Edit: NO TRADES!!! Saints to not be big traders....

That seems to be the vibe this year with Club CEO Nettlefold indicating:

St Kilda is paying close to 100 per cent of its salary cap, leaving the Saints with little opportunity to recruit players from rival clubs in this week's player-exchange.

"The by-product of retaining a strong core group of players is that we don't have much room to move, but that's been by design to keep all our better players," Nettlefold said.

Lyon: He said the Saints would concentrate on adding to their list by recruiting teenage talent in next month's national draft

So with our salary cap full you can rule out any "names" joining us as we do not have the cash....and there seems no desire to trade any of our star, which would be the only way of securing an opposition star.

So rule out anyone like Kerr, who is on $700,000 a year at present.

Also looking at what players are rumoured to be available, there seems to be little of the type of player that could make a real difference to us.

However no doubt Lyon and the club will monitor the other clubs in case another "Ray" bobs up. That is a player of the type we need, that can be traded for cheaply. someone like Krakour could be a smokey if his price is not pushed too high.

Gardi will play on...and needs to given how Jolly handled Ben with ease....

And Armo is on for a year.

That gives us:

* Stanley, Steven, Armo, Miles, Geary, Lynch, Heyne, Simpkin, Walsh (smokey) are the more obvious ones of whom we need several to step up and make the grade in 2011. Others like Winmar and Gaerrtner remain as possibilities though.

* Raph back from injury (though odds are someone else will get injured..)
Last edited by saintsRrising on Mon 11 Oct 2010 2:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Saints to not be big traders....

saintsRrising wrote:That seems to be the vibe this year with Club CEO Nettlefold indicating:

St Kilda is paying close to 100 per cent of its salary cap, leaving the Saints with little opportunity to recruit players from rival clubs in this week's player-exchange.

"The by-product of retaining a strong core group of players is that we don't have much room to move, but that's been by design to keep all our better players," Nettlefold said.

Lyon: He said the Saints would concentrate on adding to their list by recruiting teenage talent in next month's national draft

So with our salary cap full you can rule out any "names" joining us as we do not have the cash....and there seems no desire to trade any of our star, which would be the only way of securing an opposition star.

Also looking at what players are rumoured to be available, there seems to be little of the type of player that could make a real difference to us.

However no doubt Lyon and the club will monitor the other clubs in case another "Ray" bobs up. That is a player of the type we need, that can be traded for cheaply. someone like Krakour could be a smokey if his price is not pushed too high.

That gives us:

* Stanley, Steven, Armo, Miles, Geary, Lynch, Heyne, Simpkin, Walsh (smokey) of whom we need several to step up and make the grade in 2011.

Article saying today that Lyon HOPES that he continues....[/b]

Buckets wrote:

Article saying today that Lyon HOPES that he continues....]
Well it is subject to the operations..but odds are that he will be good to go.

We might still have some room to sneak in one or two mature age recruits.

Another Barlow perhaps.

If it was two years ago now... I would be strongly hoping for Sautner to play a couple of years as our full forward.

Oh well...

FQF wrote:We might still have some room to sneak in one or two mature age recruits.

Another Barlow perhaps.

If it was two years ago now... I would be strongly hoping for Sautner to play a couple of years as our full forward.

Oh well...
Tregear?

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Man, if we have to go again with this same list, we've seriously got our work cut out for us. 3 chances to win a flag in just over 12 months and 5 prelims in the past 7 seasons, with this core group, and no flag from any of that and they're all of a sudden going to do it next year, with all the mental scarring that is likely after all these missed opportunities? That will take a monumental effort.

saintlee

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:Man, if we have to go again with this same list, we've seriously got our work cut out for us. 3 chances to win a flag in just over 12 months and 5 prelims in the past 7 seasons, with this core group, and no flag from any of that and they're all of a sudden going to do it next year, with all the mental scarring that is likely after all these missed opportunities? That will take a monumental effort.
I agree. Problem is the salary cap. We have no room unless we trade out some players. Doesn't sound like RL and co want to do that....

If they don't, they have to pull a major rabbit out of the hat, or get a team of psychologists in, or both, if we're to win a flag.

saintlee

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:If they don't, they have to pull a major rabbit out of the hat, or get a team of psychologists in, or both, if we're to win a flag.
Yeah, I'm with you. My hope is that some of the young fringe players like Stanley, Steven, Heyne, Armo really step up next year like Gwilty did this year. Could make all the difference.

With the loss of Ball and Lovett.. Shouldn't we have heaps of room? Or did that get taken up by current players improving?

Spinner wrote:With the loss of Ball and Lovett.. Shouldn't we have heaps of room? Or did that get taken up by current players improving?
Ball was the previous year.

So that just leaves Lovett.

No. Kingy has retired. He was being paid something.

karnak

and as mentioned somewhere else, the potential to get Roo onto the veterans list (given he is our highest earner) this would free up a lot of room.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!

Spinner wrote:With the loss of Ball and Lovett.. Shouldn't we have heaps of room? Or did that get taken up by current players improving?
Ball was the previous year.

So that just leaves Lovett.
Isn't what we're paying Lovett still going into our salary cap? I was pretty sure I read that.

want to be somemassive improvement fro our youngsters from this year.....I can see us treading water/slightly backwards next year...you cant load em all up in 1 year....but we must give them consistent game time to develop them......when we were winning 19 games a year I reckon we couldve given these kids some more exposure....some are completely unknown ie Smith? Miles has the odd game and Simpkin?

Ahh well....hope the "core" holds up....and Dal/Gram/Joey learn on the biggest stage of all you have to deliver......just cant keep getting to GF's for second best...

That gives us:

* Stanley, Steven, Armo, Miles, Geary, Lynch, Heyne, Simpkin, Walsh (smokey) are the more obvious ones of whom we need several to step up and make the grade in 2011. Others like Winmar and Gaerrtner remain as possibilities though.

Please add A Smith to your list.

im tipping Stanley, Smith and Miles to be the 3 players to have the most impact in 2011 from outside the core group.

That gives us:

im tipping Stanley, Smith and Miles to be the 3 players to have the most impact in 2011 from outside the core group.
I reckon u could add Armitage.....can jag a goal and be our Luke Ball.....with more run IF he gets his head right.....BIG opportunity for him and given our lack of Drafting option Ross HAS to play him.

Please leave Eddy/Mqualter as reserve's next year...weve got to get some run into the side desperately so we can attack with some flair and bring the ball forward with some dash. Stanley out to a wing on occasion isnt ridiculous....

As a Collingwood suporter recently said....."the difference between their defensive fwd aka Sidebottom....and ours McQualter....is that theirs ALSO contributes goals/posessions in addition to doing shut down jobs/pressure......ours do 1 thing and dont touch the footy.....simply not enough".

That gives us:

Yes I forgot about A Smith...and he is amongst the more likely ones IMO.

I actually rate Alias as a quite likely....would love to see him given some games early to see how he stands up.

saintlee wrote: Yeah, I'm with you. My hope is that some of the young fringe players like Stanley, Steven, Heyne, Armo really step up next year like Gwilty did this year. Could make all the difference.
The only way we will get improvment is if RL commits to giving senior games to the likes of Stanley, Armo & Steven. These guys must play the majority of the first 10 rounds to get games under their belts and more importantly confidence. We have to bite the bullet.

We retained all our stars in an era of GWS and GC. Of course we were going to be at 100% and that is why I was saying when people said Kerr or Fev that we mustnt have a salary cap. It now looks like we do.

Rice Paper

saintsRrising wrote:That seems to be the vibe this year with Club CEO Nettlefold indicating:

That gives us:

Surely this is List Mis - management?
In the most compromised draft in years we are going to stock up with teenagers? In a normal draft we struggle to draft decent players yet now we are going young with our 1st pick being in the 20s? NO wonder Mathew Drain has been given the arse.

Gardner is going to have stem cell treatment on his bad knee and other operations to get up for next year, isn't time for a new ruck combo? Free up his wage and trade someone in, I'm worried if we are going into 2011 with the same list.

saintlee

Rice Paper wrote:Surely this is List Mis - management?
In the most compromised draft in years we are going to stock up with teenagers? In a normal draft we struggle to draft decent players yet now we are going young with our 1st pick being in the 20s? NO wonder Mathew Drain has been given the arse.

Gardner is going to have stem cell treatment on his bad knee and other operations to get up for next year, isn't time for a new ruck combo? Free up his wage and trade someone in, I'm worried if we are going into 2011 with the same list.
Word is, this is a strong and deep draft. So may not be such a bad idea to mine it for teenagers.

What is more troubling is how damn good the GC could be in a couple of years time if this draft is as good as reported.

aussierules0k

Last edited by aussierules0k on Tue 19 Oct 2010 11:50pm, edited 1 time in total.

5 prelims in 7 years. 40 wins from 49 games.
2009 and 2010 were 2 of the 5 best years ever by the St.Kilda FC.
Thanks for all your efforts Saints.

aussierules0k wrote:This is good news. We have the cattle already.
I dont think we do actually but luckily not many clubs do.

trade_rumours: Tambling has Saints as his preferred club, trying to work out trade. But Adelaide loom large with a better offer #tradeweek
less than a minute ago via web