The Direction of the footy club (my opinion)

My take on the direction the footy club should take....

Lyon got the ball rolling for us with 4 delistings. Good start.

Lock in our star; Brendan Goddard. Extend his contract for another 2 years and make him the captain. If he declines the offer than my money is on him leaving at the end of next year. If this is the case trade him while we can get something in return.

Next we look at building a solid core that will be around for the next 5 years. These are the keepers; Gilbert, Gwilt, Steven, McEvoy and Armitage.

We will also need to keep some experience around the club. These players are Hayes, Riewoldt, Milne, Fisher and Dal Santo.

Next we look at developing youth, something we have really struggled with over the last 4-5 years. Cripps, Ledger, Crocker, Stanley, Walsh, Lynch and Siposs should be given every opportunity next year. And I don't mean playing them for 2 games then dropping them. Get a solid season under their belts at the top level (barring injuries).

Trade week....

Gun for a star midfielder. Don't hold back. Someone along the lines of Dangerfield. We will need to give a lot to get a star but it can be done.

Make some tough calls. Favourite son Kosi should be offered at the trade table. Someone like the Blues would offer their first pick for him. It would be a win win for both clubs. They need a tall and we need some youth. The first pick wouldn't be a lot (22ish) but it would help. The other to be looked at is Montagna. He's been a great servant but if he could be used to gain a quality young midfield then we should go with it (eg. Monty + our first pick for Dangerfield).

These players should also be offered at trade week - Dawson, Clarke, Jones, Schneider, Dempster, Geary, Polo, Gamble, Ray etc. Basically the rest should at least be consider IMO.

Expect us not to make the finals over the next couple of years however with some smart moves at trade week and some savvy development there's no reason why we cannot turn it around like WC.

I look forward to us getting a young quality coach that can bring in some fresh ideas and that isn't afraid to think ahead and play youth. Exciting times ahead...

Step One: Lock in David Mission.

harvey goes to gws with sheedy and replaces williams

williams comes down to st kilda

thats my tip

Re: The Direction of the footy club (my opinion)

Old Mate wrote: These players should also be offered at trade week - Dawson, Clarke, Jones, Schneider, Dempster, Geary, Polo, Gamble, Ray etc. Basically the rest should at least be consider IMO.
St.Kilda needs to get some skilled players.

Delist Jones, Polo, Gamble, Dawson.....

In fact now that Lyon has gone I can't see how these guys will survive

matrix wrote:harvey goes to gws with sheedy and replaces williams

thats my tip
Why Mark Williams?

why
because thats my tip

right or wrong

thats my tip

no thanks. I don't want that wierdo any where near our club.

Old Mate wrote: Lyon got the ball rolling for us with 4 delistings. Good start.
I would assume this was Pelchen's decision not Lyon's!

He was appointed by the board and given authority over Lyon!

What started this current mess!

St.Roly

Old Mate wrote:Make some tough calls. Favourite son Kosi should be offered at the trade table. Someone like the Blues would offer their first pick for him. It would be a win win for both clubs. They need a tall and we need some youth. The first pick wouldn't be a lot (22ish) but it would help.
Don't get me wrong - I love the big fella but unless the other team's first pick is around pick 90, no chance.

Tell 'im he's dreamin'...

SinCitySainter

St.Roly wrote:
Old Mate wrote:Make some tough calls. Favourite son Kosi should be offered at the trade table. Someone like the Blues would offer their first pick for him. It would be a win win for both clubs. They need a tall and we need some youth. The first pick wouldn't be a lot (22ish) but it would help.
Don't get me wrong - I love the big fella but unless the other team's first pick is around pick 90, no chance.

Tell 'im he's dreamin'...
Agree the problem with all this trade talk is nobody we would be willing to give up is worth anything. The thought of getting a first round pick for Kosi is simply deluded. Monty is the only player that the OP would let go, excluding BJ of course, that is worth anything and I personally would not want to lose him.

thats my tip
weirdo who won a flag.

i reckon it works like this:

- malthouse to melbourne
- williams to collingwood to replace malthouse
- eade to gws to replace williams
- vossy jumps ship at brisbane and goes to the bulldogs
- brad scott goes to brisbane to replace voss
- harvey replaces scott at north
- clarkson and ratten swap at carlton and hawthorn
- mckenna and primus swap at port and gold coast
- norm smith comes out of retirement to coach melbourne
- tony modra gets appointed coach of adelaide
- ricky nixon is the new st kilda coach

Saints Angel

[quote="bergholt"][quote="SaintPav"][quote="matrix"]harvey goes to gws with sheedy and replaces williams

thats my tip[/quote]

no thanks. I don't want that wierdo any where near our club.[/quote]

weirdo who won a flag.

- malthouse to melbourne
- ricky nixon is the new st kilda coach[/quote]

Yeah that is how our luck is running at present.

Saints Angel wrote:

thats my tip
weirdo who won a flag.

- malthouse to melbourne

Kim Duthie as president

Saints Angel wrote:

thats my tip
weirdo who won a flag.

- malthouse to melbourne

Geez Melbourne are the big winners out of that getting Norm Smith and Malthouse! You forgot to mention KD as our assistant coach!