Time to Richo Roo?

Is it time to put Roo on a wing to run around as he pleases slipping in to the forward line and defense at times. Ala Richo's final two (?) years.
I know considering the state of the side he is having a great season but Im sure a role on the wing would be easier on his aging body.
He played this type of role in the Sydney game.
Then when he does slip into the forward line he wouldnt have the best defender on him and he would still kick 1-2 goals a game.
Stanley, Lee, Milne and Siposs in the forward line.

Re: Time to Richo Roo?

Goose is king wrote:Is it time to put Roo on a wing to run around as he pleases slipping in to the forward line and defense at times. Ala Richo's final two (?) years.
I know considering the state of the side he is having a great season but Im sure a role on the wing would be easier on his aging body.
He played this type of role in the Sydney game.
Then when he does slip into the forward line he wouldnt have the best defender on him and he would still kick 1-2 goals a game.
Stanley, Lee, Milne and Siposs in the forward line.

don't provoke Plugger!
5B&fs
All Australian CHF 98 times
do you want us to kick 0 goals!

Getting the ball into the forward line more often would result in more opportunities for goals.
That doesn't mean it will result in more goals but it would speed up the other forwards development.
Roo is a better player and athlete than Richo was and should therefor play that role even better.
Richo nearly won the brownlow. Could Roo?

I think you move players who are struggling in a position. i dont think you move your best player for the season to a position he has never played. And long term it doesnt help anyone. i would be moving around the young guys to try and find their best position.

My concern with the idea wouldn't be how Roo would go in the new position but how the forward line would go without him

If they were to pick an All Australian team now Roo would have an excellent shot for the CHF spot but I reckon Waters would be a fool not to alternate him between CHB and wing from now on.

Goose is king wrote:My concern with the idea wouldn't be how Roo would go in the new position but how the forward line would go without him
Don't worry. Roo would be up for it. He's a total Saints man through and through. Comes with the territory of being a champ CHF.

Dont see why we would move him when he is back in almost career best form.

Clarky. The season is cooked even with him in near career best form.

He is already playing on wing with the ball being consistently in our backline.

Greg T

He's running round beautifully ATM .
I love to see him finally getting to full forward .
Perhaps next year to preserve his career.
Love to see Rhys taking e role at CHF .
He has pace and can mark

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key

No, wouldn't move him ATM, but my first memories of Roo are of him running hard from end to end with Southport when they played curtain raisers at the Gabba in the late 90s ?. Used to wonder who the young fella with the blonde hair was, with the big motor.

noob wrote:He is already playing on wing with the ball being consistently in our backline.

Exactly , apart from centre bounce set ups , he seems to be always around the wing .

Goose is king wrote:My concern with the idea wouldn't be how Roo would go in the new position but how the forward line would go without him
Perhaps they should get out the footage from 2010. How many did Roo miss? 16 games? Still finished top 4 and made the GF. How on earth did we manage that, while carrying Mini and Eddy in there as well? Our coach was a genius. Why don't we just get him to do the same again. Oh wait.............

White Winmar wrote:
Perhaps they should get out the footage from 2010. How many did Roo miss? 16 games? Still finished top 4 and made the GF. How on earth did we manage that, while carrying Mini and Eddy in there as well? Our coach was a genius. Why don't we just get him to do the same again. Oh wait.............
That was a great effort and we set it up perfectly. Pity the bounce didn't do its job.

SaintPav wrote:If they were to pick an All Australian team now Roo would have an excellent shot for the CHF spot but I reckon Waters would be a fool not to alternate him between CHB and wing from now on.
He could be the tall defender we've been looking for.

the only pro I see is that it's time for us to start developing a post-Roo forward.

If we had even the remotest replacement handy... i'd say transitioning out wouldn't be a bad idea

If Watters does not play the best CHF going around in a position other than CHF he is a flog.

End of rant.

skeptic wrote:the only pro I see is that it's time for us to start developing a post-Roo forward.

If we had even the remotest replacement handy... i'd say transitioning out wouldn't be a bad idea
Roo up on the wing, Lee getting a doxen games into him, Stanley playing fwd, could work. When Beau hits some form, could be a plan as part of our rebuild.

Something needs to change, I felt sick seeing 2/3 blokes all over Roo again vs Norf.

I would put Roo at FF and give him a limited run up the ground every quarter, and plonk Maister at CHF, Lee on a flank so we have two marking options while the opposition will be forced to put their best defenders down deep on Roo. I think Milne should spend a bit of time on the middle during each quarter as he is going stale down in a pocket, and put Ross down deep in the forward line for part of a quarter. I'm beginning to think Watters doesn't think outside the box much on game day.

#gosaintas

I would move him up too. Give him the freedom away from goal. Will take the pressure off him and he is a nice kick into 50. Meister, Lee and Siposs (white) leading at him. Would be worth a try. We are not winning anyway so let's have a look. Would be fun to watch. He can still go into 50 and kick a couple himself.

Saint_Ash
Location: Either work, home or the footy, maybe a pub somewhere

Didn't Richo move up because Jack was coming through and starting to dominate the Richmond forward line?

Who stands up in the forward line for us if Roo moves out to the wing?

What doesn't kill us only makes us stronger.

Thought about it. Yes Rooy to the wing so we can get Maister back in. Also Lee couldnt possibly play unless Rooy was on the wing as the other forwards are doing pretty well so it probably has to happen to get more forwards into the potent forward line.

plugger66 wrote:Thought about it. Yes Rooy to the wing so we can get Maister back in. Also Lee couldnt possibly play unless Rooy was on the wing as the other forwards are doing pretty well so it probably has to happen to get more forwards into the potent forward line.
Not Maister, Kosi.