Ground dimensions Melbourne Cricket Ground v Westpac Stadium

citywest

Ground dimensions Melbourne Cricket Ground v Westpac Stadium

I was curious about the dimensions of Westpac Stadium in Wellington compared to the MCG. I was shocked that the MCG is smaller....

MCG 173 x 148
Westpac 235 x 185 :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Am I going crazy or is this correct? If this is correct that is fantastic news for the Saints. I was worried that the playing surface was even smaller than the SCG and it would have stuffed up our game plan.

Great news IMHO. :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

citywest

Re: Ground dimensions Melbourne Cricket Ground v Westpac Sta

Just thought I would check to see how the responses were going and was shocked to see none. I wasn't advocating that we relocate there full time. I was just saying that at least if we play 2 games there a year the ground will be at least as big as the MCG. Sorry if it was taken the wrong way.

mordi

I heard Michael Nettlefold discussing and he said it was a little bigger than the new SCG ground. So not sure if those figures are correct.

What's the Point of it All?

citywest wrote:I was curious about the dimensions of Westpac Stadium in Wellington compared to the MCG. I was shocked that the MCG is smaller....

MCG 173 x 148

Am I going crazy or is this correct? If this is correct that is fantastic news for the Saints. I was worried that the playing surface was even smaller than the SCG and it would have stuffed up our game plan.

Reckon you're right CW.

Length*width: 235*185 = 43475 sq m.
Bowl size = 48000 sq m.
So I reckon those length*width figures would be for the playing surface.
http://westpacstadium.co.nz/key-facts/

Ground holds 34500 seats, but looking at all the pictures, they rarely seem to need those last two noughts... :wink:

It's a deliberately large ground so that it can accommodate cricket, rugby and other events, they have concerts etc. there

The boundary line will be in from the fence by quite a long way, like the 90's at Waverley I imagine. It's an enormous surface, they won't use all of it.

on google earth , it looks longer , but not quite as wide .
just like pattison stadium

citywest

Dave McNamara wrote:
citywest wrote:I was curious about the dimensions of Westpac Stadium in Wellington compared to the MCG. I was shocked that the MCG is smaller....

MCG 173 x 148

Reckon you're right CW.

Bowl size = 48000 sq m.

Ground holds 34500 seats, but looking at all the pictures, they rarely seem to need those last two noughts... :wink:
That's friggin huge. They must be spewing having to watch rugby from miles away!! :lol:

mordi

Here is some footage from game in January 2012 when AIS played there. Confirms Michael Nettlefolds comments, see the centre square to 50 m line gap... not huge , looks similar to SCG.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

citywest wrote:
Dave McNamara wrote:

MCG 173 x 148

Reckon you're right CW.

Bowl size = 48000 sq m.

That's friggin huge. They must be spewing having to watch rugby from miles away!! :lol:
Be spewing having to watch rugby from anywhere.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.
citywest

That's true. s*** game. :roll: :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

citywest

Will the ANZAC day game next year sell out? ie 36,000.

citywest

If the Saints do this right then this could be even bigger than Hawthorn's deal in Tassie. Imagine if we could get 15,000 kiwi members and another 5,000 kiwis already living in Australia jump on board as well. 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

mordi

Here is a picture from recent game , gives you a good idea of dimensions...

http://i625.photobucket.com/albums/tt34 ... ington.jpg

Good get Mordi - very helpful indeed to get a look at the ground perspective.

sax

Hi All

I emailed the stadium and this was the reply.

The oval pitch is 16,643sqm.

The width (east-west) is 127.18mtr and length (north-south) is 161.537mtr

Looking forward to the opportunity to host St Kilda in the future.

Regards

Steven Thompson
Marketing Manager
Westpac Stadium

Foundation Social Club Member No. 296

sax wrote:Hi All

Regards

Steven Thompson
Marketing Manager
Westpac Stadium
Thanks sax.

Now, if we could just convince Westpac to jump off the Pies and onto the Saints, this could be a goer :D

sax

Stadium Comparisons

Westpac - 162 x 127
MCG - 173 x 148
Etihad - 160 x 129
SCG - 149 x 136

Foundation Social Club Member No. 296
Saint_Ash
Location: Either work, home or the footy, maybe a pub somewhere

sax wrote:Hi All

Regards

Steven Thompson
Marketing Manager
Westpac Stadium

That's a big difference from the 235 x 185 quoted on their website (which would be ridiculously massive for an AFL game)

What doesn't kill us only makes us stronger.

GrumpyOne wrote: Be spewing having to watch rugby from anywhere.
citywest wrote:That's true. s*** game. :roll: :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I'm with you guys. For mine it's the number 1 worst thing about Sydney... Thugby grunt n' grapple...

It's like WW1 trench warfare. Few paces forward, stop, few paces forward, stop, few paces back... Yaaawwwwnnnnn! :cry:
Last edited by Dave McNamara on Tue 29 May 2012 11:48am, edited 1 time in total.

sax wrote:Stadium Comparisons

Westpac - 162 x 127
MCG - 173 x 148
Etihad - 160 x 129
SCG - 149 x 136
Hi Sax, great work there, sending an email to the source! :)

So it turns out to be virtually the same dimensions as our current fortress? Reckon the mighty tiprat will be pretty happy about that. :wink:

Also reckon they need to sort out their website info... :?: :?: :?:

Basically identical dimensions to Etihad ... sounds good

Saint_Ash wrote:...That's a big difference from the 235 x 185 quoted on their website (which would be ridiculously massive for an AFL game)
Having been there, those dimensions are more likely that of the stadium, not the ground surface.

citywest

Now that we have the dimensions sorted, all we need to do is work out how many games we play there each year. Do we go for 1 Nab and 2 home and away or go the whole hog like Hawthorn?

citywest

Hawthorn play 4 home games plus 1 Nab game in Tassie???