Goddard to Essendon

mohannair

Re: Goddard to Essendon

SaintJohn1956 wrote:Herald-Sun reporting Goddard will sign a 4 year deal with Essendon tomorrow.
Saints have 3 days to match offer.
Reportedly will earn between 675,000 and 725,000 a season.
What was our offer? I thought $690,000
Carl, as mentioned in my another thread we had reduced the offer in last few weeks (Apparently)

I just wish he wasn't going to leave us to play with one of the three C's (Collingwood, Carlton or Essendon).

If he goes to the Bummers, there'll be no dignity in it for anyone.

saintkid wrote:
The Fireman wrote:The loss of Goddard will pretty much ensure we don't see a flag for many years to come.

Yep, that's how I see it too. A class player is hard to come by. Just imagine if the Swans lost Ryan O'Keefe when he wanted out. They knew you build premiership teams around players like that.
Yes Swans didn't want to lose him - FA or not. I don't read anyone saying O'Keefe is too old, what is he 32? Yet some folks are saying Goddard is too old to contract till he's 30-31. Many 30+ players are still playing very good footy at clubs.

I don't buy it

Hold your ground :shock:
philtee

See youse later Brendan. Thanks for the good times.

linmarnic

Will we ever know through the FA process what out final offer to BJ was?

Never give up
sax

linmarnic wrote:Will we ever know through the FA process what out final offer to BJ was?
We may not have made our final offer!

It depends on the difference, we may still match.

I doubt we will if it is $800k per year though.

Foundation Social Club Member No. 296
linmarnic

Will these figures become public though?

Never give up

MCG-Unit wrote:
saintkid wrote:
The Fireman wrote:The loss of Goddard will pretty much ensure we don't see a flag for many years to come.

Yep, that's how I see it too. A class player is hard to come by. Just imagine if the Swans lost Ryan O'Keefe when he wanted out. They knew you build premiership teams around players like that.
Yes Swans didn't want to lose him - FA or not. I don't read anyone saying O'Keefe is too old, what is he 32? Yet some folks are saying Goddard is too old to contract till he's 30-31. Many 30+ players are still playing very good footy at clubs.

I don't buy it
Yep 100% agree.
Something fishy going on here.
The salary cap thing doesn't wash.
Who will we be paying in 3 years time that takes up the salary cap.
Kozi, Roo, Lenny, Chips, Joey, and possibly Dal all gone.
We will be a bunch of kids by then.

I think we will put in another offer just below the bombers, hopefully he stays. I think we have overpaid a few on the list

maverick wrote:
Yep 100% agree.
It seems weird to me too. We now have cap space but to use on who? The youngsters coming through? New recruits? I would think the younger players are miles off bigger money and we seem to be unable attract any outside players of any quality.

It's either a balls up or some part of a greater plan. I have no confidence that it's the latter.

suss wrote:
maverick wrote:
Yep 100% agree.
It seems weird to me too. We now have cap space but to use on who? The youngsters coming through? New recruits? I would think the younger players are miles off bigger money and we seem to be unable attract any outside players of any quality.

It's either a balls up or some part of a greater plan. I have no confidence that it's the latter.
Or ego?

tweedaletomanning

suss wrote:
maverick wrote:
Yep 100% agree.

Agree, there has never been any precedent from this club to show that its part of a greater plan.

Oh well, it's out of our control, obviously, so as supporters we can only do what us saints supporters do best.....just suck it up....... :?

Definatly not worth what they are paying based on his form from the last 2 seasons. Contested possssions are way down for a star. If he was in 2010 form then offer him the house but it's not and 2 years is a long slump for a superstar player thats worth 700k a season.

maybe its simply about starting to regenerate our capspace so in the next 1,2,3 years when we have developed some kids we have room to move?

I think the days of the pyramid salary structure at saints (at least as lop sided as it had been) are over.

Teflon wrote:maybe its simply about starting to regenerate our capspace so in the next 1,2,3 years when we have developed some kids we have room to move?

I think the days of the pyramid salary structure at saints (at least as lop sided as it had been) are over.
It will increase our capspace but not as much as it will increase our carpark space.

We haven't won one for 46 years. What makes you think that we'll win one soon?

Old Mate wrote:Perhaps St Kilda will put a final offer to BJ when we have our chance to match Essendon's offer? St Kilda may if fact come back with, say 550k x 4 years and then BJ has to way up whether he takes 2.8m to play for the Bombers or 2.2m to remain a one club player.
I thought we had to match it.
We have to match it to force a trade however BJ can still accept a lower offer from his original club....I think.
If Goddard goes to St Kilda and says, listen I have an offer from Essendon for X dollars over Y years, St Kilda can make a lesser counter offer which he can accept.
However once Goddard signs that Essendon offer, Essendon will lodge it with the AFL.
Once that happens he is an Essendon player unless St Kilda matches the lodged offer dollar for dollar, year for year.

If he signs that Essendon offer he is saying, the money is more important than loyalty to St Kilda.
At that time St Kilda should say, go we can get a first round pick for you plus spend your salary on our own free agent purchase.

magnifisaint wrote:
We came real close just like Hawthorn this year.
All that was required was one more quality player in place of our worst player in that drawn grand final.
It is not hindsight, we all knew we didn't quite have the cattle needed to win.
We did better than expected.
Unlike Hawthorn we did not go out and get Gibson, Burgoyne and Hale with spare cash under the salary cap.
Our salary cap was so tight we could not even have a full list of 40 senior players.

When Nick Riewoldt retires he will look back on his captaincy and regret not being a premiership captain but he will also know that it was his demand for and acceptance of a million dollar salary rather than a $600,000 salary that prevented the club bringing in that extra quality player.

The club will also know that it was their foolishness in giving Riewolst the excessive salary that cost them a premiership.
The club should not repeat the same mistake by overpaying Goddard.

karnaby

ace wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:
We came real close just like Hawthorn this year.
All that was required was one more quality player in place of our worst player in that drawn grand final.
It is not hindsight, we all knew we didn't quite have the cattle needed to win.
We did better than expected.
Unlike Hawthorn we did not go out and get Gibson, Burgoyne and Hale with spare cash under the salary cap.
Our salary cap was so tight we could not even have a full list of 40 senior players.

When Nick Riewoldt retires he will look back on his captaincy and regret not being a premiership captain but he will also know that it was his demand for and acceptance of a million dollar salary rather than a $600,000 salary that prevented the club bringing in that extra quality player.

The club will also know that it was their foolishness in giving Riewolst the excessive salary that cost them a premiership.
The club should not repeat the same mistake by overpaying Goddard.
It's fairly late and I've had a couple of Ginja;s :) but I'd say that there is a fair bit of sense in all of that.

Overall I've viewed this Goddard situation as a win win for the club. If he goes then we have the chance to make the most of the opportunities that that presents and use it to build for the (not too distant) future. Hopefully a significant part of that will be sorting out salaries to the benefit of the club moreso than the benefit of too few individuals!

It's a shame ignorance isn't painful
kaos theory

What is the last two years has goddard done to indicate he is the difference between us winning a flag of not?

The saints are in the business of selling hope.
They are not doing a good job.

maverick wrote:The saints are in the business of selling hope.
They are not doing a good job.

I reckon 50% of people on here are seeing the idea of a another first round pick as hope. Most of those people probably dont see us winning a flag in the next few years. The ones upset with BJ leaving probably think we can win a flag in the next few years. No one is wrong.

The Fireman wrote:
Teflon wrote:maybe its simply about starting to regenerate our capspace so in the next 1,2,3 years when we have developed some kids we have room to move?

It will increase our capspace but not as much as it will increase our carpark space.
Same difference - car parking costs are huge at the minute..

thanks for the loyalty BJ
its obvious that money is worth more than the length of the deal

hopefully you'll go onto the footy show next year in your bombers jumper and read out that letter the young st kilda fan wrote to you asking you to stay

f****** unreal

no loyalty in football anymore
its a business and its full of greed

4 years
600 grand a year
i wouldve offered it.

i now EXPECT a flag from this mob who are pulling the strings behind the curtains
i EXPECT a flag in the next five years pelch and watters
you obviously know what ya doing
:shock: :roll:

To me when we lost Plugger it was the end of the road and we needed to just throw in the towel, Hall, Everitt etc. etc. In reality some of our most successful periods followed the loss of a quality player. There is a common thread in all of those guys in that there was an individualist streak in them all and unfortunately it looks like Goddard might have it too. I'm almost immune to the losses of players these days and it's part of footy.

Thanks BJ have a good career, just don't win them a premiership.