I am excited for the first time since GT.

Yep, playing in GF's (and being in a position to win till the very last moments) is not exciting.

Rather get belted in a prelim or elimination final, or better yet not make the finals at all by playing no holds barred 2 dimensional footy... glad this new coach is a straight talker, very relieved to hear Walsh was off the table, and that he talks about 'we' over the last several years, even though he'd only been there for less than 5 minutes.

All we need to do now is kick the bloody thing long and never ever kick or handball backwards to reclaim our rightful position at the bottom of the ladder.

beartalbot

markp wrote:Yep, playing in GF's (and being in a position to win till the very last moments) is not exciting.

Rather get belted in a prelim or elimination final, or better yet not make the finals at all by playing no holds barred 2 dimensional footy... glad this new coach is a straight talker, very relieved to hear Walsh was off the table, and that he talks about 'we' over the last several years, even though he'd only been there for less than 5 minutes.

All we need to do now is kick the bloody thing long and never ever kick or handball backwards to reclaim our rightful position at the bottom of the ladder.
Geez mate, you must find it hard to get out of bed each morning.
Bet you believe in global warming & the world will end in 2012
:lol: :lol:

BEAR

beartalbot wrote:
markp wrote:Yep, playing in GF's (and being in a position to win till the very last moments) is not exciting.

Geez mate, you must find it hard to get out of bed each morning.
Bet you believe in global warming & the world will end in 2012
:lol: :lol:
Nah, I believe global warming is a scam invented by an international windmill cartel, and that all this club needs is another GT.... and as such I'm obviously totally retarded and unemployable, so I don't need to gt out of bed in the morning! :P

this!!

the op is ridiculous, living in the past

how you could not be excited during 2009 and most of 10, play in grand finals, have multiple all australians, know that eams modelled their game plans on us, to me was sensational

I bet op if we had won one of the two gf's you would have been the first to come out and say "loved every minute"

Can the OP name a club in the last 5 years that has had lasting success with a full on attacking game (worked well with the bombers in 2010... not)

One thing about the Lyon era is it wasn't enjoyable to watch, apart from the first half a season in 2009. I don't care if we were winning it honestly put football back years. Just speak to most neutral fans. Horrible, horrible spectacle.

The Grant Thomas era, whist more amateurish was a far more enjoyable style to watch. Attacking and positive football and seeing young players enjoy their footy and develop.

Saying that I would have taken a premiership for the poor spectacle....That we didn't achieve.

beartalbot

terry smith rules wrote:

this!!

the op is ridiculous, living in the past

how you could not be excited during 2009 and most of 10, play in grand finals, have multiple all australians, know that eams modelled their game plans on us, to me was sensational

I bet op if we had won one of the two gf's you would have been the first to come out and say "loved every minute"

Can the OP name a club in the last 5 years that has had lasting success with a full on attacking game (worked well with the bombers in 2010... not)

I am long term Saints fan whose idols as a kid started with Bill Stephenson, moved to Verdun Howell, then Doc & Cowboy. I enjoyed the Clubs annual finals appearances in the build up to the ultimate success in '66, as well as the disappointment of '71. The lack of success during the '70's & 80's still did not dampen our enthusiasm for the Saints, with some wonderful memories of trips to Moorabbin. The humerous banter between supporters as we stood in the enclosure hoping for a miracle. Then improved expectations of the '90's, disappointment of '97, to the exciting drafts of the early 2000's.
I remember saying to my kids that we now were building an empire that would mean we did not go back to those lesser years again. We got used to the cosistent wins during the latter GT era when the passion returned. However, once again we have now imploded, losing a coach who was more passionate about his own career than that of our club.
During all of those years, I have never seen supporters of our club so negative & divided as they are on this website.
I ask that you all get behind the club & coach and do what we can to make this club proud again.

BEAR

beartalbot wrote:During all of those years, I have never seen supporters of our club so negative & divided as they are on this website.
Have a little think about that one... :wink:

beartalbot

dragit wrote:Image

Perhaps we should have a separate forum for those of us who are over 18?

BEAR

beartalbot wrote:

Plenty of adult chat forums out there for you…

We could also have a separate forum for wankers without a sense of humour.

beartalbot wrote:
kosifantutti23 wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:It's great to get back to pairs of double consonants like under dear old Rod.
Rod Butterss - what a great pair of doubles!

Now Scott Watters.
Shame it wasn't Watterss.
Ross Lyon had double consonants so did Graham Gellie and Enrico Misso
:!:

Edit: Just read more closely. We need pairs of double consonants. Allan Killegrew, Geoff Cunningham, Brett Voss, Russell Greene, Jeff Dunne, Barry Hall
Who could forget - Barry Breen, Darrell Baldock
And here's a triple double header (and a champ as well) ...

Glenn Elliott

Beat that!

terry smith rules wrote:Can the OP name a club in the last 5 years that has had lasting success with a full on attacking game (worked well with the bombers in 2010... not)
Tom Harley alsway says "attack for memberships, defence for premierships".

Pretty close to the truth.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
saint3d

beartalbot wrote:I take it 3D it's the GT section of the thread that offended you.
Well let's just say that their is quite a few of us Sainters who, like Saint77, enjoyed our years under GT, Stan Alves & Kenny Sheldon etc.
I guess you could say we remain positive as some of us ride the waves of emotion that comes with supporting the Saints better than others.
The 70's & 80's were tough, however we still stick together.
I'm not offended by anything. I just question the use of a blanket statement like 'excited for the first time...' Effectively that's the same as saying 'I haven't been excited since...'

I remember being excited during the last two Grand Finals.

I remember being excited at the 2010 QF, and the 2009 PF.

I remember being excited while watching the Saints win 19 matches in a row. In fact, I remember saying at the time how exciting it was to go to the footy every week expecting, not just hoping, to win.

I liked Ross Lyon. I liked Grant Thomas. I liked Stan Alves. I never called for any of them to go, and was shocked (admittedly to varying degrees) by each of their departures.

If you want to talk about being positive, how about not claiming that the last five years have been completely dreary and unexciting?

I blame Zoloft

tweedaletomanning

dragit wrote:I blame Zoloft
What?? Thank goodness for Zoloft (and Prozac for that matter) :wink:

beartalbot

Enrico_Misso wrote:
beartalbot wrote:
kosifantutti23 wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:It's great to get back to pairs of double consonants like under dear old Rod.

Now Scott Watters.

Edit: Just read more closely. We need pairs of double consonants. Allan Killegrew, Geoff Cunningham, Brett Voss, Russell Greene, Jeff Dunne, Barry Hall

Glenn Elliott

Beat that!
touche!!

BEAR

only became disillusioned with Lyon in 2011 - but admittedly still wanted him to stay
we were for the most part incredible in 2009
Lyon simply became full of himself, and I agree with the sentiment of the post that Watters comes across clearly and caring

Enrico_Misso wrote:
beartalbot wrote:
kosifantutti23 wrote:

Now Scott Watters.

Glenn Elliott

Beat that!
Russell Tweedale, Bill Cannon. Bill Mildenhall

thesaint77

saint3d wrote:
beartalbot wrote:I take it 3D it's the GT section of the thread that offended you.
Well let's just say that their is quite a few of us Sainters who, like Saint77, enjoyed our years under GT, Stan Alves & Kenny Sheldon etc.
I guess you could say we remain positive as some of us ride the waves of emotion that comes with supporting the Saints better than others.
The 70's & 80's were tough, however we still stick together.
I'm not offended by anything. I just question the use of a blanket statement like 'excited for the first time...' Effectively that's the same as saying 'I haven't been excited since...'

I remember being excited during the last two Grand Finals.

I remember being excited at the 2010 QF, and the 2009 PF.

I remember being excited while watching the Saints win 19 matches in a row. In fact, I remember saying at the time how exciting it was to go to the footy every week expecting, not just hoping, to win.

I liked Ross Lyon. I liked Grant Thomas. I liked Stan Alves. I never called for any of them to go, and was shocked (admittedly to varying degrees) by each of their departures.

If you want to talk about being positive, how about not claiming that the last five years have been completely dreary and unexciting?
I understand what you are saying saint3d. What I was meaning was that I am excited again for the first time since GT about the upcoming season. I knew with Ross what we were going to get. Same old same old s*** spectacle. Now I am excited again about watching football. Yes Grandfinals are great but we should not have won either of them.

thesaint77 wrote:Yes Grandfinals are great but we should not have won either of them.
You don't think we should have won in 09?
Aside from missing absolute sitters and Hawkins being awarded a goal from a poster, I think we played the better footy that day…

beartalbot

beartalbot wrote:

Plenty of adult chat forums out there for you…

We could also have a separate forum for wankers without a sense of humour.

Sorry mate, to barrack for this club you have to have a sense of humour. Thanks anyway, even though I have only just joined, I feel part of this forum now, as I have never earnt the title of wanker before.

BEAR
InkerSaint

Ding dong, the witch is dead!

Time for all the ruckman-hating, strategy-averse GT lovers to come out of the closet!

"... You want to pose a threat to the opposition in as many ways as you can, both defensively and offensively. We've got a responsibility to explore all those possibilities - and we will."

InkerSaint wrote:Ding dong, the witch is dead!

Time for all the ruckman-hating, strategy-averse GT lovers to come out of the closet!
It's just been years of that rubbish here.

And I suppose you're going to sook everytime someone simpleton writes something like 'score hating, skill-averse RL lovers'...?

Great to see the forum had succession planning in place...

InkerSaint

Saints43 wrote:It's just been years of that rubbish here.
And much of it deserved.

Say what you like about Lyon's strategies and selection decisions, but his win/loss ratio for the Saints reads 76-41-4 to GT's 63-59-1.

"... You want to pose a threat to the opposition in as many ways as you can, both defensively and offensively. We've got a responsibility to explore all those possibilities - and we will."

InkerSaint wrote:
Saints43 wrote:It's just been years of that rubbish here.
And much of it deserved.

Say what you like about Lyon's strategies and selection decisions, but his win/loss ratio for the Saints reads 76-41-4 to GT's 63-59-1.
I didn't say anything about Lyon's strategies and selection decisions. I'm talking about people who make ridiculous generalisations for years on end (see your GT comments above) and then get upset about ridiculous generalisations about the next bloke.

As for the win-loss ratio analysis:
http://www.westofmoorabbin.com/wom/cont ... -2002-list