Saints gaining RESPECT due to Bains and Pelchen

Maybe the tide is slowly turning.

Have a good feeling about our trading and the Draft.

I reckon we will cream it.

Bring it on!

Re: Saints gaining RESPECT due to Bains and Pelchen

Yep. These two know their stuff. The results they have produced in just two years is impressive and their strategies are progressive. I expect other clubs to copy them them.

Saintersss

How exactly?

They haven't proven anything.

Ask most neutrals and they say we've lost a fair few of our trades.

Just because we are active, doesn't mean it's a good thing.

I have more confidence in elsgaugh to use the picks wisely than Peake. He's done well so far but this year will be critical.

suss wrote:I have more confidence in elsgaugh to use the picks wisely than Peake. He's done well so far but this year will be critical.
The ONLY way he could do worse than Peake would be if he read MY name out for #3 on Draft Day. And NO, I'm NOT a Half Back Flanker !!

The jury is well and truly out. Time will tell whether the rebuild is successful.

suss wrote:I have more confidence in elsgaugh to use the picks wisely than Peake. He's done well so far but this year will be critical.
to be fair on Peake since we got Pelchen on board the amount spent on personel and resources in regards to drafting and trading has doubled so while it seems like Pelch and Co. are miles ahead they do have a bit more to work with ... with that said we are still light years away from the resorces some of our competitors like WCE & Freo have on hand ...

bozza1980

Saintersss wrote:How exactly?

They haven't proven anything.

Ask most neutrals and they say we've lost a fair few of our trades.

Just because we are active, doesn't mean it's a good thing.
What trades have we "lost" over the last two seasons?

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.
The Saintsational Man

.....people don't understand, back in '09 & '10 we only had a part timer in our recruiting department.

We now have 4 full timers I think?

I'm just going on memory of what Nettlefold said to a group of us a few months back.

What proof of results dowe have? To laud their performance?

Admittedly They changed strategy mid 2013?

How can either of the last couple of years be determined successful ATM? Too early to tell, just opinion....
Last year Saad and Milera were a master stroke.... This year they were both limited players at Sandy? Early to judge again!

Every neutral supporter believes Hawthorn were the beneficiaries, most of their supporters I spoke to recently had one word to say..... Thanks!

The amount of times I heard a student or mate say 'big boy' and what the hell is going on at Seaford has been a joke!

However
The aggressive strategy is probably needed... But it also needs to be smart...

We were aggressive in 2000... And hit and miss with 18 list changes in two years....

slider

BigMart wrote:What proof of results dowe have? To laud their performance?

Admittedly They changed strategy mid 2013?

How can either of the last couple of years be determined successful ATM? Too early to tell, just opinion....
Last year Saad and Milera were a master stroke.... This year they were both limited players at Sandy? Early to judge again!

Every neutral supporter believes Hawthorn were the beneficiaries, most of their supporters I spoke to recently had one word to say..... Thanks!

The amount of times I heard a student or mate say 'big boy' and what the hell is going on at Seaford has been a joke!

However
The aggressive strategy is probably needed... But it also needs to be smart...

We were aggressive in 2000... And hit and miss with 18 list changes in two years....
Yes Mr Negative go buy a ticket to the soccer, let the true saints supporter support their club.

You are living in the past your future is at the soccer.

Why, because I don't believe everything done recently is brilliant!

Going on the state of
Finances
Results
List make up

I wouldn't consider StK FC in great shape ATM

Would I be right or wrong for saying that?

slider

BigMart wrote:Why, because I don't believe everything done recently is brilliant!

Going on the state of
Finances
Results
List make up

http://youtu.be/UaY7TwMBHuc

lloyd21

Not if you listen to Tony Jones on channel 9 just bagged Stkilda again saying leaving Dal Santo in limbo had a week our minds up give me a break.

What about Shaw at the filth What about Polec. What about Yeo What about Longer What about Polkinghorn
What about Delaney What about Grant What about Chapman All these clubs have not done their deals.

Why not argue the question I posed?

Won't waste download on a redirect, just debate the topic?!

BigMart wrote:Why, because I don't believe everything done recently is brilliant!

Going on the state of
Finances
Results
List make up

The finances are s*** again , but that's no biggie. The results are what you would expect from playing kids all year. They will be crap again next year too. The list make up is very much headed in the right direction in my opinion. The plan that has been outlined is logical and numbers based and has delivered flags to two previous clubs where it has been instigated. We've been much worse off than this, and much better off than this, but the foundation that is currently being put in place is better than anything we put in place before - we have a focus on, and resources for, the development of young players. We have a set criteria and plan for the recruitment of players, we are trying to build a quality, balanced team, to a plan. We've previously relied on landing enough superstar players to have a shot at a flag. This is better.

Middo

BigMart wrote:Why not argue the question I posed?

Won't waste download on a redirect, just debate the topic?!
Never debate with a know it all , unless they think Ben Cousins was recruited by Dimma ... no creditability... :roll: :roll:

Jack Newnes happy to be a Saint !!!! PS and to hit a target !!!

BigMart wrote: Every neutral supporter believes Hawthorn were the beneficiaries, most of their supporters I spoke to recently had one word to say..... Thanks!

Of course that's what Hawk supporters say!

So, now we know your ideas are gleaned from schoolboys, obviously they have in depth knowledge of running a professional football club.

They have got some genuine fan and media engagement in a season with out much to cheer about. I remember when we got Kosi and Riewoldt there was a sense of hope moving forward- we were aggressively chasing players and recruiting for the future. There is that sense back now.

Mark Allen was even saying who aren't the Saints into and even suggesting we would be after someone like Sonny Bill Williams because we are everywhere this trade period.

I think we may have just slipped the gloves off and like freo we have become a f%$# you club. No one likes a soft c**k even if they are harmless.

I like our aggressive approach. We don't seem to be desperate while being forthright and honestly chasing our targets. We always seemed like the farmers idiot son taking the cowto market in past trades.

BigMart wrote: Every neutral supporter believes Hawthorn were the beneficiaries, most of their supporters I spoke to recently had one word to say..... Thanks!

Of course that's what Hawk supporters say!

So, now we know your ideas are gleaned from schoolboys, obviously they have in depth knowledge of running a professional football club.

My Hawks mate has always said Big mac was crap and is devastated at Savage and buddy going. The media is sayin Hawks fans are all cool but they aint. Savage is a fan favourite at the Hawks and I think you will find there is a bit of anxiety that they paid overs for a guy who can't ruck. A couple of Hawks supporters have gone on big footy and said they rate it a win win.

i think it is the perfect trade. They get something good we get something good. Savage is younger than Jack Stevens still and is already a high level player. Pick 18 could be anything.

Only way we will get respect is winning games.

Might have to lie little low again in 2014

BUT

In 2015 we will win enough games to shove it right up em!

Bulls**t

And pick 18 could be nothing.... Or Daniel Kerr?? Risky business.... Savage a know quantity, behind Hill, Bruest and Anderson?

Reality is... Believe it or not
Pick 9 + six year development is now pick 18?

Pick 24 for Pick 37

Pick 13 for pick 43

All the spin in the world doesn't change the fact we have traded down.... Either bad recruiting or bad trading or bad development... Which is it?

Pelchen & Watters at loggerheads? Yes or No?
If the recruiting guy is getting players that the coaches don't want, then they aint on the same page.
Hurts the dynamic IMHO.
BOING BOING

WellardSaint wrote:Pelchen & Watters at loggerheads? Yes or No?
If the recruiting guy is getting players that the coaches don't want, then they aint on the same page.
Hurts the dynamic IMHO.
BOING BOING
The Pelican is the master, thou coach shall follow.

Step 1. Get the type of players you need to execute the game plan.
Step 2.
Hang on. Pelchen trades players, but they won't fit Watters' game plan.
Step 2. Recruiters tell board to get another coach who is on the same page.
Step 3. Ring or email SEN with the news. Even better, tell a drunk former president to make a joke to a journo.
Step 4. Get around the current coach with support. Secretly interview other aspriring coaches.
Step 5. See if you can afford to pay out Cuddles' contract.