Reality bites

Let's face it, we just got beaten by not only the worst team in the competition, but the worst club in the history of the game. Surely this is sone kind of nadir for or club, even for one that has witnessed many crippling blows. Tonight was an unacceptable disgrace. We have a coach who is clearly not up to the task, nor are his assistants. We have a lame duck CEO who earns 750k. We have a head of recruiting who has failed at every other job in his so-called career.

I, for one, having consulted to the club over tine, now realise our club is f&$ked. We 're even behind that pathetic rabble from the western suburbs. An invisible, pathetically silent president (right!), an overpaid CEO, a coach who couldn't coax a fart out of a toilet, a so called recruiting manager who is a career failure and arse licker and a bunch of assistant coaches who are clearly no good. Lets face it,we will never win another premiership. I know plenty on here will tell me to piss off, and let me hurry out without letting the door hit me etc. etc., but as much as I hate to admit it, I now realise my relationship with the saints will never be consummated.

deadman walking

Re: Reality bites

well said

Well said and sadly very true.

When does Watters contract expire?

Reality is they realised where they were at before us, and have had 12 months getting games into kids

I'm starting to think the window is closing?

Enrico_Misso wrote:I'm starting to think the window is closing?
Lol, you think! I still think we can challenge this year

saints66

settle down

White Winmar wrote:Let's face it, we just got beaten by not only the worst team in the competition, but the worst club in the history of the game. Surely this is sone kind of nadir for or club, even for one that has witnessed many crippling blows. Tonight was an unacceptable disgrace. We have a coach who is clearly not up to the task, nor are his assistants. We have a lame duck CEO who earns 750k. We have a head of recruiting who has failed at every other job in his so-called career.

I, for one, having consulted to the club over tine, now realise our club is f&$ked. We 're even behind that pathetic rabble from the western suburbs. An invisible, pathetically silent president (right!), an overpaid CEO, a coach who couldn't coax a fart out of a toilet, a so called recruiting manager who is a career failure and arse licker and a bunch of assistant coaches who are clearly no good. Lets face it,we will never win another premiership. I know plenty on here will tell me to piss off, and let me hurry out without letting the door hit me etc. etc., but as much as I hate to admit it, I now realise my relationship with the saints will never be consummated.
And we now live in Seaford...oh dear

Enrico_Misso wrote:I'm starting to think the window is closing?
Thanks for making me laugh, funny post

White Winmar wrote:Let's face it, we just got beaten by not only the worst team in the competition, but the worst club in the history of the game. Surely this is sone kind of nadir for or club, even for one that has witnessed many crippling blows. Tonight was an unacceptable disgrace. We have a coach who is clearly not up to the task, nor are his assistants. We have a lame duck CEO who earns 750k. We have a head of recruiting who has failed at every other job in his so-called career.

Must say Im stunned.

You are truly one of the most measured posters on this site by far and clearly have had enough - I cant blame you tonight was deplorable.

The Prez is/must be on his way out. Invisible is the word.
The coach will be given more time IMO he ought to be as long as we see kids (win/losses shouldnt be his immediate measure now IMO) BUT my caveat is that the assistants be turned over and possible experienced head brought in to oversee football. IF you have an inexperienced coach, SUPPORT HIM and get the best around him. Ive said this before but Laidley and Co arent it.

Havent heard much good about head of recruiting....
CEO, again 750k ....sheesh..

WW, you know I Love your work but don't you have a conflict of interest?

stop supporting the club and fraak off... & when we return to form dont come back on here yelling how good it is.

this is not the first time we have been in the dumps and it wont be the last.. it's called a football team and we like all have our ups and downs. take your neagitive shiit and piss off. I am not worried we have been at the bottom before and bounced back.. just takes time. the dogs beat us the gold coast beat us, all it show's is where our team is really at.

supporters can understand this as painfull as it is deal with it and keep backing their club. I gave up expecting anything from this year after our first three and last week after the crows flogged us. it's time for us all to take it easy support . no biggie there's been lots of dark days as a Sainter... happy to say also a lot of great strong times since the 90s. I was born in 81 but my dad has told me how dark the 80s where for the St Kilda FC

ShanghaiSaint wrote:

stop supporting the club and fraak off... & when we return to form dont come back on here yelling how good it is.

this is not the first time we have been in the dumps and it wont be the last.. it's called a football team and we like all have our ups and downs. take your neagitive shiit and piss off. I am not worried we have been at the bottom before and bounced back.. just takes time. the dogs beat us the gold coast beat us, all it show's is where our team is really at.

supporters can understand this as painfull as it is deal with it and keep backing their club. I gave up expecting anything from this year after our first three and last week after the crows flogged us. it's time for us all to take it easy support . no biggie there's been lots of dark days as a Sainter... happy to say also a lot of great strong times since the 90s. I was born in 81 but my dad has told me how dark the 80s where for the St Kilda FC
Well said

ShanghaiSaint wrote:

Please do NOT confuse that disgraceful effort tonight and write it off with "we know where our club is at" RUBBISH.

We just allowed a side that lost its last 19 GAMES to kick 6 goals in the last quarter to run over a far more talented and experiences St Kilda side. Dont pretend we are now full of "shyte players" and so its all ok

And spare me "we've been shyte before......so we can handle that" rubbish - this side has spent the last decade DEMANDING respect from the football world.......are we now going to slink back to "pathetic old St Kilda?"

Attitudes like yours dont demand success - they embrace mediocrity.

We ALL know this side isnt a finals contender - BUT it should have handled a poor Bulldogs side tonight by 5 goals and for nothing but a gutless, insipid effort it didnt.

Im all for allowances while we rebuild........but doesnt mean we excuse ALL poor effort/perfromance.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:

Please do NOT confuse that disgraceful effort tonight and write it off with "we know where our club is at" RUBBISH.

We just allowed a side that lost its last 19 GAMES to kick 6 goals in the last quarter to run over a far more talented and experiences St Kilda side. Dont pretend we are now full of "shyte players" and so its all ok

And spare me "we've been shyte before......so we can handle that" rubbish - this side has spent the last decade DEMANDING respect from the football world.......are we now going to slink back to "pathetic old St Kilda?"

Attitudes like yours dont demand success - they embrace mediocrity.

We ALL know this side isnt a finals contender - BUT it should have handled a poor Bulldogs side tonight by 5 goals and for nothing but a gutless, insipid effort it didnt.

Im all for allowances while we rebuild........but doesnt mean we excuse ALL poor effort/perfromance.
hey you think tonight was bad i remember a game where GT had us for a qrt hiting the ball out of bounds. that was emmbassing... tonight a team that wanted it more beat us.. so get off your sour juice and accept where the team is at.

go rubbish the team all you want but i am not going to accept it.

Thats fine - you continue to "pop your head up ure @ss" and come back and explain to us all AFTER we lose to Melbourne........just exavtly where this team is at?

I couldnt give a shyte about the past - its the past.

I can see we are gonna milk the "but we are rebuilding" excuse for all its worth.....losses like tonight against inferior opponents dont really fit that theory....

How would you make us better? It's painful but will sacking and burning make us better. It is what it is. We are paying for a poor recruiting era. Kids and Grandpas at the moment. Melbourne's sacking of coaches has put them back 4 years.

gringo wrote:How would you make us better? It's painful but will sacking and burning make us better. It is what it is. We are paying for a poor recruiting era. Kids and Grandpas at the moment. Melbourne's sacking of coaches has put them back 4 years.

Geezus...Ive said this before but here goes.

1. Dont simply accept the poor form of a Dal Santo (who is playing WAY below capability) find out why???? Play him forward?
2. We have an inexperienced coach he needs to be surrounded by the best. Turn over assistants, go all out for those currently at top clubs.
3. Look to introduce an experienced football head to support Watters
4. Review/changes head of recruiting (heard to many horror stories....questioning his ability)
5. New Prez who can actually be the FACE of the club cause we have none.
6. End of season starts now. Jones, Blake, Kosi (squeeze in his 200th), Ray, Milne, all play little or no games moving forward. All retire/move on seasons end. PLAY KIDS.
7. Probable trade bait - Dal/Gilbert/Gwilt/Fisher
8. Targets end year - Watts/Frawley (and any other mature player in that age bracket worthy)
9. No trading of top picks
10. Aim seriously for less than 5 wins - bottom 4. We need top 5 pick.

IMO Watters should not be judged on win/losses this year or next. He has to be judged on the development and performance of less than 50 game players. IF they produce performances that demonstrate they are taking steps forward to becoming good players he is rewarded.

Teflon wrote:Thats fine - you continue to "pop your head up ure @ss" and come back and explain to us all AFTER we lose to Melbourne........just exavtly where this team is at?

I can see we are gonna milk the "but we are rebuilding" excuse for all its worth.....losses like tonight against inferior opponents dont really fit that theory....
past is the past shows you have a short memory or have been supporting since 04...

Ok you want my real insights into our list right now, we're not rebuilding where in the dumps, worst position then MELB and Dogs the current list is not going to take us forward at all. I am s*** scared and as I told my wife tonight... once we lose a further 6 senior players where fraaked yes fraaked we have no real quality coming though... are happy to hear that? also we have shiit ACs and rubbish coach that has the worst structures I the afl right now... he has gone downhill since 2012 and that's bloody sad cuz he's had a full 12months to get the team into a click... this year is a freaking murder scene, we only beat the blues due to their 2 down on rotation... I am extremely disappointed with our game play lack of structure tactics team selection pressure and basically everything watters has done so far this year. I was so mad after round 3 as I thought we were going to do something this year, we showed things last year that told me this.... but now all this year has been is a fraaaking disappointment.

I can be a negative POS as well but I try not to be.
Last edited by ShanghaiSaint on Sat 25 May 2013 11:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:
Teflon wrote:Thats fine - you continue to "pop your head up ure @ss" and come back and explain to us all AFTER we lose to Melbourne........just exavtly where this team is at?

past is the past shows you have a short memory or have been supporting since 04...

Ok you want my real insights into our list right now, we're not rebuilding where in the dumps, worst position then MELB and DOgs the current list is not going to take us forward at all. I am s*** scared and as I told me wife tonight... once we lose a further 6 senior players where fraaked yes fraaked we have no real quality coming though... are happy to hear that? also we have shiit ACs and rubbish coach that has the worest structures i the afl right now... he has gone down hill since 2012 and that's bloody sad cuz he's had a full 12months to get the team into a click... this year is a freaking murdur scene, we only beat the blues due to their 2 down on rotation... i am extermly dissapointed with our game play lack of structure tatics team selection presure and basicly everything watters has done so far this year. i was so mad after round 3 as I thought we where going to do something this year, we showed things last year that told me this.... but now all this year has been is a fraaaking dissapointment.

I can be a neagitive POS as well but i try not to be.
Thats not negatives. Most of its TRUE FFS.

Be a realist. Then stop and say.........what can we do about it?

At least then you accept where you are, move forward with solutions to the illness and not treating symptoms.

Teflon,

I know where we are mate.... but this time unlike in 01 02 03 we dont have the quality draft picks... we're in the s*** and I don't know what to say... but i hate rubbishing the club and I hope we can luck it on a few of the new boys... but our game plan atm is up s*** creek. it's that, that really worry's me.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:Teflon,

I know where we are mate.... but this time unlike in 01 02 03 we dont have the quality draft picks... we're in the s*** and I don't know what to say... but i hate rubbishing the club and I hope we can luck it on a few of the new boys... but our game plan atm is up s*** creek. it's that, that really worry's me.
Look, I agree but I try and take the "lets do something about it" approach".

Im not into rubbishing the club and offering no suggestion (I have offered a few already)

Agree game plan worries me but I actually reckon Watters needs some match day help thats why I want to see us target assistants from successful clubs from next year....he HAS to have good tactical nous around him IMO.

ShanghaiSaint wrote:Teflon,

We'll get the quality picks soon enough (and a new coach)… chillax.

It can be done without super high draft picks. We'll get pick 5(ish) and 20(ish) this year and probably something similar next year and the year after. We need to get these picks right. We can't afford to stuff them like Melbourne. We might be able to leverage something out of Farren or Dal too - I would.

Our drafting has improved out of sight. We've invested s*** loads more in development. We have heaps of kids that look like they'll be players. There is hope ... but there will be more pain first.

And I'm not too fazed whether or not the coach can coach - it doesn't really bother me right now. Timmy Watson couldn't, and we know how that ended.

aim seriously for bottom 4.

well.
.... why didnt we go there 2 years ago ffs instead of poncing around.

lol ... reality bites some rather effen slowly i reckon.

said it before 'n i'll say it again ,
that morning at linton st after losing gf2
was THE head up orrifice moment.

this is just and only the delayed truth expressing itself.
... good ol stkilda style.