Official Trade Rumours thread (all in here please)

Re: Official Trade Rumours thread (all in here please)

gringo wrote: Aish could be anything he might be the next Ablett or the next dud. With Shiel you get a ready made 30+ possession mid and no gamble. I guess do you take a guy who will be the quality of a Montagna type but may still get even better or do you take a very highly rated kid that could be anything. I think there is talk we want Kelly who doesn't do a lot for me anyway.
Aish will not be a dud. You can bank on it. And I am willing to bet anyone that 5 years from now he will be a better player than Kelly. Not that I have seen Kelly - but Aish is a natural ball magnet and has impeccable blood lines.

Kickit wrote:Straight swap Fisher for Bruce?
I'd say thats a fair/good deal for all parties. Sounds like SF will enjoy the responsibility of coaching. Might be refreshing for him.
Get it done.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Wed 02 Oct 2013 5:24pm, edited 1 time in total.

Zed wrote:
gringo wrote: Aish could be anything he might be the next Ablett or the next dud. With Shiel you get a ready made 30+ possession mid and no gamble. I guess do you take a guy who will be the quality of a Montagna type but may still get even better or do you take a very highly rated kid that could be anything. I think there is talk we want Kelly who doesn't do a lot for me anyway.
Aish will not be a dud. You can bank on it. And I am willing to bet anyone that 5 years from now he will be a better player than Kelly. Not that I have seen Kelly - but Aish is a natural ball magnet and has impeccable blood lines.

Kelly's blood lines are pretty good as well. Havent seen Aish at all but Kelly is to small for my liking. Very simliar to Joey which would be great in the long run but I reckon we need an inside outside player with some size.

SaintSimmo

Ameet Bains on Trade Week Radio:

"Every primary list player is contracted"

"Misconception out there that we're trying to move guys on"

"Trigger in his clause (NDS) has been activated"

Said that we can still move away from that contract and be a free agent.

"Not one player has said they want to leave the club"

"No formal approachs (for McEvoy)"

"Both expressed a desire to play at the club next year (Bruce & Delaney), we've started preliminary talks with those clubs"

"Couple of options, AFL listed players, that we've been exploring (in relation to midfielders)"

Talked up David Armitage at the end. Pushing up the price?

Sainter for life.
AP Erebus

Here are my quick notes as he was speaking:

Ameet Bains
---

Lot of noise about the club - need to separate fact from fiction

every primary list player contracted
trades need to be attractive to both club and player
speculation about NDS, Joey and lesser on Fisher
no formal discussion on any of the above players
NDS - was approached by North Melbourne & Essendon
not looking to move any of these players out of the club.
Know what they need to do regarding the list

Damien Barrett
-------
Apparently NDS has spoken to North leadership group (last week)

AB
--
If Dal was to ask to go, then St Kilda would assess all options, between trade vs free agency
Haven't asked AFL re. free agency compensation for NDS

Clause in NDS contract has been ratified by AFL
If NDS & club wanted to move away from contract (to free agency), then there is some steps that need to go through before that happens

No player has asked to leave the club ( in reference to the "saints being in disarray")
Has spoken to most of the players spoken about in the media about leading, none has expressed a strong desire to leave

In reference to Benny Mac, no formal approach from any club. Believes that other clubs are looking around for ruckmen in general (e.g. Bellchambers earlier in the year)

Re. players coming into the club
Bruce & Delaney both expressed desire to player for saints. Started preliminary discussions with their clubs, with formal discussions next week.
Some AFL listed midfielders we've been exploring, (and then intimated that pick 3 would also be used to bring in another mid)

it has been around this time that "Kosi" will headbutt a fence, rip a hamstring or belt someone.

Bains on Trade Radio - only interest in Dal Santo - no other players genuine enquiries.

Sounds like my twitter feed on Fisher offer by GWS was crap.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Zed wrote:

Kelly's blood lines are pretty good as well. Havent seen Aish at all but Kelly is to small for my liking. Very simliar to Joey which would be great in the long run but I reckon we need an inside outside player with some size.
They are a very similar size. I guess in Aish favour he has already played senior footy. I think he was the youngest player ever to debut for Norwood.
SANFL GF is on this weekend. A bit of an awkward one for us Saints. If he has a blinder he mightnt make it to pick 3 and if he has a shocker everyone will say hes no good.
Not sure what to hope for!

Kickit

joffaboy wrote:Bains on Trade Radio - only interest in Dal Santo - no other players genuine enquiries.

Sounds like my twitter feed on Fisher offer by GWS was crap.
Maybe Fisher doesn't want to go to GWS now that we've signed Holmes.
He wants to put his hat on backwards and hang out in da hood.

SaintSimmo

Mumford to GWS, confirmed done deal.

http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/news/2013-1 ... e-a-giants

Which would mean any chance of us trading McEvoy to GWS is gone.

Sainter for life.

SaintSimmo wrote:Mumford to GWS, confirmed done deal.

Good.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

yep gone
Hopefully the swans get a big fat ZILCH in return.

i reckon Berg could be the pick of this years draft

Good.
jb you dont want to trade anyone and u reckon all our players are guns.

1. How do you explain us finishing 3rd last?
2. How do u propose we improve? (besides getting a new messiah coach with a magic wand like alan 'who?' richardson)
3. How do you expect to manage 3 ruckmen of similar age - hickey macca stanley?

MC Gusto wrote:if you were fish you'd take that in a flash

If i was Fisher Id get out of Victoria and get my life in order. He should take it and we should let him go. He needs to look after himself.
Perhaps he feels his life is in order. He's living the dream, having fun with his mates. Doing pretty much what I was doing until my early 30s.

Richter wrote:
MC Gusto wrote:if you were fish you'd take that in a flash

If i was Fisher Id get out of Victoria and get my life in order. He should take it and we should let him go. He needs to look after himself.
Perhaps he feels his life is in order. He's living the dream, having fun with his mates. Doing pretty much what I was doing until my early 30s.

You played AFL footy? By the way i had plenty of fun with my mates and still do. Not sure i had an ice issue but I only drink beer. Ice in beer isnt great.

I thought fish liked cola not ice with his drinks?

They are a very similar size. I guess in Aish favour he has already played senior footy. I think he was the youngest player ever to debut for Norwood.
SANFL GF is on this weekend. A bit of an awkward one for us Saints. If he has a blinder he mightnt make it to pick 3 and if he has a shocker everyone will say hes no good.
Norwood is my Sanfl team. I will be at the game this weekend. I hope he has a blinder.

Cola cola cola.

Get rid of him.
Not going to be there for the next tilt and no massive loss.

Trade him

Zed wrote:
Norwood is my Sanfl team. I will be at the game this weekend. I hope he has a blinder.
Youngest kid to win a SANFL flag. He will be a gun.

We were probably saying Raph Clarke was a gun when he was a kid.. Just Sayin'.

noob wrote:We were probably saying Raph Clarke was a gun when he was a kid.. Just Sayin'.
nah it was all about that elusive third Clark Brother who was the best of the lot of them ... ;)

trav, are you hearing any rumours over in WA about Viv Mitchie coming to the Saints?

Old Mate wrote:trav, are you hearing any rumours over in WA about Viv Mitchie coming to the Saints?
nah nothing at all ... about saints targeting anyone everything is a bit quiet over here everything has been about the Dockers G/F loss and who will coach the eagles ... i did hear that Scott Burns if unsuccessful in the eagles job will be heading to the Dee's but that was nothing solid or from anyone i would put a lot of faith in ...

the only thing i have heard is about Garlett being in talks with a Victorian club and that could be anyone ...

How can a 'Rumour' be 'Official' ?

Megamaguire

Always admired Sam Fisher who saved our bacon on many occasions. At this point i'd like to see him do wee before he retires from playing. If SOS wants him up there i'd wish him the best and always have the door open for him down at Moorabbin. Hate to see our great players getting older.
With Buddy gone from GWS Chips is at the very least a very experienced mature player with grand finals experience and the track record that earned him an AA.
I could see SOS still wanting him on board. Even if he stays with us he could finish up here with a steady influence on the young up and comers.

GO SAINTS!

The boy can play and we can build a defence around him that will have respect.