2011 Guernseys - Home and Alternate

saintdooley wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Here's what I mean ...

BJ's grab photographed from side on

http://www.theage.com.au/photogallery/a ... 15szh.html

Destined to be one of the all time great marks.

BUT
if you didn't know who BJ was you would only pick him as a StK player by his socks.
There is NOT ONE TRACE OF RED visible on his jumper.
NOTHING to identify him as a StK player except his socks.

That's a "foreign" jumper not a clash jumper.
if we were in the home jumper you would see no red either....thats just the camera angle.
100% agree. Some people will whinge without even thinking about it.

snowdelisaint

Tom_Sainter wrote:I like the new jumper, it gives us a bit of a mongrel, take no attitude or sh*t from anybody look.
At first I didn't like the black cuffs but the above is a good point.

As for the away strip I'd say it's a passable solution but on the whole - and as usual - this could all have been done better. :(

saintdooley wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Here's what I mean ...

BJ's grab photographed from side on

http://www.theage.com.au/photogallery/a ... 15szh.html

Destined to be one of the all time great marks.

BUT
if you didn't know who BJ was you would only pick him as a StK player by his socks.
There is NOT ONE TRACE OF RED visible on his jumper.
NOTHING to identify him as a StK player except his socks.

That's a "foreign" jumper not a clash jumper.
if we were in the home jumper you would see no red either....thats just the camera angle.
100% agree. Some people will whinge without even thinking about it.
Interesting comment plugger66

Saint_Ash
Location: Either work, home or the footy, maybe a pub somewhere

Re: 2011 Guernseys - Home and Alternate

SaintSimmo wrote:
Saint Mick wrote: New alternate strip - more white used to form the cross synonymous with St.Kilda

I'm a fan of the away strip, not so sure about the black cuffs on the home version!
So is this a clash strip or away strip?? becuase I like it.
The White strip in the middle is still too wide. It looks the same width as last year which made it look too much like a complete white jumper.

I still can't work out what is wrong with our home front and white back.

Even if we did have the same front as our home jumper except have the white cross over the chest it would be better as at lease we have a full view of all of our colours.

thequarry

Tom_Sainter wrote:I like the new jumper, it gives us a bit of a mongrel, take no attitude or sh*t from anybody look.
Reminded me of this straight away:

I think it looks great.

TriColourDisciple

Over the recent years we've christened our lame alternate jumpers with different names like 'Hot cross bun', 'Candy stripe', 'faded apron, etc.

I think I'll do the honours for the new clash strip.... -If it's all right with you guys of course.

'The Boob Tube'

Proudly Brainwashed since 1972
Saint_Ash
Location: Either work, home or the footy, maybe a pub somewhere

Saint_Ash wrote: Even if we did have the same front as our home jumper except have the white cross over the chest it would be better as at lease we have a full view of all of our colours.
Something along the lines of this:

chook23 wrote:The white panel in home strip......IS IT NARROWER!!!

TOO narrow

or is the new NAB jumper??
Now they come up with a white stripe as wide as a bee's dinger on our HOME jumper, can the board get anything right?

Away jumper should be TRADITIONAL HOME JUMPER with a white back!

Three panels of equal size and dimension!

How simple is it?

FAIR DINKUM

:evil:

never is everyone happy

thats what they are

look the goods i reckon
maybe a thicker white stripe on the home and away, but crickey lets not be too picky

when are they on sale??
i have a voucher too use up by mid jan...can see one of those tracksuit tops getting bought with it

matrix wrote:never is everyone happy

thats what they are

look the goods i reckon
maybe a thicker white stripe on the home and away, but crickey lets not be too picky

when are they on sale??
i have a voucher too use up by mid jan...can see one of those tracksuit tops getting bought with it
People shouldn't get too worked up about the white panel on the home jumper.

The images shown here are of a jumper laying flat. Clearly the white stretches when a big, muscly Sainter pulls it over his well defined torso, and the red & black panels wrap around to the sides.

Have a look at the boys wearing em on the new Membership Cards (see other thread) to get a better idea. :roll:

ThePunter

The jumper needs to be approved by the AFL.

We play by the rules - your beef should be with St Kilda not trying to make two wrongs a right, but with the AFL and the recalcitrant Essendon Football Club.

I'm just unhappy because I have a old white clash jumper now (the 2009 one).

Saint_Ash wrote:
SaintSimmo wrote:
Saint Mick wrote: New alternate strip - more white used to form the cross synonymous with St.Kilda

I'm a fan of the away strip, not so sure about the black cuffs on the home version!
So is this a clash strip or away strip?? becuase I like it.
The White strip in the middle is still too wide. It looks the same width as last year which made it look too much like a complete white jumper.

I still can't work out what is wrong with our home front and white back.

Even if we did have the same front as our home jumper except have the white cross over the chest it would be better as at lease we have a full view of all of our colours.

your's would be a sensible solution/compromise me thinks....

clintgrierson

Sick of all these old grumpy stubborn traditionalists who have nothing better to do than whinge. The jumper looks great, tuff and slick. If we wanted to wear the full traditional strip, check the jumper from 1897. Move on. It's the best home jumper yet. I'm sure you wont mind if the premiership cup was help up in that jumper.

saintlee

Wow...for the first time that I can remember, they have got both the home and away jumpers right! Well done. If I was nitpicking I would remove the black outline on the red side of the away jumper.

Saint Pup

I really like the new away/clash jumper. The only problem I have with it is way does the red edge have a black line of trim around it?

GET UP AND ABOUT SAINTERS!

thequarry wrote:

I think it looks great.
i would love this to be our away strip.

Sainternist wrote:
thequarry wrote:

I think it looks great.
Me too.

Sainternist wrote:
thequarry wrote:

I think it looks great.
Not sold on it myself....looks like a visiting German Circ De Solai troupe....no thanks.

Red white Black are the colors.

avid

What the f is going on???!!!

I don't mind the concept of collar and cuffs black instead of white, if it's on the basic traditional jumper.
But:
Are we going to have -- all season -- a non-traditional jumper for home, with the white stripe almost squeezed to half size?? That is just a completely unnecessary stuff up.
Are we going to be playing in RED, WHITE (a little of it) and CHARCOAL ???!!! If so, that's a disgrace.

As for this away strip:
It is one of the most incompetent designs I've ever seen! What are those grey edgings??? You would fail a first year design student for that sort inept work.
Saint_Ash's attempt (above) at least achieves the white cross band idea with some real clarity. That is good design work.

But it is entirely unnecessary design work! Why don't we just stick to the pure, traditional solution that is right before our noses:
RED, WHITE and BLACK panels, in CORRECT proportions for both home and away.
Black collar, cuffs and back for home.
White collar, cuffs and back for away.

Is there ANYthing simpler, or better????
It is DEEPLY disappointing to me that the club just doesn't seem to get it.

It's driving me to distraction, this.
And don't anyone come on and say it doesn't matter.

The new clash jumper IMO should be our traditional front with red or white back. Red would be stronger than white.

avid wrote:What the f is going on???!!!

I don't mind the concept of collar and cuffs black instead of white, if it's on the basic traditional jumper.
But:
Are we going to have -- all season -- a non-traditional jumper for home, with the white stripe almost squeezed to half size?? That is just a completely unnecessary stuff up.
Are we going to be playing in RED, WHITE (a little of it) and CHARCOAL ???!!! If so, that's a disgrace.

As for this away strip:
It is one of the most incompetent designs I've ever seen! What are those grey edgings??? You would fail a first year design student for that sort inept work.
Saint_Ash's attempt (above) at least achieves the white cross band idea with some real clarity. That is good design work.

But it is entirely unnecessary design work! Why don't we just stick to the pure, traditional solution that is right before our noses:

It's driving me to distraction, this.
You write all that as if it is popular opinion. From what i have read here it is you that just dont seem to get it. And it certainly doesnt matter to me. That is me and unlike you i am only writing for me.

avid wrote:It's driving me to distraction, this.
the reason people say it doesn't matter is because it pretty obviously doesn't matter.

avid wrote:Are we going to have -- all season -- a non-traditional jumper for home, with the white stripe almost squeezed to half size?? That is just a completely unnecessary stuff up.
Like I said above, people shouldn't get too worked up about the white panel on the home jumper.

The images shown are of a jumper laying flat. Clearly the white stretches when a big, muscly Sainter pulls it over his well defined torso, and the red & black panels wrap around to the sides.

Have a look at the boys wearing em on the new Membership Cards (see other thread) to get a better idea. :idea:

avid wrote:Why don't we just stick to the pure, traditional solution that is right before our noses:

I totally agree 100%!

When we play in a Grand Final I'd like our HOME JUMPER TRADITIONAL PANELS TO ADORN THE FRONT OF THE JUMPER, if we are forced to wear an away jumper on such an important occasion!

I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT THE BOARD WOULD HAVE WOKEN UP BY NOW!

HOME JUMPER FOR HOME GAMES INCLUDING Essendon

HOME JUMPER WITH A WHITE BACK FOR AWAY GAMES!

ALL PANELS OF EQUAL SIZE!

HOW SIMPLE IS IT!

FAIR DINKUM!

Love both the jumpers. One thing to be clear on, the AFL set the rules re the clash strip. It has to be predominately white. So we cant just have our hone jumper with a white back, it wont pass scrutiny.