My AFL Draft Guide

james rose

My AFL Draft Guide

Hi all,

As you know I run a website.

Yes this a plug for something I have been working on.

Yes some of you will hate me for that and abuse me but some of you hopefully will enjoy what I'm doing.

I have just released a 6,000 word draft guide from my perspective. You don't have to do anything to get a copy just visit the following link.

I hope you all enjoy it.

http://www.contestedfooty.com/contested ... aft-guide/

Re: My AFL Draft Guide

james rose wrote:Yes some of you will hate me for that and abuse me but some of you hopefully will enjoy what I'm doing.
It's footy related - this is a footy website. No problems from me. (And good for your SEO :D )
Thanks for your efforts.

I like it - well done.

james rose

Gershwin wrote:I like it - well done.
Thank you. As you can imagine it took a lot of time!

Did it take long to load?

VODM

Appreciate your efforts.

james rose wrote:
Gershwin wrote:I like it - well done.
Thank you. As you can imagine it took a lot of time!

Did it take long to load?
No - fired up very quickly.

Sick Nal Danto

Great read, will be a good reference once the draft has taken place

well done mate, heaps of work in that. I'm not sure you haven't just killed the confidence in a few kids with comparisons to Mc gough, Macqualter and Josh fraser though:)

james rose

gringo wrote:well done mate, heaps of work in that. I'm not sure you haven't just killed the confidence in a few kids with comparisons to Mc gough, Macqualter and Josh fraser though:)

Haha they all had things going for them back in the day, just didn't come on for one reason or another.

avid

who were your next two draft picks? that's what i'm really keen to see.

james rose

avid wrote:who were your next two draft picks? that's what i'm really keen to see.
Expect St Kilda to take at least one mature age player this year and I’d like
to see them take one or two of Tanner Smith, Sam Colquhoun, Adam Carter
or Mason Shaw with pick 25 or 26 if they are available.
Pick 41 or 44 could St Kilda take a risky prospect in Louis Herbert; the
potential reward if they do is massive.
If St Kilda are looking for a project ruckman with a late/rookie draft pick I’d
look past the often talked about Aliir Aliir and serious look at Darcy Fort.

Or were you refering to something else.

Delicious!

Excellent job James. Well done. Just a quick question. I notice you have the Saints chasing Tanner Smith but you also seem to rate Tom Clurey who incidentally is a mad St Kilda supporter. I looked at his Youtube highlights and he seems the goods in every way though slightly shorter than Smith. Are the Saints not looking closely at him as a key defender prospect? I hope they are because I personally would rate him ahead of Tanner Smith even though Smith has a track record of shutting down key forwards like Whitfield who will possibly go number one in the draft. Smith and Clurey look the pick of the defenders in my view.

Hi again. Just one other question. The Saints are said to be also chasing Mason Wood from the Geelong Falcons but he doesn't get a mention on your list. Is there a reason?

damienc wrote:Excellent job James. Well done. Just a quick question. I notice you have the Saints chasing Tanner Smith but you also seem to rate Tom Clurey who incidentally is a mad St Kilda supporter. I looked at his Youtube highlights and he seems the goods in every way though slightly shorter than Smith. Are the Saints not looking closely at him as a key defender prospect? I hope they are because I personally would rate him ahead of Tanner Smith even though Smith has a track record of shutting down key forwards like Whitfield who will possibly go number one in the draft. Smith and Clurey look the pick of the defenders in my view.

Whitfield is a mid not a key forward.

james rose

damienc wrote:Excellent job James. Well done. Just a quick question. I notice you have the Saints chasing Tanner Smith but you also seem to rate Tom Clurey who incidentally is a mad St Kilda supporter. I looked at his Youtube highlights and he seems the goods in every way though slightly shorter than Smith. Are the Saints not looking closely at him as a key defender prospect? I hope they are because I personally would rate him ahead of Tanner Smith even though Smith has a track record of shutting down key forwards like Whitfield who will possibly go number one in the draft. Smith and Clurey look the pick of the defenders in my view.
I like Smith for St Kilda's needs as he is more of a shut down defender. I'm splitting hairs though and the club could well be keen on Clurey too. Both would be worth parting with picks 25 or 26 to draft.

james rose

damienc wrote:Hi again. Just one other question. The Saints are said to be also chasing Mason Wood from the Geelong Falcons but he doesn't get a mention on your list. Is there a reason?
Hi again,

I would have loved to include every player but I simply ran out of time.

I will be doing extra profiles on the website over the next week though before covering the draft live on draft day.

At this stage I don't have Wood getting selected in the first 25 picks but a lot can change between now and draft day.

Cheers

Great read

As with many experts on here though- I'll be doing my guide to who we will draft in January as I find I get a fuller perspective that way...

Teflon wrote:Great read

As with many experts on here though- I'll be doing my guide to who we will draft in January as I find I get a fuller perspective that way...

I just finished this years ladder.

Megamaguire

Well done James, very impressed with the research, presentation and your own view on the way things may pan out.
I found your prefered picks for #25 & #26 interesting
"Expect St Kilda to take at least one mature age player this year and I’d like to see them take one or two of Tanner Smith, Sam Colquhoun, Adam Carter or Mason Shaw with pick 25 or 26 if they are available."
I know you expect the pies to do very well in the draft in a bit over a weeks' time but hopefully you are not as accurate with this one as you are probably really are. Reg: Mason Shaw -what a conundrum that might pose 4 our recruiters if collingwood didn't pick him and he was available to the Saints. A KPP at both ends of the ground. Reminds me of Rooey and Kosi all those years ago. Amazing if the club managed the perfect throw of the dice come #25 & #26 Would Smith and Shaw be it ? Who knows - can't see the future.

Thanks again for your efforts. James

GO SAINTS!

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.
avid

james rose wrote:
avid wrote:who were your next two draft picks? that's what i'm really keen to see.
Expect St Kilda to take at least one mature age player this year and I’d like
to see them take one or two of Tanner Smith, Sam Colquhoun, Adam Carter
or Mason Shaw with pick 25 or 26 if they are available.
Pick 41 or 44 could St Kilda take a risky prospect in Louis Herbert; the
potential reward if they do is massive.
If St Kilda are looking for a project ruckman with a late/rookie draft pick I’d
look past the often talked about Aliir Aliir and serious look at Darcy Fort.

Or were you refering to something else.
So, ... according to your draft:
25 Adam Carter
26 ... who?

(pity the other three went just before -- but it does seem there'll be some decent talent left at least into the low 20s)

Considering all the work you put into this draft guide it is amazing how you got it so wrong. Not saying I could do any better. Anyway keep at it.

Gershwin wrote:Considering all the work you put into this draft guide it is amazing how you got it so wrong. Not saying I could do any better. Anyway keep at it.
Emma Quayle is the guru. The rest are pretenders!