Saints connection - anyone support St Kilda and St George?

...and is anyone brave enough to make the mad Sat-Sun dash between the two cities this weekend for the respective grand finals?

Beej

If you paid for my return flights and GF ticket I'd go.

But then I'd flog the ticket and spend the day catching up with my dad and go surfing with some old friends.

Q5

Sammy Gilbert!!! Grandfather played for St George and has said that he follows them. Let's hope that something keeps him away from Sydney this weekend! :wink:

Saint Mick

Yes, I'm a passionate supporter and member / season ticket holder of both. Had booked my NRL tickets a while back (it's always going to be the Dragons year as far as I'm concerned!) and will be flying down for the game on Saturday and returning in the evening. I'm nearly 30 and haven't seen either of my teams win a GF - if both the Saints and the Dragons win within a day of one another my head will explode!

Q5

Saint Mick wrote:Yes, I'm a passionate supporter and member / season ticket holder of both. Had booked my NRL tickets a while back (it's always going to be the Dragons year as far as I'm concerned!) and will be flying down for the game on Saturday and returning in the evening. I'm nearly 30 and haven't seen either of my teams win a GF - if both the Saints and the Dragons win within a day of one another my head will explode!
Good luck!!! Growing up in Canberra and being a Raiders supporter (though having more of a 'fondness' for the Storm now) it would have been the absolute ultimate - hope it comes true for you!!!!

digswell

Love the Dragons. Was there in 77 for both the drawn GF and the premiership. Kids are Storm fans so try and get to the Storm v Dragons games in Melb. Not going Sunday as want to be here to absorb all the atmosphere of the Saints Premiership but it would be fantastic if the Dragons got up as well. My dream is Saints, Dragons, Liverpool fc (sorry evertonfc) all winners in the same year!!

Goldy

Yeah kind of... was born in Moorabbin but lived in Kograh for almost 3 years until this year and the other Saints are my chosen team - but the real Saints win hands down. Would be a great story for both clubs to get the job done, maybe even spark some kind of alliance!

Anyway... CARN THE SAINTS!

Winmar

Yep I'm a Dragon too, and the draw on Saturday really stuffed up my plans for the weekend! I was meant to be flying up on Saturday, but now I'll be at the MCG, so I've had to forfeit the flight and bought another one for Sunday arvo. I want to be able to go to Moorabbin on Sunday if we win, so had to book a flight that gets me to Sydney at 15:55. The game starts at 5pm so I'm cutting it very fine!

I was there in 1999 to see us lose to the Storm (I was a very angry Winmar at the end of that), so the chance to see two Saints premierships in one weekend was too good to pass up. St Helens are in the grand final on Saturday night too!

evertonfc, I also watched Everton in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane this year. :)

MattyJ89

I've lived in Sydney for the past 18 months (for work) and really couldn't care less about NRL, being a Victorian resident for 19 of my 21 years!
I still consider myself a proud Victorian as opposed to a New South Welshman; majority of weekends during the footy season are spent in Victoria; except for those when we have interstate games :-P (went to all games this year bar the Adelaide ones...............stupid weddings!)

But if anyone asks who I go for in the NRL, which I get a lot at work (gee, fancy that!), my response is always St George; I decided it made the most sense, given the whole 'St' thing going on, and the fact that their home ground (Carlton, NSW) is actually the closest to my place of any of the NRL clubs!

GO SAINTS!

Suddenly I feel rather ashamed to admit I jumped from the Dragons to the Storm in 1999.

Still room on the bandwagon on Sunday...?

:oops:

HSVKing

Not a Dragons fan, but have a Saints/Dragons double on with the bookies.

Handsome little payout when it happens :wink:

They walk amongst us...

St Michele

Would love to see the Roosters win, a team going form last on the ladder to winning the flag in a year awesome.

I am an Eels supporter as my husband became a Saint last year so I traded St George ( my previous team) for his NRL Team.

Michele
Goals are dreams with deadlines!!
RoseInOz

I have tipped Saint Kilda and St George!!
GO SAINTS

Most people achieved their greatest success one step beyond what looked like their greatest failure.
Our time is now! Please let it be 2012!

11 Premierships in a row would be "nice".

Winmar

The last of the 11 was in 1966 too. :)

Good Luck the dragons

I wonder if the mascot is doing the dash from St Kilda's Grandfinal sunday to sydney

good luck the Dragons

BUt those SUITssssss???? :?

bushy7

I am a passionate follower of both St Kilda and St George and am praying fervently for a quinella this weekend - please let it be so! My passion for all things Saints was sparked from being born in Berrigan (who play in Saints colours). In fact, St Helens are also in the English Super League GF this weekend.

GO SAINTS (of all persuasions and codes, but particularly St Kilda, my #1 team).

saintkellerm

Saints

Must say I am a storm fan, but dearly hoping for St George to win and the mighty Saints to win. New Orleans Saints won the superbowl at the begginning of the year, so definitely hoping for all Saints teams to win...am a fan of Sutherland as well, and there is a Wellington Saints team. As long as the St Kilda FC win the flag tomorrow....then it doesn't matter what else happens after that.....Maybe the All Blacks winning the Rugby World Cup :lol:

I'm not a member of St George, but I do have an incredible soft spot for them!! I'll be watching them on Sunday with hopefully the joy of watching our boys take a win tomorrow!!! There was something I always loved about the Dragons and their song.... something terribly familiar about it :P

walski

Both clubs have a link St George has St George bank as a major sponsor and we have them as our short sponsor. If they both win it would love a joint photograph. Go saints in both codes I say.

samwell

Saint Mick wrote:Yes, I'm a passionate supporter and member / season ticket holder of both. Had booked my NRL tickets a while back (it's always going to be the Dragons year as far as I'm concerned!) and will be flying down for the game on Saturday and returning in the evening. I'm nearly 30 and haven't seen either of my teams win a GF - if both the Saints and the Dragons win within a day of one another my head will explode!
That would be awesome. Pretty sure the last time the NRL and AFL grand finals were played the same weekend was in 97. We all know what happened on the Saturday and then Manly (my team) lost to Darren Albert's try in the last minute on Sunday. Not a good weekend!!!!!!!

Good luck to the dragons - can't stand the rooters :)

HSVKing

samwell wrote:
That would be awesome. Pretty sure the last time the NRL and AFL grand finals were played the same weekend was in 97. We all know what happened on the Saturday and then Manly (my team) lost to Darren Albert's try in the last minute on Sunday. Not a good weekend!!!!!!!

2007 they were on the same weekend. Attended both (unfortunately as a neutral supporter both times).

They walk amongst us...

samwell

HSVKing wrote:
samwell wrote:

2007 they were on the same weekend. Attended both (unfortunately as a neutral supporter both times).
oh yeah i was overseas for that - manly lost that weekend too!!!!!

HSVKing

samwell wrote:oh yeah i was overseas for that - manly lost that weekend too!!!!!
I was supporting them that day (Hate the Storm *ducks*) but didn't get them across the line unfortunately. Didn't have a great weekend as I was hoping Port beat Geelong too :lol:

They walk amongst us...