Luke Dunstan Matthew Scharenburg come on down

lloyd21

Luke Dunstan Matthew Scharenburg come on down

Have feeling given results thus far one these guys will be at Saints next year :D

Siposstar#2

Re: Luke Dunstan Matthew Scharenburg come on down

I take it they are highly rated juniors. Shame about the mini draft. Jesse hogan would be nice.

Formerly posted as magnifisaint 35
lloyd21

Yep Both SA midfield guns Jobe Watson types good skills in traffick

lloyd21

Should be traffic

So what do we give up for a top 10 pick?

St Ick wrote:So what do we give up for a top 10 pick?

We wont have to give up anything because we will certainly get one or do you mean we should try and get 2?

BadRossco

If they are any good our recruiters will avoid them like the plague. We are more likely to end up with another Cripps, McQualter, Raph Clarke or Lynch all recent first picks.

Matthew Scharenburg was a gun in the SA team last year- he and Colquhoun were awesome. Port got a bargain with Sam C as a rookie.

I would take him in a flash, heaps of grunt.

BadRossco wrote:If they are any good our recruiters will avoid them like the plague. We are more likely to end up with another Cripps, McQualter, Raph Clarke or Lynch all recent first picks.
How many of those were top ten, though?

BadRossco

Only Raph was a top ten pick so I guess he was a champion in your opinion.

#1GILL

Screw them, tank the whole year and let's get Aish or Boyd

BadRossco wrote:Only Raph was a top ten pick so I guess he was a champion in your opinion.
What? I'm saying that high picks are speculative so you can't compare them to top ten picks. McQualter was pick 17, Winmar pick 32, Cripps pick 24. There are no guaranteed stars left at this point in the draft, sorry.

On the other hand, this year we'll likely have a top ten pick, so we should be more likely to get a good player - and more culpable if we don't.

lloyd21

We need grunt, would prefer either these 2

#1GILL wrote:Screw them, tank the whole year and let's get Aish or Boyd
Amen
I said we should tank last year and I was howled down.
But this year we should tank this year. Get a gun mid from the draft and also pay for a rfa.

Amen
But this year we should tank this year. Get a gun mid from the draft and also pay for a rfa.
Good luck finishing under Melbourne... Their percentage is currently 28.

I hate tanking, once you create a losing culture it's very hard to fix. Sydney and Adelaide have both worked well from just outside the 8 with out losing sponsors and supporters vision. top 10 draft picks are usually pretty solid. Hopefully this year it's just the 2 x17 yo mini draft kids taken out but otherwise un compromised. Even WCE didn't drop on purpose they were racked with injuries- didn't exactly try hard to win when it was over but did just stop.

If we hadn't tanked we could have had Judd or Hodge- is that karma?

Amen

Con please get your story right. You said we should take once we couldnt make the 8. We could have made the 8 up until the second last game. And how do you tank with 6 or so real stars in your side anyway. Drop them? Rest them?

Is'nt this years draft slightly compromised too? Are'nt there clubs yet to take the concession picks they received for losing players to GC and GWS?

borderbarry wrote:Is'nt this years draft slightly compromised too? Are'nt there clubs yet to take the concession picks they received for losing players to GC and GWS?
Good question. Geelong, I think, still have one? But they'll finish far enough up that it won't matter to us. Dogs maybe?

lloyd21

No Geelong used on it on Caddy this is the 1st draft free to all comers.
Listen carefully to what Watters is saying in media midfielders will be a focus,followed by by defenders.

Sharenberg played senior footy last year and I reckon he is the real gem in the draft and maybe still around at our pick - possible future key defender - or at least take 3rd tall.

kimberly saint

Do GWS and gold coast still have priority picks this year ?????. Preety sad when thiking of draft picks round two :cry:

Zed wrote:Sharenberg played senior footy last year and I reckon he is the real gem in the draft and maybe still around at our pick - possible future key defender - or at least take 3rd tall.

He looked awesome in the SA team. He would be my pick - i couldn't work out why he didn't go in last years draft then realised he was under age. Looks and plays like a mature guy.

lloyd21

Looking good chance to get these guys forget big money for mids if we can these 2 boys and Matt Crouch look out

Really like the kid Scharenburg .

Hope Saints throw everything at 2 experienced defenders and list will be great going forward.

Uncle Barrels

Zed wrote:Sharenberg played senior footy last year and I reckon he is the real gem in the draft and maybe still around at our pick - possible future key defender - or at least take 3rd tall.

He looked awesome in the SA team. He would be my pick - i couldn't work out why he didn't go in last years draft then realised he was under age. Looks and plays like a mature guy.
Christ, not another third bloody tall defender.

How tall is he?