Supporters leaving early

outside66

Supporters leaving early

Nothing disappoints me more when 'supporters' leave early. I get that some would have pressing engagements and whatnot however it's the ones who leave early but would've stayed until the end if we were winning/had a chance to win. It's nothing short of embarrassing and it sends a soft, weak-willed message to everyone else. The 5-10000 crows supporters would have been laughing at the hordes of RWB leaving in the last qtr. Imagine if the players packed up their mouthguards once they realised the game was done. For a game that finished at about 730, there is no excuse. Especially those with kids, teach them the right way and not the soft route.

The game didn't go our way but I reckon that was more based on skill execution rather than effort.

Re: Supporters leaving early

I have always stayed to the end. I believe in seeing out the match plus I enjoy a beer or few after a match. 🍻

You don't know if they would have stayed had the scores been much closer.

With transport issues, a family is well advised to leave early to allow kids to be comfortable.
It's not like a church service or something.
They've alrealy paid their money, got bums on seats.
They've done better than the other thousands of members (we have 40,352) who didn't attend, for whatever reason.

outside66

WellardSaint wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 11:49am You don't know if they would have stayed had the scores been much closer.
I'm not saying that I did, but there certainly would've been plenty that are in that boat. I get commitments and such hence covered in the 'pressing engagements and whatnot' comment.

My beef is towards the sooky la-la's. But yes, points to those for actually showing up.

Seemed like the team packed it in early this week so why not some supporters? :)

I stayed to the very death GUDAMMIT!!! Mainly because I brought 2 Crows fans along who were having the time of their lives (couldn't believe how easy they were winning and had a great laugh at every mark in their F50) :x

Special

I left 10 minutes early to beat the annoying traffic.

I was able to get a nice empty earlier train also.

As Dud said, the team had given up so what’s the point in staying?

At least I turned up unlike many whom didn’t.

After the past 7 seasons of hell I can’t be arsed sitting at all losing games till the bitter end.

I wish more people would leave early. In particular, the people who yell 'man up' on kick-ins.

twirlyhair

The_Dud wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 2:56pm Seemed like the team packed it in early this week so why not some supporters? :)
I imagine you would have been right there with em! The ones packing in it I mean.

People leave early from sporting events all over the world. It's not a phenomenon confined simply to AFL. I was at the Collingwood-Geelong round one game at the MCG, and though it was closer than our game on saturday, loads of people were still leaving early. I don't think its that big a deal myself, and certainly wouldn't judge someone else for doing it. Up to the individual.

Remember that final at Arctic Park vs Pies in early 90's? The next final we lost to Doggies, the game where Elvis broke his collarbone.
Well, a family of Pies fans was next to me at Waverley.
In 4th qtr, we were up by 4-5 goals.
They got up to leave, one guy grabbed my hand, shook it, said 'you guys deserve this, you've had lotsa pain, good luck' and shortly after, Pies started kicking goals!!
Me and my mates said 'shite, they shoulda stayed!'

Last edited by Scollop on Mon 29 Apr 2019 4:30pm, edited 1 time in total.

vacuous space wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 4:15pm I wish more people would leave early. In particular, the people who yell 'man up' on kick-ins.

They're the same ones that yell 'kick it' as soon as a player gets their hands on the footy
Last edited by Scollop on Mon 29 Apr 2019 4:50pm, edited 1 time in total.

Scollop wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 4:30pm
vacuous space wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 4:15pm I wish more people would leave early. In particular, the people who yell 'man up' on kick-ins.

They're the same ones that yell 'kick it' as soon as a player gets there hands on the footy
I'd love to give the boot to supporters who boo backwards kicks.

I’m trying to lead a more balanced life.
If I’m not enjoying the game, I’ll leave early and spend quality time with my family. Although I don’t think my dog appreciates it.

Leave when ya like..anyone who frowns upon early leavers are tossers

Freebird

outside66 wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 11:28am Nothing disappoints me more when 'supporters' leave early. I get that some would have pressing engagements and whatnot however it's the ones who leave early but would've stayed until the end if we were winning/had a chance to win. It's nothing short of embarrassing and it sends a soft, weak-willed message to everyone else. The 5-10000 crows supporters would have been laughing at the hordes of RWB leaving in the last qtr. Imagine if the players packed up their mouthguards once they realised the game was done. For a game that finished at about 730, there is no excuse. Especially those with kids, teach them the right way and not the soft route.

The game didn't go our way but I reckon that was more based on skill execution rather than effort.
Don't agree - i was there and stayed till the end but if our side are losing and not having a go then I'm not puting myself through the pain and stay

outside66 wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 11:28am Nothing disappoints me more when 'supporters' leave early. I get that some would have pressing engagements and whatnot however it's the ones who leave early but would've stayed until the end if we were winning/had a chance to win. It's nothing short of embarrassing and it sends a soft, weak-willed message to everyone else. The 5-10000 crows supporters would have been laughing at the hordes of RWB leaving in the last qtr. Imagine if the players packed up their mouthguards once they realised the game was done. For a game that finished at about 730, there is no excuse. Especially those with kids, teach them the right way and not the soft route.

The game didn't go our way but I reckon that was more based on skill execution rather than effort.viewforum.php?f=1

Hate it. Always have.

vacuous space wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 4:49pm

They're the same ones that yell 'kick it' as soon as a player gets there hands on the footy
And yell ball as soon as someone is tackled.

True supporters get it. Never ever, ever left early. Only the self entitled leave early.

You saying they are a bit soft Cairnsman?

Cairnsman wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 8:52pm True supporters get it. Never ever, ever left early. Only the self entitled leave early.
Don't leave early myself, but don't blame people for leaving 5 mins before the end when the game has been lost.
But totally mystified at supporters that leave early in the last qtr when the game is still winnable!!

Joffa Burns wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 8:35pm
vacuous space wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 4:49pm

And yell ball as soon as someone is tackled.
I disagree with this.

The yelling "BALL" is one of the best parts of our game. I usually join in when the opposition fans do it, and I include the 'raising of the glass' gesture for good measure. Always brings a smile to my face. The random yelling of "BALL" when things are a bit quiet is a great ice-breaker as well. I've been known to yell it just before the opening bounce. The joy of this is that most folks turn to glare at you, and in doing so miss the bounce!

Also joining in when anyone boos, again raising the glass.
Football is fun. If you are good, then next week I'll tell you about footy card voodoo.
Enjoy!

Enrico_Misso wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 9:24pm
Cairnsman wrote: Mon 29 Apr 2019 8:52pm True supporters get it. Never ever, ever left early. Only the self entitled leave early.
Don't leave early myself, but don't blame people for leaving 5 mins before the end when the game has been lost.
But totally mystified at supporters that leave early in the last qtr when the game is still winnable!!
Did that happen Sat night?
If so, pretty piss weak.

As a rule I always stay till the end of the match, it's not loyalty rather a fear of potentially missing something important (FOMO) like a spectacular mark or brilliant goal. And I've got absolutely no problem with the folks who prefer to leave when we're losing.

The last time I left early was the 2010 Grand Final, I'm sorry but I just didn't want to be there with all those arrogant feral bogans celebrating. And I have no regrets.