket has long been an established sport in India and several other nations for a long time.

Its a "Dud" concept. Pretty much why last years dismal and total AFLX failure only lasted 1 year. Can't wait to see what the AFLX will look like next year. Lol.

The only people that really give a s*** or care or know about AFL are Australians. Thank god its only 1 day, then the real stuff starts. Go to the AFLX if you're that fond it of Dud. Have a good night watching your favourite super heros run around in Avenger costumes. I'll spend my $25 on getting a couple of 6 packs at the bottle shop.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 17 Dec 2018 8:43pm The under 20's? Really? And how many people under 20 will be desperate to attend or buy a club membership or start playing footy because of AFLX. Dream on.

This is AFL, not cricket or any other sport which are not relevant. I never said any of those other sports ideas should be canned. Your comparison to cricket is ridiculous also as cricket has long been an established sport in India and several other nations for a long time.

Its a "Dud" concept. Pretty much why last years dismal and total AFLX failure only lasted 1 year. Can't wait to see what the AFLX will look like next year. Lol.

The only people that really give a s*** or care or know about AFL are Australians. Thank god its only 1 day, then the real stuff starts. Go to the AFLX if you're that fond it of Dud. Have a good night watching your favourite super heros run around in Avenger costumes. I'll spend my $25 on getting a couple of 6 packs at the bottle shop.
As I said before, your personal inability to comprehend a concept doesn’t decide its legitimacy