Gold Coast

For free transport to the Gold Coast you need to learn to hold out your arm and point your thumb in the direction you want to travel!
You may be best to hitch your way to Sydney first then hitch from there to the Gold Coast!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

quidnunc

The wife and I are shouting our Son in Melbourne - flights, accommodation and entry to the GC match for his birthday that W/E.

We thought we better go as well to keep an eye on him and keep him safe as he's only 30!

Love the Liar's Bar so the three of us will be there after the match.

Go Saints!

Was there on the outer wing as a youngster flying the flag in '66 - still loyal, still passionate!
DWOODROW

fingers wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:Going down with the family so looking forward to it.

Is there a place some saints supporters will catch up and say hi??

I have two kids so can't really hang out at the pubs too much but would like to say high.

That includes you saintBrat :wink:
Hey will Malcolm Blight be hosting the Armitage family by chance?
you will have tobfill Kevin with the significance of that one. Notbsurebwhatbyoubmean but I dont think so.
:shock: :?
Can we pass the hat around and buy DWOODROW a space bar ;)
I didn't even have that many beers last night either. Thats pretty hopeless.

What I meant to say Cairnsman is you might have to fill me in with the significance of that comment.
Unless you mean my mum loves him or he lives there and has something to do with the Gold Coast Suns.

DWOODROW wrote:
fingers wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:

I have two kids so can't really hang out at the pubs too much but would like to say high.

you will have tobfill Kevin with the significance of that one. Notbsurebwhatbyoubmean but I dont think so.

What I meant to say Cairnsman is you might have to fill me in with the significance of that comment.
Unless you mean my mum loves him or he lives there and has something to do with the Gold Coast Suns.
I was being a little facetious and mischievous by inferring that maybe Malcolm Blight will be wining and dining the Armitage family in an attempt to sign their son to the GC Suns. Malcolm Blight is on the board of directors at the GC Suns. Hope that clears it up.

DWOODROW

Cairnsman wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
fingers wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:

I was being a little facetious and mischievous by inferring that maybe Malcolm Blight will be wining and dining the Armitage family in an attempt to sign their son to the GC Suns. Malcolm Blight is on the board of directors at the GC Suns. Hope that clears it up.
Yeah I just got on their site to do some research and found that out.

Don't think that will be happening mate. :)

DWOODROW wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
fingers wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:

But if it did we'd be the first to know right? You could be confident that it would all be kept hush.

DWOODROW

Cairnsman wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
fingers wrote:
DWOODROW wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:

But if it did we'd be the first to know right? You could be confident that it would all be kept hush.
hahaha, Of course. That's why I'm telling you know. :wink:

Everyone can keep their hands of Armo, he's ours!

DWOODROW

Saint Bev wrote:Everyone can keep their hands of Armo, he's ours!
Just have to let St Kilda know. :?

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Saint Bev wrote:Still awaiting advice from St Kilda re function. Normally we meet at the Emerald Lakes Gold Club pre game for a drink, it is directly opposite the stadium and children friendly, can have a meal there if you like. Post match is generally the Liars Bar, Broadbeach Tavern. Best way to get there is with a bus from Pacific Fair (free with your ticket).
Thanks Saint Bev.
As a local can I ask you some questions?....

We are driving up, so does your comments mean there is limited parking near the ground?
Where is Pacific Fair?
How far from the ground is it?
Is there ample parking there?

I was just planning to buy general admission as I assumed it would be a small crowd?
What parts of the ground will that get you in to?
Or is it worth upgrading to sit ... where?

Anything else I should know?
Lots of questions, hope I can answer to your satisfaction :lol: Please bare in mind I have not been to the new venue, but that doesn't really make much difference.

Parking - Like most grounds parking is limited. You should be fine, but personally I am a public transport person. Have a few drinks and you don't have to worry.

Pacific Fair is very central and just near the Casino in Broadbeach. It is the major shopping centre on the coast. About 10 minutes to the ground, but with traffic, could be up to 30 minutes. Tonnes of parking there.

General Admission tickets - as it is a new venue that is a hard question to answer. At the Gabba you have to buy a seat and I presume it would be the same here. But you don't just buy a ticket to the footy, you have to buy general admission and a seat. Silly system if you ask me, but it is Qld. I have no idea what part of the ground that would get you into. I would suggest looking at a map of the seating which possibly would be on ticketmaster website. Or just ring and ask. If you have kids with you, I would probably opt for a seat, like I said I don't know if there is a standing area.

At this stage I have no idea where Qld Saints will be sitting and probably won't know until a week prior to the game.

Its a nice looking stadium and I am looking forward to going. As for the crowd, as there has only been one home game so far, I have no idea what the support for the Suns will be like. Gold Coasters seem to be embracing them and I think Saints fans up here will be keen to see the new stadium, so I would think the crowd would be pretty good but not a sell out.

If you have anymore questions pls ask. And as soon as I know more, I will report. When there has been a few more games played, I will try and sus out what people have to say about it.

ando051

This could help for people looking for info.

http://www.ticketmaster.com.au/Metricon ... nue/156357

Hi to the Qld. locals and thanks for the info.

With regard to Saint Bev's point on General Admission tickets, I have a Ticketmaster ticket in hand for a Reserved Seat, but there isn't any mention of General Admission & Seat. I assume that the one ticket gets you in. I will call Ticketmaster tomorrow to confirm. :roll:

seating map with aisle/row numbers etc
http://goldcoastfc.com.au/metricon-stad ... ating-map/

I believe I read somewhere that there is a small area at one end for oppositon fans
and from no basis at all I am summising it may be the Silver unreserved area top/north right.

Transport map
http://www.metriconstadium.com.au/data/ ... ea_Map.pdf

Thanks for the tips.

I see general admission goes on sale 25th July.
But does that give you a seat?

I then tried Silver Reserve $20
But it said none available.
Does that mean none available yet?
Or does it mean the cheapest seat is $35?
(In which case why have a $20 option?)

Sorry if I have confused everyone with the ticketing details, but as you can see it is a strange system. If you have a ticket for a seat, pretty sure that would include your admittance.

bangerisking wrote:Yeah booked flights just need tickets to the game would be interested in post match function details when they are announced, hopefully be a good weekend
i've doen the same booked flights (with tiger for $65. going to the goldcoast for a week.
also will need tickets to the gameand would be interested in the post match function.

Round 19 v Gold Coast Suns - Official Interstate Match Function
Saturday 30th July, $250 per head (incl. GST)

The Saints will travel to the Gold Coast in Rd 19 for their inaugural clash with the Gold Coast Suns. At this match, we invite you to join us for the Official St Kilda Football Club Interstate Match function, held in-ground at Gold Coast's Metricon Stadium. Hosted in the comfortable open-air surrounds of the newly appointed 'Skyline Deck', guests to the function will enjoy the finest in cocktail-style dining, complimentary beverage service and reserved seating in front of the deck.

There are only limited tickets available for this function so book your spots today by contacting the Business Development Team on 03 9559 6614 or bradh@saints.com.au

was in this rounds Members Email 8-)

PLUGGER14

I will be testing out the new corporate facilities as a guest of HostPlus!

Includes a visit to the Suns rooms prior to the game..........wonder how they'll feel with me wearing my StKFC shirt & scarf ;)

Saint Pup wrote:Flying to the Gold Coast on the Thursday before the game and leaving Tuesday after it. Got flights with Tiger for $65 return per person, so hopefully everythings runs smooth with tiger....
I wouldnt be relying on any "free transport" from the GC airport.
In and around Brisbane and on the train it would be straight fwd but from GC airport I cant see how the "free transport" will work.

PLUGGER14 wrote:I will be testing out the new corporate facilities as a guest of HostPlus!

Includes a visit to the Suns rooms prior to the game..........wonder how they'll feel with me wearing my StKFC shirt & scarf ;)
The 'access' they allow to the sheds and also for the corporates through a window from the high rollers club (or whatever it's called) is really farkin pervy and weird I reckon...

Some things should be kept a mystery...

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'
Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Thinline wrote:Some things should be kept a mystery...
Not since Kimi came on the scene. :wink:

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.
ando051

Saint Pup wrote:Flying to the Gold Coast on the Thursday before the game and leaving Tuesday after it. Got flights with Tiger for $65 return per person, so hopefully everythings runs smooth with tiger....
I wouldnt be relying on any "free transport" from the GC airport.
In and around Brisbane and on the train it would be straight fwd but from GC airport I cant see how the "free transport" will work.

Found this link that will help with transfers to and from Gold Coast Airport. If anyone has an cheaper alternative i would like to know, hitchhiking is out of the question :lol:

http://www.gcshuttle.com.au/sit_gcs_air ... nsfers.htm