Where is Nick Riewoldt?

Re: Where is Nick Riewoldt?

Spinner wrote:I reckon he can still reach those peaks
his knees are totally farked. he cant run. hes going to get worse as well.
unless you know a new technique to regrow cartilage?
stem cell technology or something ?

Are you a doctor?

farked knees = farked knees.
it aint brain surgery.

Con Gorozidis wrote: his knees are totally farked. he cant run. hes going to get worse as well.

Are you a doctor?
it aint brain surgery.

But how would know. As spinner said are you a doctor. Surely Lennys knees are more f***ed

andrewg

Brett Peaks?

firstly he cant run and hobbles and limps. blind freddy can see that. secondly we know he had surgery at end of last year.

but my housemate is a dr so i will go and ask him if you like.

............oh thats right p66 knows because he probably was in hospital with rooey during the scans as his mentor/best mate and basically the man behind the man. also the man who is on great terms with roos fiance ("the nicest person ive ever met").

really the nicest person you have ever met?

Con Gorozidis wrote:firstly he cant run and hobbles and limps. blind freddy can see that. secondly we know he had surgery at end of last year.

but my housemate is a dr so i will go and ask him if you like.

............oh thats right p66 knows because he probably was in hospital with rooey during the scans as his mentor/best mate and basically the man behind the man. also the man who is on great terms with roos fiance ("the nicest person ive ever met").

really the nicest person you have ever met?

Never spoken to Rooy about his knee and hardly ever spoken to Rooy at all. Your housemate is a doctor. I hope he is Rooy's doctor or he pobably knows as much as both of us. SFA.

stkildajason3votes

Legend of the club. Champion of the game. its sad to see bad supply and himself fumble the ball. Who can replace him? Maybe a few more years at CHB might prolong his career.

Goody

I'll say one thing people.
Week One !
Ive had surgery to both ankles and both knee's, and it will take Rooey a couple to get right. You have to shake off the bodys mecanism that protects an injured joint. Sure he's had a preseason but not real game time.
He kicked 2 and could have kicked 4, I'll bet by round 4 you'll al be saying, "s*** how good was Roo"
Yesterday was a good hard game with plenty of spirit, a few umpire calls or goals by Lenny and we'd be all happy.
Dont go all Richmond on them yet!!

Followed Saints since '71
Sir Robert Harvey was my favorite player
Stewie Lowe and Plugger before that.
Loved watching Rooey and Jack Steven
Now looking forward to the future

Some people make things happen, some people watch things happen, but most just say " What the f#&k happened!".
Bardon Saint

Are you a doctor?[/quote]

it aint brain surgery.[/quote]

But how would know. As spinner said are you a doctor. Surely Lennys knees are more f***ed[/quote]

Firstly, we are kinda guessing as to what is wrong with Rooey's knees. Lenny has had some ACL issues - they get repaired, he continues to play. I think Rooey has something more sinister going on. My tip is that he probably has some full thickness chondral defects. i.e the cartilage (note this is different to a ligament) is faarked. The cartilage is used to protect the end of the shin/thighbone and aids in movement and shock absorption. A defect is pretty much a hole or more in the cartilage. They can be of a variety of depths and locations within the knee. I'd reckon that roo probably has them down to the bone and has arthritic symptoms -> bone on bone, grinding away and probably bone bruising at times. This is based purely on my observations about how he has moved and hobbled over the past 1+years and his reaction when he often lands.

But he's had surgery?? Sadly, this cartilage (hyaline) does not receive any blood supply, it does not regenerate on its own. Surgery would maybe clean up the area a little but will not replace the cartilage. There are two common surgeries to replace the cartilage. One is called microfrature which plugs up the hole albeit with a different type of cartilage which may not last very long depending on wear and tear (6-12 week turn around). The other is a method to take out some cartilage, grow it in a lab and then put it back in - this may take a year and may or may not work.

Conclusion is that no method ensures cartilage regeneration and it's the worst knee injury that you can get imo due to the inability for a quick fix.

Again, the above is based purely on observation only as no specific injury report has been released. An MRI is what will tell you this. The details are to assist you in making an informed opinion.

Roo needs to get over himself. He hasn't been right since the 2009 GF loss. The hamstring injury unfortunately put a full stop on all of his issues.

Banger724

Are you a doctor?
it aint brain surgery.

But how would know. As spinner said are you a doctor. Surely Lennys knees are more f***ed
I'm not a doctor... but do have a degenerative knee with the early stages of osteo-arthritis (age 28) and have already had 2 reco's from footy... so without the medical degrees but from personal experience... Roo's would be worse than Lenny's - with the repaired ligament and good rehab as you'd expect is norm at this level, Lenny's knee would be fine - its more often than not a mental thing to have confidence in the joint and hence enable yourself to get back to your 'normal' playing level... the bone on bone that Roo would be going through (by the sounds of things) is what has taken the speed and spring out of his step and causing him to get up slower and slower every time he gets crunched.

Another way of looking at it... Roo may very well be still feeling effects and soreness in the knee 24-48 hours after a game... whereas Lenny's most likely feels fine the morning after.

Obviously only my opinion from looking at things from a long way away, so could be way off the mark, but even with a repaired ligament, the bone on bone is what causes me grief.

Is a great shame, as he was brilliant to watch in his prime. Was at that game in Rnd 2 2010 when he chopped the Roos up and appeared to have the competition at his mercy... & sadly hasn't been the same since for various reasons.

Banger724

Edit... just seen Bardon Saint's post after posting mine, but pretty much on the same wavelength...

The only thing I'd add to his post, is that in a lot of cases, the damage can be that great that the surgery options he's listed (are they still viewed as being experimental?) are pointless. I sent my MRI's to knee specialists all over the country to get second, third, etc., opinions, but the general response was... the joint is too far gone and hence the surgery wasn't an option.

I reckon ease up a little.

It's one week.

He didn't play v Essendon of course, everyone is a little behind in their 'minutes' leading into the season. I mean the guy was at the club when everyone else wasn't making sure he'd be right this year, can't fault his endeavour.

He'll be right, sure adjust your expectations, but I'm confident he will do everything he can and still be a solid contributor.

I'm just concerned about the scrutiny, but posters continue to tell me he'd cop the same level even if he wasn't captain, still not convinced.

I think he's gone as an effective CHF- given us great service for years, but his kind of game relies on a young body with few if any injuries, and he now has a dodgy knee and has been at it for ten years or so as a high-impact player. Just play him at FF and tell him to stay within the 50 meter arc. I would put Goddard at CHF from hereon in.

SainterK wrote: He didn't play v Essendon of course, everyone is a little behind in their 'minutes' leading into the season.
I personally believe the minutes factor has nothing to do with it...

Kennedy from WC Eagles showed this yesterday IMO... Hardly a pre season, BOG with a bag of goals...

Roo's body cannot do what his mind wants him to..

Sobraz wrote:
SainterK wrote: He didn't play v Essendon of course, everyone is a little behind in their 'minutes' leading into the season.
I personally believe the minutes factor has nothing to do with it...

Kennedy from WC Eagles showed this yesterday IMO... Hardly a pre season, BOG with a bag of goals...

Roo's body cannot do what his mind wants him to..
Well, he is 5 years younger.

The real argument about Roo should be about how many bad games he is allowed before he is dropped.

Last year the argument was that he should be afforded the luxury of having a bad game or two because he was a champion.

Then the next argument was about who do you replace him with if he is dropped.

Check mate!

Same problem. Only difference is about one year.

St Igmata

some crazy posts on thiis thread!

Wont get back to his best. Can still be a good player for us. Just needs to change his game up IMO.

Cairnsman wrote:The real argument about Roo should be about how many bad games he is allowed before he is dropped.

Last year the argument was that he should be afforded the luxury of having a bad game or two because he was a champion.

Check mate!

You are measuring one game against a season by that logic.

The guy was clearly rusty, far from terrible, he's coming off surgery, his snap at the death was a gem, and he's still absolutely an invaluable part of the team even if his output isn't of 2008/ 2009 standards anymore.

He's showing nothing by Rd 7 and then I'll ponder the relevance of the hate brigade's opinion, but for now I shall ignore them.

In the meantime I'll keep an eye out for the up and comer who's showing enough balls, sheer will and self-sacrifice to put himself in the hunt to claim CHF as his own.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Cairnsman wrote:The real argument about Roo should be about how many bad games he is allowed before he is dropped.

Check mate!

If we are working on that theory then he should be treated like any other player and not on previous form. If he was just any other player then he had a average to good game yesterday so he is no where near being dropped. Even if he was luckily people do look at previous form and give the champs more time than others.

Again, I'm no expert, but my understanfdng from the limited info that the club and Nick himself have revealed is that he has a chronic degenerative cartilage problem. Basically the menisci that sit in the knee joint are flakey and this leads to floating bits of cartilage that accumulate within the joint causing pain and limitation to movement. it's the reason that he has regular arthroscopic clean-ups. but eventually, like Aaron Hamill there is a risk that all the cartilage will weat away and leave his knee joint being bone on bone = treatment is total knee replacement (or a 'knee transplant' as a mother of a friend of mine who recently had the surgery called it!). Obviously from both Aaron and Nick's sake we hope that their knees don't get that bad.... but it pretty common that they do...

AFAIK Lenny has had 2x ACL ruptures. In the old days i.e. even as little as a decade ago, this was an extremely tough injury to recover from. However, modern advances in surgical technique means that players can and do recover from not just one, but 2 or sometimes more ACL snaps - Lenny and David Rodan are both examples of this ability to come back - though it is unclear yet to what level Lenny will be able to play to following his second ACL repair...

Check mate!

If we are working on that theory then he should be treated like any other player and not on previous form. If he was just any other player then he had a average to good game yesterday so he is no where near being dropped. Even if he was luckily people do look at previous form and give the champs more time than others.

Exactly right!

Did Roo snub your autograph at the airport one day Cairnsman? Some of your posts regarding him are bewildering to the say the least. A poor game by Roo is equivalent to a passable game by almost every player on our list. This crap about 'Roo needs to get over himself' What's that? You reckon he's hasn't played a decent game since 2009? Well he was BOG in the first 2 games of 2010 before ripping his hammy. He was also BOG in the prelim final in 2010, as well as tearing Harry Taylor a new one in the qualifying final the same year. No player has given more to this club in the past 10 years, and your comments are ignorant at best. If Roo continued yesterdays form for the next 2 years he wouldn't be half the player he was, but he still would be a more than competent CHF. Am I missing something? Is there a young Wayne Carey waiting in the wings whose spot Roo is taking? Wait till he misses a few games, (hopefully he doesn't) and then get back to us about how useless he is :roll:

stkildajason3votes wrote:Legend of the club. Champion of the game. its sad to see bad supply and himself fumble the ball. Who can replace him? Maybe a few more years at CHB might prolong his career.
changin position wont help.
he has degenerative knees.
tendons can heal - but you cant re grow cartilage.
so his knees are much worse than lennys.