25 years ago. Where were you when Plugger smashed the Swans

Re: 25 years ago. Where were you when Plugger smashed the Swans

at the game

I was at the Sydney cricket ground, mostly getting abused by a fwit Swans supporter who was sitting behind me.

I had the last laugh though. Loved every second of that last quarter.

Unfortunately Plugger's performance opened up the greedy eyes of the swans coach and his sin city mates.

They coveted him from that day on.

Ape_Man

At my Grandmothers for Mother’s Day.

The whole family was going nuts. The noise was incredible.

Dad taped the game. He still has it tucked away somewhere.

One of my favourite games of all time. We were insipid for 3 quarters. Plugger single handedly kept us in the game until 3 quarter time. Then all hell broke loose in the last.

The game is available on YouTube. I watched it a few weeks back.

Still gives me chills.

Crossy66

Cant recall ever seeing anyone else RIP a game apart like that. It was brutal and full on anger. I remember him drilling that kick into that grey headed guy that leads the club song after a game. Kenny William's o think. Pluggedr tried to kill him... literally

Screaming at the idiot box. Still remember it. Dean Greig played that day too and kicked a good banana in the last.

Sunday arvo? Was walking in Akland St. I think I might have seen it on a screen somewhere down there.

Laurie

Was at the game then later headed to a bowling club which was the Swans social club to greet the Saints players. No luck however as they were ushered into a back room and did not appear.

Crossy66 wrote: Wed 08 May 2019 7:20pm Cant recall ever seeing anyone else RIP a game apart like that. It was brutal and full on anger. I remember him drilling that kick into that grey headed guy that leads the club song after a game. Kenny William's o think. Pluggedr tried to kill him... literally
He and his swan mates had been abusing him all day and taunting him about the pig on the ground the year before.

That fwit Collins wanted to have Plugger cited for bringing the game into disrepute.

Pity Plugger missed . I still can't stand that Kenny guy and seeing him join with the players singing their song after a win, makes me want to throw up.

0 telling

Bonegi Beach, Guadalcanal. Stupid Australian was the general look in the eyes of others there. Some joined in singing Saints come marching in though, in pidjin. Never forget it.

The Fireman wrote: Wed 08 May 2019 6:49pm at the game

Yes I was there too. I timed a work trip to coincide the game.

As I was there by myself I made up my mind to have a beer for every goal that Plugger kicked. I had to abandon that plan as Plugga was on fire, but I did end up very merry ;)
Last edited by saintsRrising on Wed 08 May 2019 9:10pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ape_Man

As I was there by myself I made up my mine to have a beer for every goal that Plugger kicked. I had to abandon that plan as Plugga was on fire, but I did end up very merry ;)
I might open a nice claret in memoriam of Caven’s nose.

Yorkeys wrote: Wed 08 May 2019 7:51pm Bonegi Beach, Guadalcanal. Stupid Australian was the general look in the eyes of others there. Some joined in singing Saints come marching in though, in pidjin. Never forget it.
Guadalcanal? What the......?

Surfing? Is there surf there?

Are there mines there or something like that? Were you doing some war history?.

Diving/snorkelling on a couple of Japanese transport wrecks near the shore, a Sunday I believe. No surf there - best surf I saw in Pacific was a break in Pohnpei FSM. You can't escape the war history in Guadalcanal and it is intensely interesting/captivating. Those American guys were so brave and the Japanese so fierce. The conditions for fighting awful. I was working for a fisheries management org. Just a bit lucky is a couple of ways.

1994...on a Sunday afternoon? Most likely at the pub! If not, watching (and enjoying) it on TV.

saintsRrising wrote: Wed 08 May 2019 8:31pm

As I was there by myself I made up my mine to have a beer for every goal that Plugger kicked. I had to abandon that plan as Plugga was on fire, but I did end up very merry ;)
I was one of the many that ran onto the grd after the siren..was incredible game.

Watched the game from the comfort of the couch, truly couldn't believe the last quarter, Plugger was bloody amazing in that game. Of course, the opposition dare not get in his way after his unfortunate collision with Caven!

Had to go to my parents for the arvo so set the vcr. Watched the first half. Plugger kicked our first 7 goals, we got smashed everywhere else. I left early in the third quarter in disgust. Didn't turn the radio on in the car until I was nearly home. I thought I must have heard it wrong. Got home and watched the last quarter. Still couldn't believe it.
Whenever anyone says one player can't win a game by himself I think of that game.

I was visting friends in Brisbane. We'd had a big night out and they were sleeping in, so I sat back and watched the game. It was a frustrating shocker for most. Then in the final quarter I recall the Swans kicking a goal that put them 52 or 53 points up. I saw there was about 15 minutes left and thought "we're f**** game over". I turned off the telly and went outside for a walk!!!

I just assumed we'd lost the game. I got back to Melbourne a couple of days later and got a call from a mate (Richmond supporter), he said g'day and then said "great game by the Saints on the weekend". I responded "are you taken the piss?".

Confused he said "it was a great win". He subsequently told me how Dean Grieg took control in the middle and Plugger went bezerk kicking 8 in the last 15 minutes. I was stunned a real "duh" moment.

Now I always rigidly stand by Leigh Matthews' goal a minute rule.

remboy wrote: Wed 08 May 2019 10:00pm Had to go to my parents for the arvo so set the vcr. Watched the first half. Plugger kicked our first 7 goals, we got smashed everywhere else. I left early in the third quarter in disgust. Didn't turn the radio on in the car until I was nearly home. I thought I must have heard it wrong. Got home and watched the last quarter. Still couldn't believe it.
Whenever anyone says one player can't win a game by himself I think of that game.
Barrassi, who I can't stand after meeting him a couple of times, actually gifted the game to us.

Took their fullback off Frawley in the last quarter and placed him between Loewe and Plugger. leaving Danny to roam where he liked without anyone on him.

That big Sth Aussie ruckman that we had at the time kept winning the tap outs which then ended up with Frawley and eventually Plugger. With a few minutes to go, I started to believe we could win. Greatest 4th quarter comeback ever.

lennyhayesisgod

At the game sitting in the Swans premium members area like I did at all swans home games. As a displaced Aussie rules tragic in Rugbyleagueville, I watched the swans but supported the saints from afar. None of my other regular ticket holders around me knew of my secret saints love

Until that last quarter when I couldn’t help myself

Sitting back on the couch for 3 quarters and 10 mins.

Sitting on the edge of the couch for 10 minutes.

Standing, pacing the room, fidgeting and intermittent yelling for 10 minutes.

Pure euphoria and cheering for 1 minute interspersed with a torrent of unprintable abuse at the senile white haired loud-mouthed F'Wit sitting behind the Shytney goal - what a shame that goal square kick from Plugger didn't decapitate him!!!!!!

In my flat in St. Kilda watching it on my old portable TV. We had been nine goals behind at one stage and were still miles behind at three quarter time, so I said to myself - if we kick the first goal in the first quarter I'll just keep watching, but if they get the first I'll just turn the TV off. They got the first goal so true to my word I turned the TV off.
I switched it back on when I thought the game was over I turned the tele back on, but the game wasn't quite done. Not by a long chalk. I saw Lockett take a grab, and the commentator (Healy?) said "They're going to win this by a point!" and then he laughed.
I saw Lockett kick the ball through the goals and it was probably the only time I have actually seen a ball actually kicked AT the supporters behind the goals and it was a real spearing kick too. They panned to Stan in the box who was going ballistic. I was absolutely incredulous. Stunned.
When we got back in front I saw Frawley rove the ball, and the siren went. Then I saw Lloydy and all the other Saints supporters elatedly running on to the field to celebrate with the players.

Ape_Man

remboy wrote:Had to go to my parents for the arvo so set the vcr. Watched the first half. Plugger kicked our first 7 goals, we got smashed everywhere else. I left early in the third quarter in disgust. Didn't turn the radio on in the car until I was nearly home. I thought I must have heard it wrong. Got home and watched the last quarter. Still couldn't believe it.
Anyone that says one player can’t win a game on his own has never seen Tony Lockett play football.

Getting on the plane after the game there was a lonesome saints supporter in his seat resplendent with scarf ..as I walked past him I said "great game hey " he forlornly looked at me and told me that he had left the game at 3/4 time.