Hi Saintsational......again. Its been a long time!

AccidentallyTim

Re: Hi Saintsational......again. Its been a long time!

Dr Spaceman wrote:Image

"There will be no name calling under a Forum I lead!"
This is possibly the funniest thing I've seen this year :lol:

and re your post that you edited 4 times.

... i might be down.
but i'm not out.

nor am i drug crazed.
i drink no alcohol.
take no drug.
am on no medication.

i can hold head up high.

i can even 'love' the self serving hypocrites and liars that took me out.

i am strong of heart.
fair dinkum and real.

nor am i a sniveller.

thank god i'm not trapped in your package.

Pity if GT doesnt return. Rare that you get any sort of insight into the inner sanctum these days.

Schillaci

AccidentallyTim wrote:Wow, what a thread.

Some good questions for GT and I enjoyed reading his responses.

Like another poster said, it's great to have someone who is happy to talk to the masses about their time inside the inner sanctum of the one passion we all have in common. St Kilda.

Hope you keep fielding the questions you can be bothered reading Grant and thanks for popping into SS.
My sentiments exactly.
It's a shame there is so much other BS to scroll through to get to the good stuff.
Hope to see more of GT on here.

Goddard Magic

Grant. Interesting to read your insightful views on a fascinating period in the club's history.

I'm interested in your spat with Caroline Wilson that led to you being sacked from the Age which, according to Wikipedia, took place because you "had accused Wilson of being a liar on radio station SEN 1116."

My interest has been piqued by the unpopularity of Wilson for her comments about Sam Fisher as well as about various other clubs and players which suggests she's become more and more feral in her writing as the Age's circulation sinks.

Are you able to comment?

Goddard Magic wrote:Grant. Interesting to read your insightful views on a fascinating period in the club's history.

I'm interested in your spat with Caroline Wilson that led to you being sacked from the Age which, according to Wikipedia, took place because you "had accused Wilson of being a liar on radio station SEN 1116."

My interest has been piqued by the unpopularity of Wilson for her comments about Sam Fisher as well as about various other clubs and players which suggests she's become more and more feral in her writing as the Age's circulation sinks.

Are you able to comment?

good question...but i fear that the usual dropkicks on here have ensured that we won't see grant back here for awhile...if at all.......

Looks like the usual F'wit has hijacked and destroyed a most interesting thread with his own personal vanity - yet again!
Very disappointing.
But oh so predictable. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Caro is an interesting journalist / chief footy writer as she is not a "reporter" as such but a columnist dealing mostly in opinion - hers and others. She often crosses the line of journalistic duty of care writing on the opinions of others as fact using the "where there is smoke there is fire" and "sheer weight of numbers" as her defense. Journalists should only report something as fact when they have 2 watertight confirmed sources. This level of journalistic integrity has disappeared totally from our media because the commercial need to break stories first and entertain the masses is now viewed as being more important. As a result false information, speculation and opinion get reported as fact. Journalists and legal departments are well prepared to then argue their position if they are wrong. It is the shoot first ask questions later type of approach that Caro subscribes to and she defends it mostly by claiming she has excellent sources who are rarely wrong - but she will never reveal those sources which leaves many people to believe that the source is not much more than unfounded industry gossip and Caro's fertile mind. Unfortunately Caro is far from the only one with most of the news "Chiefs of Staff" (the people who actually decide what gets reported and how it is reported) subscribing to this approach. As a result the media today do not so much report the news, as make the news.

BackFromUSA wrote:Caro is an interesting journalist / chief footy writer as she is not a "reporter" as such but a columnist dealing mostly in opinion - hers and others. She often crosses the line of journalistic duty of care writing on the opinions of others as fact using the "where there is smoke there is fire" and "sheer weight of numbers" as her defense. Journalists should only report something as fact when they have 2 watertight confirmed sources. This level of journalistic integrity has disappeared totally from our media because the commercial need to break stories first and entertain the masses is now viewed as being more important. As a result false information, speculation and opinion get reported as fact. Journalists and legal departments are well prepared to then argue their position if they are wrong. It is the shoot first ask questions later type of approach that Caro subscribes to and she defends it mostly by claiming she has excellent sources who are rarely wrong - but she will never reveal those sources which leaves many people to believe that the source is not much more than unfounded industry gossip and Caro's fertile mind. Unfortunately Caro is far from the only one with most of the news "Chiefs of Staff" (the people who actually decide what gets reported and how it is reported) subscribing to this approach. As a result the media today do not so much report the news, as make the news.
Agreed. And with the "explosion" of Social Media and forums such as this Newspaper Journalism is dying a slow death. Soicial Commentators like Caro know this and are hanging on for dear life !!

BackFromUSA wrote:Caro is an interesting journalist / chief footy writer as she is not a "reporter" as such but a columnist dealing mostly in opinion - hers and others. She often crosses the line of journalistic duty of care writing on the opinions of others as fact using the "where there is smoke there is fire" and "sheer weight of numbers" as her defense. Journalists should only report something as fact when they have 2 watertight confirmed sources. This level of journalistic integrity has disappeared totally from our media because the commercial need to break stories first and entertain the masses is now viewed as being more important. As a result false information, speculation and opinion get reported as fact. Journalists and legal departments are well prepared to then argue their position if they are wrong. It is the shoot first ask questions later type of approach that Caro subscribes to and she defends it mostly by claiming she has excellent sources who are rarely wrong - but she will never reveal those sources which leaves many people to believe that the source is not much more than unfounded industry gossip and Caro's fertile mind. Unfortunately Caro is far from the only one with most of the news "Chiefs of Staff" (the people who actually decide what gets reported and how it is reported) subscribing to this approach. As a result the media today do not so much report the news, as make the news.
Agreed. And with the "explosion" of Social Media and forums such as this Newspaper Journalism is dying a slow death. Soicial Commentators like Caro know this and are hanging on for dear life !!
Yeah I don't think this is the case....

You sound like a journalist

Goddard Magic wrote:Grant. Interesting to read your insightful views on a fascinating period in the club's history.

Are you able to comment?

good question...but i fear that the usual dropkicks on here have ensured that we won't see grant back here for awhile...if at all.......
Have another cry you freakin' whinger.

G'day Thommo, You need to come back to Saintsational to get your fix.

magnifisaint wrote:
You sound like a journalist
I don't know whether that's a compliment or an insult :wink: !!

I wish Warnie or Eric Banana would come on here- I'm bored of fighting each other and Thommo has run away.

Didn't think a bit of argy bargy would keep him away.

I would of still liked knowing his opinion on guys like Kosi and Ball perhaps playing through injury in their early careers...when from the outside, it didn't seem in their best interests.

mightysainters

So an ex coach comes on board, willing to answer any questions we had on our minds. The thread absolutely deteriorates because of vendettas against him. Some of you need to learn some tact FFS.

Welcome back GT, I remember when your son Clay used to Post some inside info unless it was you ;)

I'd be very surprised if he was put off by a few curly questions or a less than sycophantic response from some... which I'm sure he knows he's free to respond to or ignore as he sees fit.

And I'd question his judgement in coming here if he expected anything else.

He's probably just out buying xmas presents for all his kids and B4E, etc... I'm sure he never intended to post every day, and he'll eventually be back.

As to all the harping about those who were attempting to bring him to task or were less than flattering... if they hadn't there'd probably be harping about what gutless hypocrites they were.

I think it restored the balance a little Markp, there was almost too much love.

mightysainters

Hating is just stupid, ask the tough questions but don't put it in a way that just seems like a personal vendetta. It looks pathetic and why would he want to stick around, if this dribble continues.

and there I was thinking I was being polite, sigh

If he doesn't return it will probably be for the same reasons I rarely post on here now.

The Fireman wrote:If he doesn't return it will probably be for the same reasons I rarely post on here now.

Dandruff?

:P

satchmo wrote:
The Fireman wrote:If he doesn't return it will probably be for the same reasons I rarely post on here now.

Dandruff?

:P
head&shoulders

barks4eva wrote:and there I was thinking I was being polite, sigh

Nope. You were being a Grade A rude twat.